Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.859727

Complete your Divergent library with Four!

Fans of the Divergent trilogy by #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth will be thrilled by Four: A Divergent Collection, a companion volume that includes four pre-Divergent stories plus three additional scenes from Divergent, all told from Tobias's point of view. This collection also makes a great pick for fans of the blockbuster movies who want to delve deeper into the character played by Theo James.

Readers first encountered Tobias as "Four" in Divergent. His voice is an integral part of Allegiant. Readers will find more of this charismatic character's backstory told from his own perspective in Four: A Divergent Collection. When read together, these long narrative pieces illuminate the defining moments in Tobias's life. The first three pieces in this volume—"The Transfer," "The Initiate," and "The Son"—follow Tobias's transfer from Abnegation to Dauntless, his Dauntless initiation, and the first clues that a foul plan is brewing in the leadership of two factions. The fourth story, "The Traitor," runs parallel with the events of Divergent, giving readers a glimpse into the decisions of loyalty—and love—that Tobias makes in the weeks after he meets Tris Prior.

Also includes three additional scenes from Divergent, told from Tobias's point of view!

Discover Veronica Roth’s new novel, Carve the Mark.

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on January 19, 2016 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062421360
ISBN-13: 9780062421364
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ajg15
    ajg15Saturday, November 17, 2018 at 7:18 pm33 stars
    Going to be completely honest here. I wasn't going to read this book after I read allegient. I know that is silly but apparently emotionally attached to tris and I was really rooting for her and Tobias (four). Anyways back to this book lol. This book is in between the time frame of 16 y/o Tobias leaving the abnegation faction to the dauntless faction. In those two years before tris comes to dauntless Four goes through alot of ups & downs from making friends & enemies to getting out of his abnegation mind and becoming a full fledged fighting dauntless (but still is kind) I'm glad I read this book because it was interesting to see things from fours side of things like meeting tris (honestly so sweet) and his view points in the different factions, being a divergent, and other things. thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews (sorry for rambling)
    • septembergirl
      septembergirlSunday, July 22, 2018 at 12:26 pm55 stars
      These books are amazing. I loved them so much I finished them in like a week. The movies are awful tho.
      • victory
        victoryTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 6:03 pm55 stars
        this book gives us the whole thing in tobias or four's perspective and that really makes it cool
        • boonie
          boonieMonday, November 28, 2016 at 1:30 pm55 stars
          I saw the first movie and I fell in love with it on the spot. I knew that books were better than movies or at least in my opinion so I looked for it in my local library at school. I loved it more so after I finished it in three days I read the next book and Allegiant and Four. I would recommend these(if you have not already read them) especially if you love romance, action, drama, and a good laugh.
          • YamiTuesday, October 18, 2016 at 9:53 am
            Hey this is not for 8 and higher im in 6th grade and I read the whole sires and this is the best book ever in the whole world
            • YamiTuesday, October 18, 2016 at 9:50 am
              i love this book
              • dingwko
                dingwkoSunday, July 17, 2016 at 4:57 pm55 stars
                This book was good. I read it straight through for about 3 hours and then I started just kind of skipping around. I just couldn't stop.
                • beanblob
                  beanblobMonday, May 30, 2016 at 9:48 am55 stars
                  This is one of my FAVORITE series ever!!!!!!!!!!! If you get the special edition, you can take a test to see what faction you are in. I'm in DAUNTLESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is the BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The fact that i have not read FOUR yet, IS KILLING ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • wow257
                    wow257Thursday, April 14, 2016 at 4:58 am55 stars
                    All the books in this series keep you hooked until the very end. I've read all of them, and each one is better than the previous one!
                    • christine325
                      christine325Friday, January 8, 2016 at 4:03 pm
                      read all of them

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      booklover2017

                      OMG this sounds gooood
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      Why is that? It's fun to read ab...
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      I'm going into 7th grade, middle...
                      How I Survived Middle School #1:...

                      booklover2017

                      Sounds pretty good Pleeeaaase f...
                      Magisterium: The Golden Tower (T...

                      Our Apps and Plugins