Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10n/a6.061943

This rocket-paced follow-up to the Newbery Medal–winning novel Dead End in Norvelt opens deep in the shadow of the Cuban missile crisis. But instead of Russian warheads, other kinds of trouble are raining down on young Jack Gantos and his utopian town of Norvelt in western Pennsylvania. After an explosion, a new crime by an old murderer, and the sad passing of the town's founder, twelve-year-old Jack will soon find himself launched on a mission that takes him hundreds of miles away, escorting his slightly mental elderly mentor, Miss Volker, on her relentless pursuit of the oddest of outlaws. But as their trip turns south in more ways than one, it's increasingly clear that the farther from home they travel, the more off-the-wall Jack and Miss Volker's adventure becomes, in From Norvelt to Nowhere, a raucous road novel about roots and revenge, a last chance at love, and the power of a remarkable friendship.

A Publishers Weekly Best Children's Book of 2013

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 24, 2013 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374379947
ISBN-13: 9780374379940
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kenzieg
    kenziegMonday, November 10, 2014 at 2:11 pm44 stars
    It is very funny! Although it is not as great as DEAD END IN NORVELT, it is still pretty good. Make sure that if you read it, to tell other people.
    • brookeleary13
      brookeleary13Wednesday, June 4, 2014 at 9:58 am
      i liked this book alot.i reccomend this book to peoplr who like mysteries.
      • breezylezie123
        breezylezie123Wednesday, May 28, 2014 at 9:58 am55 stars
        I read the first book: Dead End in Norvelt and it was awesome.
        • daddysblue
          daddysblueWednesday, May 28, 2014 at 9:57 am
          I READ THE FIRST BOOK AND I LOVED IT.
          • otter
            otterMonday, November 4, 2013 at 5:56 pm
            I'm reading this right now. I read the first book o=for a book club and i liked it!
            • xxpish
              xxpishSunday, October 27, 2013 at 5:42 am
              I really want to read this! Jack Gantos is coming to my local bookstore. It looks like a really good book.
              • lbren585
                lbren585Monday, October 7, 2013 at 6:02 pm
                I have never read this book, but I have heard of Jack Gantos because he came to my local library and spoke. He seemed really cool so I thought I would give this a try.
                • otter
                  otterSunday, October 6, 2013 at 4:53 pm
                  I love this authors book dead end in noorvelt, and I can't wait to read this one. I'm going to try to find it at the library
                  • ian21tang
                    ian21tangThursday, October 3, 2013 at 10:48 pm
                    wow! sounds like a really cool book!!! love the author, wanna read it!!!
                    • trueblue2002
                      trueblue2002Thursday, October 3, 2013 at 6:49 pm
                      love this author