Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.033065
Fifth grader Tamaya Dhilwaddi and seventh grader Marshall Walsh have been walking to and from Woodbridge Academy together since elementary school. But their routine is disrupted when bully Chad Wilson challenges Marshall to a fight. To avoid the conflict, Marshall takes a shortcut home through the off-limits woods. Tamaya reluctantly follows. They soon get lost, and they find trouble. Bigger trouble than anyone could ever have imagined.
In the days and weeks that follow, the authorities and the government become involved, and what they uncover might affect the future of the world.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on August 4, 2015 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0385743785
ISBN-13: 9780385743785
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lotte_parker667
    lotte_parker667Friday, July 12, 2019 at 12:00 pm55 stars
    Oh. My. Goodness. This book was so cool! I had wanted to read it for a while now - but now that I read it I understood why people liked it so much. The back-and-forth chapters that went between the Congress hearings and what was actually happening were very secretive, but it all came together in the end. The ideas and thoughts mentioned in this book really made me think about what would happen if this was real, and the thoughts we must have and risks we must take to make out world a better place. I totally recommend this book. Have fun reading! ~Lotte Parker
    • lotte_parker667
      lotte_parker667Friday, July 12, 2019 at 8:05 am55 stars
      Oh. My. Goodness. This book was so cool! I had wanted to read it for a while now - but now that I read it I understood why people liked it so much. The back-and-forth chapters that went between the Congress hearings and what was actually happening were very secretive, but it all came together in the end. The ideas and thoughts mentioned in this book really made me think about what would happen if this was real, and the thoughts we must have and risks we must take to make out world a better place. I totally recommend this book. Have fun reading! ~Lotte Parker
      • figsarenice
        figsareniceThursday, October 4, 2018 at 8:17 pm44 starsFeatured
        In Fuzzy Mud, the fiction novel by Louis Sachar, A young girl named Tamaya discovers a strange mud in the woods. This mud leads to many unfortunate events in the town of health cliff. Which was eventually lead into quarantine. Tamaya is a fifth grader who always obeys the rules, This behavior is displayed many times in the book by Sachar. One example of this is when tamayas best friend hope says to a seventh grader “Don’t listen to her, Tamayas a real goody two-shoes.” Sachar 5. Tamaya walks home with marshall, a seventh grader. Marshall has been getting bullied by the new kid, Chad. Who claims to have been expelled from multiple schools. Chad challenges marshall to a fight, and the location is along the route marshall takes with tamaya to walk home. Marshall decides to take a short cut, which leads to the whole town being put in quarantine because of the fuzzy mud. I believe the theme of this book is that the author is trying to shed light upon the fact that so many things are polluting the earth to this day. An example of this is when somebody says to Dr Mark Humbard that the new way to power cars is “clean” and he responds with “Clean energy? Is that what they're calling it? There's nothing clean about it.” Sachar 9. Also the pollution of the earth is affecting us. One example from the book is how the fuzzy mud, that is made from The same new way to power cars, wreaks havoc among health cliff residents. I love this book and would definitely recommend it to other people, Particularly because i never wanted to put it down. It had suspense and horror filled moments, aha and surprising moments, it had everything. . The characters showed a lot of courage and strength. I would mostly recommend this book to people interested in science and/or suspenseful books.
        • emersonkeith
          emersonkeithWednesday, March 7, 2018 at 10:56 am55 stars
          scary and funny
          • llammazzzzzz
            llammazzzzzzWednesday, January 10, 2018 at 4:26 pm55 stars
            Im Only On Page 6 But i heard it was AWESOME So far the writing is great! I recommend This to Anyone who needs a new book!
            • Battler 365Monday, April 24, 2017 at 9:08 am
              I've read this book and it is really good
              • hamiltonlover56
                hamiltonlover56Sunday, April 23, 2017 at 10:49 am
                I really liked this book. It was an unusual story and plot, and it might be kind of scary for younger kids. it really makes you think about different views of the world, and keeps you in suspense. This book is really good, and it is a great read.
                • sarah89Thursday, April 13, 2017 at 12:07 pm
                  it was cool but not my type .
                  • mj234Thursday, April 13, 2017 at 12:06 pm
                    5 stars for me
                    • shaunrox3
                      shaunrox3Thursday, April 6, 2017 at 1:58 pm
                      I like this book and I know my mum and dad will want a copy of this.