Found (The Missing, Book 1) (The Missing, 1)

Book 1 of 8 in the The Missing Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X5.059017

Thirteen-year-old Jonah has always known that he was adopted, and he's never thought it was any big deal. Then he and a new friend, Chip, who's also adoped, begin receiving mysterious letters. The first one says, "You are one of the missing." The second one says, "Beware! They're coming back to get you." Jonah, Chip, and Jonah's sister, Katherine, are plunged into a mystery that involves the FBI, a vast smuggling operation, an airplane that appeared out of nowhere -- and people who seem to appear and disappear at will. The kids discover they are caught in a battle between two opposing forces that want very different things for Jonah and Chip's lives. Do Jonah and Chip have any choice in the matter? And what should they choose when both alternatives are horrifying? With Found, Margaret Peterson Haddix begins a new series that promises to be every bit as suspenseful as her Shadow Children series -- which has sold more than 4 and 1/2 million copies -- and proves her, once again, to be a master of the page-turner.

Paperback, 336 pages
Published on April 21, 2009 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 141695421X
ISBN-13: 9781416954217
55 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • bob the builderThursday, March 23, 2017 at 11:41 am
    awesome
    • Aaron BurrThursday, March 2, 2017 at 6:30 am
      Amazing book!
      • $$$$$$$Tuesday, February 28, 2017 at 8:24 am
        this is amazing book
        • MyaThursday, February 23, 2017 at 6:39 am
          The book found is a really good book. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure. The author of the book had lots of cliff hangers. I never wanted to stop reading this book it was so good. It had lots of details. Plus the author made you read to about page 300 to find out what happen. I would read this book ever day if I had to. This book is a 5 star book for sure. I am so glad that I got this book for my guide reading book. I can't wait to read the reat of the series.
          • peaches11234Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 6:09 am
            I love this book! I would read it in a day if I had time!
            • bluejems
              bluejemsThursday, January 12, 2017 at 3:19 pm55 stars
              I read this book and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure and suspense. Margret Peterson Haddix really put adventure, time travel, and suspense. She really put some thought into to this one.
              • bluejems
                bluejemsThursday, January 12, 2017 at 3:19 pm55 stars
                Her books really make you think and want to read more :o
                • bluejems
                  bluejemsThursday, January 12, 2017 at 3:18 pm55 stars
                  This book is great! :)
                  • bluejems
                    bluejemsWednesday, November 2, 2016 at 5:01 pm55 stars
                    These books are really exciting and fun to read. I only read a few books in the series but even by that I still think it's really good.
                    • jacpay
                      jacpayThursday, October 20, 2016 at 8:23 am
                      Stolen: To take without permission or right, especially secretly or by force. written by Margaret peterson haddix,in the missing book one found, A thirteen year-old boy named Jonah had always known that he was adopted and had never thought much about it until he started getting strange letters sent to his house that said “you are one of the missing”. He was one of the 36 baby's that was on a plane 13 year ago. When Jonah's friend Chip who was getting the same letters he learns that he is also adopted Jonah, Chip and Jonah's sister, Katherine come to realize that Jonah and Chip are important missing children from history who were transported to the 21st century by baby smuggling time travelers whose names are Gary and Hodge. They travel around his town and to a secret cave. Join them on an adventure of a lifetime to find out when and where they came from. This a good mystery book for anyone who likes suspense.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      kenmen
                      kenmen wrote:

                      I thought this book was amazing!...
                      Smile

                      inh8
                      inh8 wrote:

                      Best. Series. Ever.
                      The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Bo...

                      inh8
                      inh8 wrote:

                      Ouch! hillarious!!!! great, in ...
                      Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)