Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 1 (Library Edition)

Book 1 of 23 in the Fullmetal Alchemist Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 9n/an/an/an/a
Alchemy: the mystical power to alter the natural world; something between magic, art and science. When two brothers, Edward and Alphonse Elric, dabbled in this power to grant their dearest wish, one of them lost an arm and a leg...and the other became nothing but a soul locked into a body of living steel. Now Edward is an agent of the government, a slave of the military-alchemical complex, using his unique powers to obey orders...even to kill. Except his powers aren't unique. The world has been ravaged by the abuse of alchemy. And in pursuit of the ultimate alchemical treasure, the Philosopher's Stone, their enemies are even more ruthless than they are...
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on January 22, 2008 by VIZ Media LLC
ISBN-10: 1421519771
ISBN-13: 9781421519777
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • edwardimnotshorWednesday, January 15, 2020 at 5:55 am
    the book was the best i also watch the show twice the only thing is that i feel sad for the brothers but in the end they acomplished some of there goals
    • envy
      envyWednesday, June 12, 2019 at 9:05 pm
      I love FMA!!❤! I watched the anime twice, both versions!! But I always go places with my family and I don't have time to watch it again, so for my birthday I'm going to get the manga series. I'll be able to read it anywhere I go!
      • akwardfox
        akwardfoxMonday, March 25, 2019 at 1:14 pm
        I love all anime and this looks GOOD!!! my favorites are Naruto, DBZ, and One Peice.
        • AnimeDude!Friday, February 5, 2016 at 10:15 am
          Best Anime, show and the book who wouldn't like it? If you don't WHATS WRONG WITH YOU!!!!!!!
          • aphphilippines
            aphphilippinesMonday, March 30, 2015 at 9:33 am
            I loove this book~! I've seen the anime 7 times!
            • animefan3
              animefan3Monday, March 30, 2015 at 9:05 am
              Omg that pretty cool I know it
              • plin
                plinMonday, March 30, 2015 at 7:41 am44 stars
                I like this book, because this is about these children finding the Philosopher Stone. Because there mom die when they are little, so they thought they can bring her back to life by using science, but one lost his whole body and one lost his arm and leg!
                • [ ]Saturday, November 8, 2014 at 7:35 pm
                  alchemy is when you compose, destroy, or recompose or recreate something (or someone)
                  • lillianna765
                    lillianna765Sunday, February 24, 2013 at 1:09 pm55 stars
                    I SO LOVE COMIC BOOKS! BUT I LOVE FULLMETAL ALCHEMIST EVEN BETTER, BECAUSE OF THE TOPIC!!! I don't get what alchemy is.