Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 4M3.13318
More than anything in the world, Andrew wants freckles. His classmate Nicky has freckles -- they cover his face, his ears, and the whole back of his neck. (Once sitting behind him in class, Andrew counted eighty-six of them, and that was just a start!

One day after school, Andrew screws up enough courage to ask Nicky where he got his freckles. And, as luck would have it, who should overhear him but giggling, teasing Sharon (who makes frog faces at everybody!)

Sharon offers Andrew her secret freckle juice recipe -- for fifty cents.

That's a lot of money to Andrew -- five whole weeks allowance! He spends a sleepless night, torn between his desire for freckles and his reluctance to part with such a substantial sum of money. Finally, the freckles win, and Andrew decides to accept Sharon's offer.

After school, Andrew rushes home (with the recipe tucked into his shoe for safekeeping). He carefully begins to mix the strange combination of ingredients -- and immediately runs into some unforeseen problems.

How Andrew finally manages to achieve a temporary set of freckles -- and then isn't sure he really wants them -- makes a warm and hilarious story.
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published on October 1, 1984 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0027116905
ISBN-13: 9780027116908
53 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • andrewSunday, May 19, 2019 at 11:48 pm
    i liked this book do you now that question Why did Andrew put the recipe into his shoe?
    • Soph7LuckyTuesday, December 18, 2018 at 11:33 am
      I like this book and I read this in my book club.
      • sophiazhang123
        sophiazhang123Sunday, October 23, 2016 at 4:01 pm44 stars
        I loved this book. When I was in 2nd grade, we used to read this for our book club.
        • ri-fi
          ri-fiWednesday, February 17, 2016 at 10:29 am44 stars
          Freckle juice is about a boy whose name is Andrew and he wants freckles Sharon new how to get freckles and there was a secret recipe it was called freckle juice Andrew wanted freckles so he trusted Sharon. Sharon said to him it would cost 50 cents . Andrew gave Sharon the 50 cents and Sharon told him the recipe. it was with crazy stuff, and he had to drink it if he wanted freckles. I loved when Andrew drank the freckle juice because my friend and I had a gross drink.
          • thebest
            thebestThursday, June 25, 2015 at 1:20 pm22 stars
            My mom and dad chose the book for me.I liked it.
            • alliya
              alliyaSunday, May 25, 2014 at 5:55 am55 starsFeatured
              Andrew wants freckles. Nikki has more than 83! Sharon knows how to make freckles.She gives him a recepie . They are:onions,grape juice,peppers and some more stuff.He drank it.Nothing happend .It just gave him a tummy ache.Next day he went school he had a marker and made freckles. he got to school and his teacher told him:You look better without freckles. Maybe you should take them of with this freckle remover.Can I said Nikki.You look wonderful with them.Andrew should not put them on because someday he might get sick like that.
              • emoo601
                emoo601Saturday, May 17, 2014 at 4:02 pm
                Freckles. That's what school-age Andrew wants. His classmate Nicky has freckles, so why shouldn't he? In attempt to get freckles, he bumps into Sharon, who, apparently, has a solution. Should he take the offer?He does. But after Sharon's so-called recipe backfires, Andrew won't dare go back to school without freckles. Unless... Find out in this hilarious, but warm, all-time winning Judy Blume book! I loved this book! It was great, and inspired me to read more Judy Blume books!
                • miaw20
                  miaw20Tuesday, March 25, 2014 at 7:57 am55 stars
                  I love this book so much my teacher read it to us. My fav. charter is Sharon she is so funny when she gave Andrew the freckle juice. And he put the recipe and when he drinks it down so fast his face turned green! Can you believe that and when his mom came in and she said... to find out the rest read this book. P.S. Mrs Kelly gave him something when you read this book tell mr and it will be funny and awesome.
                  • ikyra_marie
                    ikyra_marieSaturday, March 8, 2014 at 1:13 pm
                    funny!I love judy blume's books
                    • sneeches
                      sneechesThursday, January 30, 2014 at 5:22 am55 stars
                      It. Was. HILARIOUS!!!