Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.157412

Ty Lewis can't believe it when Coach V recruits him for the football team. This is Ty's big chance to prove how fast he is on the field, get a fresh start in a new school, and be like his older brother, Thane "Tiger" Lewis, who's about to graduate from college—and is being courted by the NFL.

But Ty's guardian, Uncle Gus, won't let him play. Uncle Gus needs Ty to scrub floors and toilets for his cleaning business while he cooks up gambling schemes with the local mob boss, a man called "Lucy."

When Lucy hears just how famous Ty's older brother is, he becomes suddenly friendly. Are the questions Lucy is asking Ty really about fantasy football . . . or is the Mafia using Ty to get valuable insider info from his superstar brother? Desperately worried, Ty must come up with a plan to save Thane's football career—and, ultimately, his life.

Author of the New York Times bestselling Football Genius, former NFL player Tim Green will have you on the edge of your seat rooting for Ty—and enjoying an up-close look at what it's like to be inside the NFL.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on April 22, 2008 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0061122742
ISBN-13: 9780061122743
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • haker666Friday, May 17, 2019 at 6:46 am
    love it
    • destroyerwolf34
      destroyerwolf34Wednesday, February 21, 2018 at 12:40 pm
      tis is great
      • destroyerwolf34
        destroyerwolf34Wednesday, February 21, 2018 at 12:40 pm
        its good.
        • thecat112
          thecat112Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:59 am55 stars
          This book’s name is football hero. The author, Tim Green’s eight years as a star NFL linebacker gives an insider’s edge to all of his sports thrillers. The main characters are Ty lewis, his Uncle Gus,his cousin Charlotte, and Thane Lewis Ty’s older brother. The genre is realistic fiction, because it could happen in real life. The setting is in a town. This book is about a normal boy named Ty, he has a chance to prove his speed to coach V. Instead he is stuck cleaning for his uncle Gus and his boss, Lucy. When everything turns around when his older brother, Thane or as people call him Tiger Lewis gets drafted for the Jets. My favorite part of the book was when MacDougal starts standing up because he thinks he's getting drafted but then tiger gets drafted!!! It's so funny! I recommend this book to anyone who likes sports,(football) you will love this book. Boy or girl this book can make you feel like one of the characters or like you are in the book!
          • swagFCTuesday, September 29, 2015 at 12:21 pm
            Its a great book I read it
            • football4
              football4Wednesday, June 24, 2015 at 10:54 am
              I thought this book was a little crazy because uncle drank and drove and that he didn't get caught by the police. I like this book because I am a football and I am a New York Jets fan. I want to know what year it was in the book because maybe Tiger is teammates with "Broadway" Joe Namath. Overall I thought it was a really good book.
              • brendan Monday, May 11, 2015 at 8:19 am
                I loved how it ended and was always rooting for Ty.
                • m1kimbar
                  m1kimbarFriday, December 7, 2012 at 7:32 am33 starsFeatured
                  I decided to read this book because it looked like an interesting book, of course after I read the back. The book is about this young boy name Ty, who gets into some "business" with gambling. Ty is telling his uncle's gambling boss, Lucy, about the injuries on the Jets. Every Friday Ty goes with his older brother Thane "Tiger" Lewis, to dinner. He asks about the injuries for his "Fantasy Football Team", but its really for Lucy. Football Hero is an awesome book, so you might want to read it to find out the ending, which I didn't say.