Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6R5.416232
Nicholas Allen has plenty of ideas. Who can forget the time he turned his third-grade classroom into a tropical island, or the times he fooled his teacher by chirping like a blackbird? But now Nick's in fifth grade, and it looks like his days as a troublemaker are over. Everyone knows that Mrs. Granger, the language arts teacher, has X-ray vision, and nobody gets away with anything in her classroom. To make matters worse, she's also a fanatic about the dictionary, which is hopelessly boring to Nick. But when Nick learns an interesting tidbit about words and where they come from, it inspires his greatest plan yet: to invent a new word. From now on, a pen is no longer a pen -- it's a frindle. It doesn't take long for frindle to take root, and soon the excitement spreads well beyond his school and town. His parents and Mrs. Granger would like Nick to put an end to all this nonsense. But frindle doesn't belong to Nick anymore. All he can do now is sit back and watch what happens.
This quirky, imaginative tale about creative thought and the power of words will have readers inventing their own words. Brian Selznick's black-and-white illustrations enhance the humor in this unforgettable story.
Paperback, 128 pages
Published on October 7, 2002 by Simon & Schuster Children's
ISBN-10: 0689837038
ISBN-13: 9780689837036
133 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • gymzonia
    gymzoniaThursday, May 24, 2018 at 5:35 pm55 stars
    This book is totally awesome. I decided to read it because during this challenge at my school we were trying to read many books. There is sweet revenge in this. Get ready for the Awesome Book!!!!!
    • asiekmann
      asiekmannThursday, May 3, 2018 at 8:04 pm55 stars
      I liked this book a lot because I think it was funny but over all it had a good message. I liked the ending a lot and it almost made me want to cry because of how Nick and his teacher stayed in touch ten years after he was in her class. I also really enjoyed how his teacher Mrs. Granger secretly wanted him to win the war between the frindle.
      • pinsir4610
        pinsir4610Tuesday, April 17, 2018 at 4:53 pm44 stars
        I would rate this book three and a half because it is geat
        • borlandal
          borlandalMonday, February 12, 2018 at 4:54 pm55 stars
          What is a frindle? Read the book and find out.
          • demonheart
            demonheartSaturday, January 20, 2018 at 8:14 pm55 stars
            This can MAYBE help you understand language a BIT more. And It Can Sometimes Make You Want To Start Calling A Pen A Frindle. Just A Warning.😉
            • catslovewaffles
              catslovewafflesFriday, December 15, 2017 at 9:02 am11 star
              THIS book was so boring. He wants to name a pen a frindle. What the?
              • tori3ghoul
                tori3ghoulTuesday, November 28, 2017 at 6:01 pm44 stars
                I read this the summer before fifth grade. Nick Allen invents a new word: frindle; a replacement for 'pen'. The new word becomes popular throughout school and the nation. Nick even receives a trust fund for the word that he uses when he's all grown up. Such a great read!
                • lycerujove
                  lycerujoveMonday, November 13, 2017 at 11:19 am
                  This so far has been an amazing book every night my mom has to remind me to go to sleep I can not put this book down!
                  • gamikigyny
                    gamikigynyThursday, October 26, 2017 at 11:19 am55 stars
                    This kid makes a new word for pen which is very intresting
                    • jhan
                      jhanFriday, June 9, 2017 at 5:00 pm55 stars
                      I loved it ! it's about a boy who make a new word and all of the world uses the word and there's nothing he can do about it.
                      • odellbeck5
                        odellbeck5Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:36 am55 stars
                        Same!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Hermione_Weasly wrote:

                      I love the book so far! just sta...
                      Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...

                      Bailey wrote:

                      never read it
                      Red Pizzas for a Blue Count (Ger...

                      slytherinfan

                      I read this book a couple of yea...
                      Savvy

                      Our Apps and Plugins