From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 5S4.730906
Having run away with her younger brother to live in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, twelve-year-old Claudia strives to keep things in order in their new home and to become a changed person and a heroine to herself.
Paperback
Published on June 4, 2015 by Pushkin Childrens Books
ISBN-10: 1782690719
ISBN-13: 9781782690719
29 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bsc
    bscWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 8:05 am55 stars
    This book was really good! Claudia decides to run away from home. She takes her younger brother with her and they plan to hide out in the Metropolitan Museum of New York. But when Claudia finds out a mystery, she has to figure it out. Happy reading!
    • applemango
      applemangoSunday, May 26, 2019 at 3:45 pm55 stars
      Claudia could have never just ran away from home, so instead she sets a goal that she isn't just going to run anywhere she is going to the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. She picks her brother Jamie to be her companion because not only is he good at thinking he has a lot of money. Claudia happens to find some tickets to the train with some holes left to be punched out. So, they set off their cases full of clothes. They sleep, after dark, in the Marie Antoinette bed. Then Claudia finds a mystery statue....which lead to the start of adventures and investigating on some things...
      • bluejemsTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 10:29 am
        I really liked this book. I read it in book club, in school. I recommend this book to whoever likes chapter books. This book is about a girl named Claudia, running away with her little brother, Jamie because of injustice in her family. Soon they bump into a mystery Claudia really wants to solve. As they look for answers they go through obstacles that might blow their cover in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, where they are staying away from home. Soon, they find themselves with a person who has the answers to their mystery.
        • ILoveToReadWednesday, March 6, 2019 at 8:38 am
          I really enjoyed this book, but the pictures were slightly creepy (I don't think they were meant to be) It might have just been a printing flaw.... eyp, I also think it is unique, and interesting and I would recommend it to actually pretty advanced readers. It is a little difficult to understand at first.... P.S. how do you do half a star? I would rate this 4 and 1/2.
          • ariettaki08
            ariettaki08Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 4:19 pm11 star
            I didn't like it because it was boring. Why would you want to be in a museum when you could be in places like the supermarket or any store. In fact, they could stay anywhere and everyday they could move to a different place. I wouldn't recommend anyone reading it!!
            • rosee590
              rosee590Wednesday, July 19, 2017 at 12:27 pm33 stars
              i read this book for an assignment in fourth grade. it was pretty good and i liked it but it isn't my type of typical book
              • JCWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 6:59 am
                This book keeps you thinking. I highly enjoyed this book and totally recommend it
                • eyp
                  eypTuesday, May 9, 2017 at 3:46 pm33 stars
                  It was a very interseting and unique story
                  • bluejems
                    bluejemsThursday, November 17, 2016 at 3:34 pm55 starsFeatured
                    I really liked this book. I read it in book club, in school. I recommend this book to whoever likes chapter books. This book is about a girl named Claudia, running away with her little brother, Jamie because of injustice in her family. Soon they bump into a mystery Claudia really wants to solve. As they look for answers they go through obstacles that might blow their cover in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, where they are staying away from home. Soon, they find themselves with a person who has the answers to their mystery.
                    • bluejems
                      bluejemsThursday, November 17, 2016 at 3:08 pm55 stars
                      I read this book in book club with my teacher and a few of my classmates. It was really interesting. It was about a girl named Claudia who wanted to run away because of injustice in her family. But she went with her little brother Jamie because he had a lot of money and he needed someone to accompany her. Soon they try to solve a mystery as they meet a new person who has the answers.