Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W6.0100234

The second book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

New York Times Bestselling Series

“Terrifically entertaining. Fans of the first book will be delighted with this sequel to Septimus’s story.” —VOYA (starred review)

“Readers will find themselves quickly immersed in this imaginative world, moving from one well-crafted adventure to another at a suspenseful pace.” —School Library Journal

It's been a year since Septimus Heap discovered his real family and true calling to be a wizard. As Apprentice to ExtraOrdinary Wizard Marcia Overstrand, he is learning the fine arts of Conjurations, Charms, and other Magyk, while Jenna is adapting to life as the Princess and enjoying the freedom of the Castle.

But there is something sinister at work. Marcia is constantly trailed by a menacing Darke Shadow, and Septimus's brother Simon seems bent on a revenge no one understands. Why is the Darke Magyk still lingering?

Bringing fantasy to new heights, Angie Sage continues the journey of Septimus Heap with her trademark humor and all of the clever details readers have come to love.

Hardcover, 544 pages
Published on March 14, 2006 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0060577347
ISBN-13: 9780060577346
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • silica6
    silica6Friday, December 8, 2017 at 4:25 pm55 stars
    okie doki. i love love love the book so far and i'm only on the third chapter. i haven't read hte first 'cause it's not availible at my local library but i'm sure i can buy it or read it online somewhere!!!!! black is such a happy color!!!
    • brockmoney
      brockmoneyThursday, October 22, 2015 at 8:35 am44 stars
      i liked it
      • baileli
        baileliMonday, January 26, 2015 at 6:43 am55 stars
        I want to read this book.
        • luvlekittykat
          luvlekittykatSaturday, January 24, 2015 at 11:13 am55 stars
          its awesome and you should read the book, just make sure you read the first one before hand (Magyk By:Angie Sage) and yes i meant to spell magyk that way!
          • mamajunebug
            mamajunebugSunday, August 3, 2014 at 3:21 pm
            This is truly one of the best series that i have ever read. This says alot because I have read too many books to count and this series amazed me beyond compare.
            • books247
              books247Monday, October 21, 2013 at 7:35 pm55 stars
              This book was amazing. I read it quite a long time ago so I don't exactly remember the story but I do know it was really good and every body should read it.
              • zebralove
                zebraloveFriday, October 11, 2013 at 2:29 pm55 stars
                readers of this review, please consider this book. It made a terrifying, happy, hilarious, and just amazingly awesome sequel to Magyk!!!!!!!! Thank you Angie Sage.
                • headream100
                  headream100Saturday, September 28, 2013 at 5:17 am55 stars
                  Magikal and darke, this book really pulls readers into the book itself! Actually, if Septimus was real, I might have had a small crush on him. Well, just kidding! :) I prefer Spit Fyre better.
                  • mamajunebug
                    mamajunebugSunday, August 3, 2014 at 3:22 pm
                    LOL i totally kinda have a fictional crush on Sep. :)
                  • kittylovesmilk
                    kittylovesmilkMonday, January 21, 2013 at 1:13 pm55 stars
                    Very well written and a beautiful story . Awesome!!! A must read!!!
                    • lillybearboo
                      lillybearbooMonday, April 2, 2012 at 7:58 pm55 stars
                      I haven't gotten far into it but I am loving it. People who haven't read it, Read the first book magic, spelled Magyk. Ok? Al right. Follow me!