Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6R5.416232
Nicholas Allen has plenty of ideas. Who can forget the time he turned his third-grade classroom into a tropical island, or the times he fooled his teacher by chirping like a blackbird? But now Nick's in fifth grade, and it looks like his days as a troublemaker are over. Everyone knows that Mrs. Granger, the language arts teacher, has X-ray vision, and nobody gets away with anything in her classroom. To make matters worse, she's also a fanatic about the dictionary, which is hopelessly boring to Nick. But when Nick learns an interesting tidbit about words and where they come from, it inspires his greatest plan yet: to invent a new word. From now on, a pen is no longer a pen -- it's a frindle. It doesn't take long for frindle to take root, and soon the excitement spreads well beyond his school and town. His parents and Mrs. Granger would like Nick to put an end to all this nonsense. But frindle doesn't belong to Nick anymore. All he can do now is sit back and watch what happens.
This quirky, imaginative tale about creative thought and the power of words will have readers inventing their own words. Brian Selznick's black-and-white illustrations enhance the humor in this unforgettable story.
Paperback, 128 pages
Published on October 7, 2002 by Simon & Schuster Children's
ISBN-10: 0689837038
ISBN-13: 9780689837036
131 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • pinsir4610
    pinsir4610Tuesday, April 17, 2018 at 4:53 pm44 stars
    I would rate this book three and a half because it is geat
    • borlandal
      borlandalMonday, February 12, 2018 at 4:54 pm55 stars
      What is a frindle? Read the book and find out.
      • demonheart
        demonheartSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 8:14 pm55 stars
        This can MAYBE help you understand language a BIT more. And It Can Sometimes Make You Want To Start Calling A Pen A Frindle. Just A Warning.😉
        • catslovewaffles
          catslovewafflesFriday, December 15, 2017 at 9:02 am11 star
          THIS book was so boring. He wants to name a pen a frindle. What the?
          • tori3ghoul
            tori3ghoulTuesday, November 28, 2017 at 6:01 pm44 stars
            I read this the summer before fifth grade. Nick Allen invents a new word: frindle; a replacement for 'pen'. The new word becomes popular throughout school and the nation. Nick even receives a trust fund for the word that he uses when he's all grown up. Such a great read!
            • lycerujove
              lycerujoveMonday, November 13, 2017 at 11:19 am
              This so far has been an amazing book every night my mom has to remind me to go to sleep I can not put this book down!
              • gamikigyny
                gamikigynyThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:19 am55 stars
                This kid makes a new word for pen which is very intresting
                • jhan
                  jhanFriday, June 9, 2017 at 5:00 pm55 stars
                  I loved it ! it's about a boy who make a new word and all of the world uses the word and there's nothing he can do about it.
                  • odellbeck5
                    odellbeck5Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:36 am55 stars
                    Same!
                  • CuteBunniesTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 9:08 am
                    I thought it was very clever and interesting of the boy to rename the pen "frindle." Also, the idea that the teacher does not want Nick to keep calling pens "frindles" cleverly adds to the suspense and conflict to the story. My favorite part was the end of the story. The moral of the story is that little things can become big things.
                    • memoiloveit
                      memoiloveitThursday, June 2, 2016 at 2:08 pm
                      this is a really good book and it reminds me of my school

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      ilovemyths wrote:

                      i love rick riordans percy jacks...
                      The Serpent's Shadow (Kane Chron...

                      savage_wonder

                      This book is AMAZING! I love the...
                      Savvy

                      savage_wonder

                      AWESOME! If there was a rating 1...
                      Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Lib...

                      savage_wonder

                      AWESOME! KInda like Percy Jackso...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...