Four: A Divergent Collection (Divergent Series Story)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.859727

Complete your Divergent library with Four!

Fans of the Divergent trilogy by #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth will be thrilled by Four: A Divergent Collection, a companion volume that includes four pre-Divergent stories plus three additional scenes from Divergent, all told from Tobias's point of view. This collection also makes a great pick for fans of the blockbuster movies who want to delve deeper into the character played by Theo James.

Readers first encountered Tobias as "Four" in Divergent. His voice is an integral part of Allegiant. Readers will find more of this charismatic character's backstory told from his own perspective in Four: A Divergent Collection. When read together, these long narrative pieces illuminate the defining moments in Tobias's life. The first three pieces in this volume—"The Transfer," "The Initiate," and "The Son"—follow Tobias's transfer from Abnegation to Dauntless, his Dauntless initiation, and the first clues that a foul plan is brewing in the leadership of two factions. The fourth story, "The Traitor," runs parallel with the events of Divergent, giving readers a glimpse into the decisions of loyalty—and love—that Tobias makes in the weeks after he meets Tris Prior.

Also includes three additional scenes from Divergent, told from Tobias's point of view!

Discover Veronica Roth’s new novel, Carve the Mark.

Hardcover
Published on July 8, 2014 by HarperCollins Children's Books
ISBN-10: 0007560699
ISBN-13: 9780007560691
52 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kkgautamm
    kkgautammMonday, July 20, 2020 at 5:15 pm44 stars
    this is perfect for fans of the divergent series!! i was absolutely in love with four, so i really enjoyed finding more about him and what he went through.
    • girlpower4ever
      girlpower4everMonday, July 6, 2020 at 2:14 pm55 stars
      Tobias Eaton, nicknamed Four for the amount of fears he has, is notorious for the burdened life he's lived. Abusive father, traitor mother, ruthless peers, and spiraling internal conflicts about humility and ability. This conglomeration of four short stories tells the life of Four before he meets Tris, including his violent childhood and struggle as a Dauntless initiate. Simply, heartwrenchingly beautiful.
      • sylvie55555
        sylvie55555Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 8:16 am55 stars
        I love this book! This is a great book for both people that are divergent fans and even for people who have never read divergent. If you have always been curious about Four (Tobias) this book gives a lot for information about him and his background! Happy Reading! I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars!!1
        • invincikitty
          invincikittySaturday, December 7, 2019 at 1:54 pm55 stars
          I decided to read this book because I didn't have my mind made up, so you can say that I accidentally stumbled upon this book. I just loved this book because I am a great reader and I thought that this is a very good book. I enjoyed it very much. I hope you enjoy it the same.
          • sylvie55555
            sylvie55555Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 2:31 pm55 stars
            Four is an important character in divergent, but you still don't know so much about him. This book is really helpful and you learn a lot about Four/ Tobias. This book has several short stories, as well as Four's perspective for a few scenes in Divergent.
            • ajg16
              ajg16Saturday, November 17, 2018 at 7:18 pm33 stars
              Going to be completely honest here. I wasn't going to read this book after I read allegient. I know that is silly but apparently emotionally attached to tris and I was really rooting for her and Tobias (four). Anyways back to this book lol. This book is in between the time frame of 16 y/o Tobias leaving the abnegation faction to the dauntless faction. In those two years before tris comes to dauntless Four goes through alot of ups & downs from making friends & enemies to getting out of his abnegation mind and becoming a full fledged fighting dauntless (but still is kind) I'm glad I read this book because it was interesting to see things from fours side of things like meeting tris (honestly so sweet) and his view points in the different factions, being a divergent, and other things. thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews (sorry for rambling)
              • septembergirl
                septembergirlSunday, July 22, 2018 at 12:26 pm55 stars
                These books are amazing. I loved them so much I finished them in like a week. The movies are awful tho.
                • victory
                  victoryTuesday, January 16, 2018 at 6:03 pm55 stars
                  this book gives us the whole thing in tobias or four's perspective and that really makes it cool
                  • boonie
                    boonieMonday, November 28, 2016 at 1:30 pm55 stars
                    I saw the first movie and I fell in love with it on the spot. I knew that books were better than movies or at least in my opinion so I looked for it in my local library at school. I loved it more so after I finished it in three days I read the next book and Allegiant and Four. I would recommend these(if you have not already read them) especially if you love romance, action, drama, and a good laugh.
                    • YamiTuesday, October 18, 2016 at 9:53 am
                      Hey this is not for 8 and higher im in 6th grade and I read the whole sires and this is the best book ever in the whole world