Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.248237
Mike Lupica delivers a New York Times bestselling middle grade series!

Ben McBain is every football team's dream player. He's a jack-of-all-trades guy that can handle almost any position. When the game is on the line, Ben's number is the one being called for the final play. But Ben wants to be the starting quarterback and the one thing standing in his way is the coach's son.

Shawn O'Brien looks the part. He has been groomed by his father, a former professional quarterback. But despite his size and arm strength, Shawn is struggling.

Ben is torn between being a good teammate and going after his own dream. As Ben finds out, Shawn isn't the easiest person to help. And when Ben gets an unexpected opportunity, the entire game will change for the both of them.

Best-selling author Mike Lupica kicks off a winning new series about sports and friendship that will captivate readers.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on May 8, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545381827
ISBN-13: 9780545381826
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • fro-lo
    fro-loTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 9:20 am55 stars
    lovely. awesome story
    • timtro
      timtroMonday, October 12, 2015 at 12:59 pm55 stars
      Do you know what it's like to be the skinniest kid on the football team with a big dream, that someone else is given without them even working for it, well Ben mcbain does, this book is all about bens story of him wanting with all his heart to Be the star quarter back for the Rockwell Rams. If you have a dream then this book is the book for you it has an inspiring story of a dream coming true.
      • bradyfan12
        bradyfan12Saturday, February 21, 2015 at 9:44 am
        This book is okay. The plot can be slow and it is not always exiting. But the actual football part is good. Read it if you like football but it is not a must.
        • eddie2001
          eddie2001Saturday, September 20, 2014 at 6:54 am55 stars
          This book was really good.People who like to read books from Mike Lupica are going to love this book.This book has suspense and action in it and that is what makes the book so good.In the book there are also some good parts and bad parts.Over all the book is definitely five stars.
          • mcalia
            mcaliaThursday, March 27, 2014 at 7:49 am55 stars
            Best book ever!
            • edwardbird
              edwardbirdFriday, October 11, 2013 at 6:03 pm
              I heard the book is really good and I can't wait to read it.I am looking forward to reading it.
              • edwardbird
                edwardbirdThursday, October 10, 2013 at 4:30 pm
                I am going to read the book soon and I am looking forward to it probably being good and exciting.I can't wait to read it.
                • jonezyboy
                  jonezyboyWednesday, April 3, 2013 at 6:45 am
                  This a great book must read it