Found (The Missing, Book 1) (The Missing, 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the The Missing Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X5.059017

Thirteen-year-old Jonah has always known that he was adopted, and he's never thought it was any big deal. Then he and a new friend, Chip, who's also adoped, begin receiving mysterious letters. The first one says, "You are one of the missing." The second one says, "Beware! They're coming back to get you." Jonah, Chip, and Jonah's sister, Katherine, are plunged into a mystery that involves the FBI, a vast smuggling operation, an airplane that appeared out of nowhere -- and people who seem to appear and disappear at will. The kids discover they are caught in a battle between two opposing forces that want very different things for Jonah and Chip's lives. Do Jonah and Chip have any choice in the matter? And what should they choose when both alternatives are horrifying? With Found, Margaret Peterson Haddix begins a new series that promises to be every bit as suspenseful as her Shadow Children series -- which has sold more than 4 and 1/2 million copies -- and proves her, once again, to be a master of the page-turner.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on April 21, 2009 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 141695421X
ISBN-13: 9781416954217
65 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookfan2008
    bookfan2008Monday, June 15, 2020 at 7:36 am
    I really want to read this! I read what it is about and it looks SO intresting!
    • glowinq_stxrs
      glowinq_stxrsSaturday, April 11, 2020 at 7:21 am55 stars
      I rate this book 5 stars because this book shows lots of adventures and I wonder what it’s like being adopted because I sometimes used to imagine being adopted.
      • calebodhooray
        calebodhoorayThursday, March 12, 2020 at 3:37 pm44 stars
        This book is about 13 year old Jonah who is adopted and he wants to find out who he really is. He goes to the FBI but they aren't much help. He goes to a High School that is hosting a meeting for adopted kid's questions. He then realizes it's a trap and all the adopted kids with him are from different points in time. I give thi book a 4 star rating because it is actioned-packed at most part but it still has it's boring parts. I made a text-to-self connection because I used to wonder if I was adopted.
        • ilovecookie111Thursday, March 21, 2019 at 8:42 am
          If you like cliff hangers then this book is for you.I'm in fifth grade and i don't get time to read at all but when i do i read this i'll have my eyes glued to the book.I even take outside to recess.So if you like cliff hangers,i recommend this book
          • prestonr2008
            prestonr2008Thursday, March 21, 2019 at 8:38 am
            I recommend reading this book if you like cliff hangers.I'm a fifth grader and i never get time to read a book.But when i do,i read for a hour of so at home and at school.I even bring the book to recess!So if you have time,i recommend to pick up this book
            • cookie1001
              cookie1001Friday, February 1, 2019 at 8:11 am55 stars
              It is full of supense and action it can make you sit on the edge of your chair liteary so if you like science fiction this is the book for you !!!!
              • jadeisamaze4712
                jadeisamaze4712Wednesday, May 2, 2018 at 10:16 am55 stars
                Cool book
                • theindiancritic
                  theindiancriticSaturday, January 13, 2018 at 1:52 pm55 starsFeatured
                  When I first read the book, I was like "Wow. This is pretty cool. I think I'll like the next couple of books!" And so I continued the series, up until the 8th book. That's when I realized this book's greatness is not truly "Found" (pun intended) until you read the whole series. That is when it all comes together. Sometimes this book takes itself a little too seriously, and sometimes the information revealed is a little overwhelming. You may feel like the book is a little incomplete at the end, but that changes if you read the whole series. 5/5. This book is definitely worth your time.
                  • meadowlark12
                    meadowlark12Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 12:54 pm55 stars
                    Jonah, a regular 7th grade adopted city boy, is in for a whirl. He and his friend, Chip, start getting strange messages. They puzzle over them, also noticing mysterious happenings around their school. Not to long after, Jonah, Chip, and his sister Katherine, are plunged into a horrifying adventure, with rumors that Chip and Jonah are not "from this time." What does that even mean? Find out in this thrilling adventure.
                    • ponujojeta
                      ponujojetaTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:06 am
                      This book is amazing especially the part were Jonah finds a secret about himself. Jonah is also an adopted child.