Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 4M3.13318
More than anything in the world, Andrew wants freckles. His classmate Nicky has freckles -- they cover his face, his ears, and the whole back of his neck. (Once sitting behind him in class, Andrew counted eighty-six of them, and that was just a start!

One day after school, Andrew screws up enough courage to ask Nicky where he got his freckles. And, as luck would have it, who should overhear him but giggling, teasing Sharon (who makes frog faces at everybody!)

Sharon offers Andrew her secret freckle juice recipe -- for fifty cents.

That's a lot of money to Andrew -- five whole weeks allowance! He spends a sleepless night, torn between his desire for freckles and his reluctance to part with such a substantial sum of money. Finally, the freckles win, and Andrew decides to accept Sharon's offer.

After school, Andrew rushes home (with the recipe tucked into his shoe for safekeeping). He carefully begins to mix the strange combination of ingredients -- and immediately runs into some unforeseen problems.

How Andrew finally manages to achieve a temporary set of freckles -- and then isn't sure he really wants them -- makes a warm and hilarious story.
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published on October 1, 1984 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0027116905
ISBN-13: 9780027116908
58 Book Reviews
  • bsc
    bscFriday, June 11, 2021 at 6:12 am44 stars
    All Andrew wants are some freckles. His friend, Nicky has them. Lots of them! Andrew counts them every class. So in hope of getting freckles, Andrew asks Nicky how he got all of them. An overhearing classmate gives Andrew her recipe to get lots of freckles: freckle juice!
    • brightredcherry
      brightredcherryThursday, June 10, 2021 at 8:28 am44 stars
      I read this book in first grade and it was so Cute! I loved the Characters imaginations!!
      • prdr
        prdrMonday, June 22, 2020 at 1:33 pm55 stars
        My teacher read this to me in first grade and I loved it.
        • mateoWednesday, October 30, 2019 at 7:03 am
          it was not that bad
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 4:54 pm55 stars
            Andrew doesn't have any freckles at all but a boy in his class named Nicky does all over him.Andrew instantly wants freckles he thinks it u say freckles all over his neck and face his mom will never think he is dirty.so meany Sharon gives Andrew a freckle juice recipe with disgusting stuff in it and the recipe says to drink really fast .when he drinks it he gets really sick and the next day he draws freckles on with a purple marker and the teacher gives Andrew a freckle for taking freckles off .I think this is a really good book I recommend this book to 8 and 10 year olds or maybe younger it's kinda short.I rate it 5/5 stars just because it's a an old book that I've loved for a while .😁 😁 Pizzagirl7 😁 😁
            • andrewSunday, May 19, 2019 at 11:48 pm
              i liked this book do you now that question Why did Andrew put the recipe into his shoe?
              • Soph7LuckyTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 11:33 am
                I like this book and I read this in my book club.
                • sophiazhang123
                  sophiazhang123Sunday, October 23, 2016 at 4:01 pm44 stars
                  I loved this book. When I was in 2nd grade, we used to read this for our book club.
                  • ri-fi
                    ri-fiWednesday, February 17, 2016 at 10:29 am44 stars
                    Freckle juice is about a boy whose name is Andrew and he wants freckles Sharon new how to get freckles and there was a secret recipe it was called freckle juice Andrew wanted freckles so he trusted Sharon. Sharon said to him it would cost 50 cents . Andrew gave Sharon the 50 cents and Sharon told him the recipe. it was with crazy stuff, and he had to drink it if he wanted freckles. I loved when Andrew drank the freckle juice because my friend and I had a gross drink.
                    • thebest
                      thebestThursday, June 25, 2015 at 1:20 pm22 stars
                      My mom and dad chose the book for me.I liked it.