From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 5S4.730906
Having run away with her younger brother to live in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, twelve-year-old Claudia strives to keep things in order in their new home and to become a changed person and a heroine to herself.
Paperback, 176 pages
Published on September 25, 2007 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1416949755
ISBN-13: 9781416949756
31 Book Reviews
  • sirireads2
    sirireads2Friday, March 19, 2021 at 7:46 pm
    One of my favorites of all time, SO GOOD! I love Claudia and Jamies relationship! Such a sweet brother and sister❤️ -siriread2
    • mireeka
      mireekaThursday, March 11, 2021 at 9:28 am44 stars
      Claudia is tired of her brother being spoiled. The solution? Run away with him to a museum. But when they get there, they find a mystery. It has already been solved, but who can prove it? It might just be Claudia and her brother.
      • bsc
        bscSaturday, February 27, 2021 at 10:00 am55 starsFeatured
        In the book, one of our main characters: Claudia, decides to run away from home. She plans it perfectly: she’ll take her younger brother and they will hide in the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. Her brother has money, so he’ll buy the food and such. But when their disappearance makes the headlines and there’s a mystery involved, Claudia realises that maybe running away from home won’t fix everything. This book is full of adventure, excitement, and everything in between. Happy reading!
        • applemango
          applemangoSunday, May 26, 2019 at 3:45 pm55 stars
          Claudia could have never just ran away from home, so instead she sets a goal that she isn't just going to run anywhere she is going to the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. She picks her brother Jamie to be her companion because not only is he good at thinking he has a lot of money. Claudia happens to find some tickets to the train with some holes left to be punched out. So, they set off their cases full of clothes. They sleep, after dark, in the Marie Antoinette bed. Then Claudia finds a mystery statue....which lead to the start of adventures and investigating on some things...
          • bluejemsTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 10:29 am
            I really liked this book. I read it in book club, in school. I recommend this book to whoever likes chapter books. This book is about a girl named Claudia, running away with her little brother, Jamie because of injustice in her family. Soon they bump into a mystery Claudia really wants to solve. As they look for answers they go through obstacles that might blow their cover in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, where they are staying away from home. Soon, they find themselves with a person who has the answers to their mystery.
            • ILoveToReadWednesday, March 6, 2019 at 8:38 am
              I really enjoyed this book, but the pictures were slightly creepy (I don't think they were meant to be) It might have just been a printing flaw.... eyp, I also think it is unique, and interesting and I would recommend it to actually pretty advanced readers. It is a little difficult to understand at first.... P.S. how do you do half a star? I would rate this 4 and 1/2.
              • ariettaki08
                ariettaki08Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 4:19 pm11 star
                I didn't like it because it was boring. Why would you want to be in a museum when you could be in places like the supermarket or any store. In fact, they could stay anywhere and everyday they could move to a different place. I wouldn't recommend anyone reading it!!
                • rosee590
                  rosee590Wednesday, July 19, 2017 at 12:27 pm33 stars
                  i read this book for an assignment in fourth grade. it was pretty good and i liked it but it isn't my type of typical book
                  • JCWednesday, May 10, 2017 at 6:59 am
                    This book keeps you thinking. I highly enjoyed this book and totally recommend it
                    • eyp
                      eypTuesday, May 9, 2017 at 3:46 pm33 stars
                      It was a very interseting and unique story