Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.141090
Wanted: One amazing forever home for one amazing sixth grader.

"My name is Gaby, and I'm looking for a home where I can invite my best friend over and have a warm breakfast a couple of times a week. Having the newest cell phone or fancy clothes isn't important, but I'd like to have a cat that I can talk to when I'm home alone."

Gaby Ramirez Howard loves volunteering at the local animal shelter. She plays with the kittens, helps to obedience train the dogs, and writes adoption advertisements so that the strays who live there can find their forever homes: places where they'll be loved and cared for, no matter what.

Gaby has been feeling like a bit of a stray herself, lately. Her mother has recently been deported to Honduras and Gaby is stuck living with her inattentive dad. She's confident that her mom will come home soon so that they can adopt Gaby's favorite shelter cat together. When the cat's original owners turn up at the shelter, however, Gaby worries that her plans for the perfect family are about to fall apart.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on July 30, 2013 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545489458
ISBN-13: 9780545489454
43 Book Reviews
  • soccergirl23
    soccergirl23Monday, October 12, 2020 at 5:25 pm55 stars
    This is an sad but good story. Gaby Ramirez Howard and her school volunteer at an animal shelter and Gaby falls in love with a tabby cat named Feather. She can't afford Feather but wants to save her from a couple that dumped Feather but with her family issues and Feather you must read to find out if Gaby and Feather survive there ups and downs. I recommend to read.
    • bybimolypafady
      bybimolypafadyThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:40 am22 stars
      it is a good book and inspire kids to do more for there commutiy.
      • H.KTuesday, May 15, 2018 at 10:29 am
        I love this book and highly recommend it . In this book , there’s a poor cat loving girl,Gaby Howards who has amazing friends and also has a father that is very careless and has a mother that is in Honduras looking for money. She goes to an animal shelter on a field trip and falls in love with a cute and poor cat . They have a lot in common , more than they can think. She goes to write other animal shelter animals’ profiles and when she does, she realizes that she needs Feather, the cat she fell in love with. She steals the cat from the shelter and takes care of the cute cat. When her father walks in and ….. Read more of this inspiring and to find out
        • amelialover24
          amelialover24Monday, December 18, 2017 at 12:52 pm55 stars
          love this book it is so sad and amaizing
          • tiduxetedilasy
            tiduxetedilasyMonday, December 18, 2017 at 11:44 am44 stars
            Angela Cervantes did a wonderful job writing this book. I think she did best on the way it flowed together. Especially, when Gaby was surprised at the end, but I don't want to spoil anything by telling you too much. If you like these kinds of stories then you would like Gaby Lost and Found.
            • DevineThursday, January 19, 2017 at 6:45 am
              Gaby, Lost and Found is a really good book. It is about a girl named Gaby and her life has been messed up ever since her mom got deported to Honduras and at the end her life tuns out to be perfect. I would recommend this book because it is that good :)
              • rainbowzz
                rainbowzzSaturday, January 14, 2017 at 5:25 pm
                This is a very amazing book. I read this a lot a school and i love how gaby went through all this and believed in her mom and belived she was coming home. i have a interest for animals too. i hope people read this book and think about what happened in it
                • ajg16
                  ajg16Saturday, January 14, 2017 at 3:11 pm
                  Gaby is just like me we both volunteer at a local shelter! And love cats🐈🐈🐈
                  • clara allisonWednesday, December 7, 2016 at 8:03 am
                    i love this book when i stared to read this book i could not stop
                    • crystal123432
                      crystal123432Thursday, October 6, 2016 at 8:02 am55 stars
                      I really Like This Book It's A Good Book , It's a book were gaby make animals at the animal shelter posters because she loves animals , I like this book because I like animals too well I would'nt say like I would say I LOVE ANIMALS THERE SOOOOO CUTE