Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.033065
Fifth grader Tamaya Dhilwaddi and seventh grader Marshall Walsh have been walking to and from Woodbridge Academy together since elementary school. But their routine is disrupted when bully Chad Wilson challenges Marshall to a fight. To avoid the conflict, Marshall takes a shortcut home through the off-limits woods. Tamaya reluctantly follows. They soon get lost, and they find trouble. Bigger trouble than anyone could ever have imagined.
In the days and weeks that follow, the authorities and the government become involved, and what they uncover might affect the future of the world.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on August 4, 2015 by Doubleday Canada
ISBN-10: 0385684592
ISBN-13: 9780385684590
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Lyla_HanniganThursday, October 15, 2020 at 5:46 am
    I love this book so much!
    • finnick_odair
      finnick_odairSaturday, October 3, 2020 at 12:20 pm55 stars
      This book is fantastic. The story, the characters, the twist, the turns, they are all amazing. I 100% recommend this to anyone who likes a mystery, sci-fi, thriller book.
      • johnthesquid818
        johnthesquid818Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:36 am55 stars
        This was a perfect mystery book. At the start, everything seems like just a mess of things happening, but then you start to connect the dots. I give this book a 5-star rating like what I did. The author of the book writes excellent books, and I recommend them to anybody in the age group.
        • janak1019
          janak1019Wednesday, June 3, 2020 at 8:43 am44 stars
          fuzzy mud, the main characters are Tamya a brave, nervous, kind, young girl who lives with her mom. in this book Tamya gets a rash, the rash is caused by this fuzzy mud and she also gives it to chad a bully by throwing the fuzzy mud at him. All off Heath Cliff gets it at the end the cure is from turtles since they are immune I give this 4/5 stars and I think this is a wonderful book I highly recommend it
          • sirireads
            sirireadsTuesday, May 26, 2020 at 1:07 pm44 stars
            This is a super good book. Not only is it entertaining, but it has a very good lesson about pollution and how we need to stop polluting this beautiful place we live in. All of the characters were well described and formed, and I loved them all. This is just what I would expect from the author of Holes!! I could not put it down and I recommend it to anyone who loves a good science fiction book.
            • Luella PantsMonday, May 11, 2020 at 2:22 pm
              It was awesome! I got it from the library and read it again and again and I had to, eventually buy it!
              • nnnSaturday, November 2, 2019 at 4:38 pm
                Best.Book.ever. So good #1
                • lotte_parker667
                  lotte_parker667Friday, July 12, 2019 at 12:00 pm55 stars
                  Oh. My. Goodness. This book was so cool! I had wanted to read it for a while now - but now that I read it I understood why people liked it so much. The back-and-forth chapters that went between the Congress hearings and what was actually happening were very secretive, but it all came together in the end. The ideas and thoughts mentioned in this book really made me think about what would happen if this was real, and the thoughts we must have and risks we must take to make out world a better place. I totally recommend this book. Have fun reading! ~Lotte Parker
                  • lotte_parker667
                    lotte_parker667Friday, July 12, 2019 at 8:05 am55 stars
                    Oh. My. Goodness. This book was so cool! I had wanted to read it for a while now - but now that I read it I understood why people liked it so much. The back-and-forth chapters that went between the Congress hearings and what was actually happening were very secretive, but it all came together in the end. The ideas and thoughts mentioned in this book really made me think about what would happen if this was real, and the thoughts we must have and risks we must take to make out world a better place. I totally recommend this book. Have fun reading! ~Lotte Parker
                    • figsarenice
                      figsareniceThursday, October 4, 2018 at 8:17 pm44 starsFeatured
                      In Fuzzy Mud, the fiction novel by Louis Sachar, A young girl named Tamaya discovers a strange mud in the woods. This mud leads to many unfortunate events in the town of health cliff. Which was eventually lead into quarantine. Tamaya is a fifth grader who always obeys the rules, This behavior is displayed many times in the book by Sachar. One example of this is when tamayas best friend hope says to a seventh grader “Don’t listen to her, Tamayas a real goody two-shoes.” Sachar 5. Tamaya walks home with marshall, a seventh grader. Marshall has been getting bullied by the new kid, Chad. Who claims to have been expelled from multiple schools. Chad challenges marshall to a fight, and the location is along the route marshall takes with tamaya to walk home. Marshall decides to take a short cut, which leads to the whole town being put in quarantine because of the fuzzy mud. I believe the theme of this book is that the author is trying to shed light upon the fact that so many things are polluting the earth to this day. An example of this is when somebody says to Dr Mark Humbard that the new way to power cars is “clean” and he responds with “Clean energy? Is that what they're calling it? There's nothing clean about it.” Sachar 9. Also the pollution of the earth is affecting us. One example from the book is how the fuzzy mud, that is made from The same new way to power cars, wreaks havoc among health cliff residents. I love this book and would definitely recommend it to other people, Particularly because i never wanted to put it down. It had suspense and horror filled moments, aha and surprising moments, it had everything. . The characters showed a lot of courage and strength. I would mostly recommend this book to people interested in science and/or suspenseful books.