Nicholas Allen has plenty of ideas. Who can forget the time he turned his third-grade classroom into a tropical island, or the times he fooled his teacher by chirping like a blackbird? But now Nick's in fifth grade, and it looks like his days as a troublemaker are over. Everyone knows that Mrs. Granger, the language arts teacher, has X-ray vision, and nobody gets away with anything in her classroom. To make matters worse, she's also a fanatic about the dictionary, which is hopelessly boring to Nick. But when Nick learns an interesting tidbit about words and where they come from, it inspires his greatest plan yet: to invent a new word. From now on, a pen is no longer a pen -- it's a frindle. It doesn't take long for frindle to take root, and soon the excitement spreads well beyond his school and town. His parents and Mrs. Granger would like Nick to put an end to all this nonsense. But frindle doesn't belong to Nick anymore. All he can do now is sit back and watch what happens.
This quirky, imaginative tale about creative thought and the power of words will have readers inventing their own words. Brian Selznick's black-and-white illustrations enhance the humor in this unforgettable story.
Paperback, 128 pages
Published on October 7, 2002 by Simon & Schuster Children's
ISBN-10: 0689837038
ISBN-13: 9780689837036
130 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • borlandal
    borlandalMonday, February 12, 2018 at 4:54 pm55 stars
    What is a frindle? Read the book and find out.
    • demonheart
      demonheartSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 8:14 pm55 stars
      This can MAYBE help you understand language a BIT more. And It Can Sometimes Make You Want To Start Calling A Pen A Frindle. Just A Warning.😉
      • catslovewaffles
        catslovewafflesFriday, December 15, 2017 at 9:02 am11 star
        THIS book was so boring. He wants to name a pen a frindle. What the?
        • tori3ghoul
          tori3ghoulTuesday, November 28, 2017 at 6:01 pm44 stars
          I read this the summer before fifth grade. Nick Allen invents a new word: frindle; a replacement for 'pen'. The new word becomes popular throughout school and the nation. Nick even receives a trust fund for the word that he uses when he's all grown up. Such a great read!
          • lycerujove
            lycerujoveMonday, November 13, 2017 at 11:19 am
            This so far has been an amazing book every night my mom has to remind me to go to sleep I can not put this book down!
            • gamikigyny
              gamikigynyThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:19 am55 stars
              This kid makes a new word for pen which is very intresting
              • jhan
                jhanFriday, June 9, 2017 at 5:00 pm55 stars
                I loved it ! it's about a boy who make a new word and all of the world uses the word and there's nothing he can do about it.
                • odellbeck5
                  odellbeck5Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:36 am55 stars
                  Same!
                • CuteBunniesTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 9:08 am
                  I thought it was very clever and interesting of the boy to rename the pen "frindle." Also, the idea that the teacher does not want Nick to keep calling pens "frindles" cleverly adds to the suspense and conflict to the story. My favorite part was the end of the story. The moral of the story is that little things can become big things.
                  • memoiloveit
                    memoiloveitThursday, June 2, 2016 at 2:08 pm
                    this is a really good book and it reminds me of my school
                    • anwfan
                      anwfanTuesday, April 26, 2016 at 6:25 pm55 stars
                      This book is so cool! It's about a boy named Nick Allen who wanted people to use the word "frindle" instead of "pen".

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      internettroll

                      I agree that John green is amazi...
                      Paper Towns

                      internettroll

                      It is a quick and beautiful amaz...
                      The Fault in Our Stars

                      internettroll

                      I think you are incorrect it is ...
                      The Fault in Our Stars

                      internettroll

                      Hands down the best book I have ...
                      Miss Peregrines Home For Peculia...