Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W5.059559
Take a romp in the swamp with this New York Times bestselling mystery adventure set in the Florida Keys from Newbery Honoree Carl Hiaasen!

Noah's dad is sure that the owner of the Coral Queen casino boat is flushing raw sewage into the harbor—which has made taking a dip at the local beach like swimming in a toilet. He can't prove it though, and so he decides that sinking the boat will make an effective statement. Right. The boat is pumped out and back in business within days and Noah's dad is in the local lock-up.

Now Noah is determined to succeed where his dad failed. He will prove that the Coral Queen is dumping illegally . . . somehow.


“The writing is pitch perfect.” —The New York Times

“A royal flush.” —Chicago Sun-Times

“Classic Hiaasen—laugh-out-loud satire in a Florida setting.” —Life
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on May 11, 2010 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0375861254
ISBN-13: 9780375861253
53 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • BumperTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 3:26 pm
    This book is amazing! It is definitely amazing for 4th 5th and 6th graders!!
    • buxibebidijoli
      buxibebidijoliFriday, December 1, 2017 at 2:01 pmFeatured
      The lesson to be learned is to except an offer that helps you and to offer help to someone who needs it. For example, in the book Flush the dad wouldn't except the help given from his son. By doing this the dad is still in prison. Someone can relate to this and not except food,water, and clothing when they need it. So except help when you need it and don't be selfish and refuse the offer if you're not okay where you are or how you feel. Additionally, if someone needs help from someone, help them and don't ignore it. For instance, if an old granny is slowly strolling across a street and a car was getting closer, and closer and someone doesn't help this old this can cause an urgent disaster. Finally, a lesson that should be learned is to offer help and except it or, disasters can struck someone's life. I'd rate this book an "8 out of 10". I would recommend this book because not many things happen at the beginning of the story . Then so many miraculous things happen. For example, the characters dad went to jail. Then he comes back a month later when he was supposed to be in jail for a couple of years. The family is now back together as a normal family. On the other hand so many things go wrong. Flush is full of excitement and sorrow. By the way and unanswered question I would ask the author is, "Did Dusty Muleman ever go to jail for dumping in the lake?"
      • zipyjetuhi
        zipyjetuhiFriday, November 17, 2017 at 7:56 am
        i like this book because its funny and my favorite part is when the dad sinks Dusty Muleman's boat because he was dumping out the toilet waste from the boat.
        • JeffFriday, September 29, 2017 at 3:47 pm
          I would suggest reading this book as long as you r 6 and older
          • JeffFriday, September 29, 2017 at 3:43 pm
            This book was the best book i ever read
            • narwhalnoodler
              narwhalnoodlerSunday, September 3, 2017 at 10:18 am55 stars
              This is a thrilling adventure of the Underwood Family on the Atlantic ocean. The Coral Queen casino boat has been illegally dumping their stinky gross sewage into the lively ocean . Noah Underwood's dad is now in the big house. The fate of the dying ocean is up to Noah and his sister Abbey to flush out the illegal truth.
              • narwhalnoodler
                narwhalnoodlerSaturday, September 2, 2017 at 7:07 pm55 stars
                This book looked interesting when i read the back so I read it and it was AMAZING!!!!! It is amazing how much damage dumping sewage into the ocean does to animals and humans.
                • jeremyMonday, December 14, 2015 at 6:53 pm
                  i really liked when they said swimming in a beach or a toalite i liked it alot
                  • bchelenp
                    bchelenpSunday, November 8, 2015 at 2:33 pm44 stars
                    I loved Hoot and when I saw this book it was even better. Carl has such a way of writing that just brings you into the story. I have been hocked and will probably read the rest of his books.
                    • ijzhang
                      ijzhangMonday, July 13, 2015 at 2:00 pm55 stars
                      Flush is an awesome book! It’s about this kid named Noah who is on a mission to prove that a sneaky owner of a gambling casino boat is dumping his sewage tank right into the ocean. It’s full of adventure and excitement, and I really like it. If you’ve read any of the other books in the series and liked it, then you’ll like Flush.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Hermione_Weasly wrote:

                      I love the book so far! just sta...
                      Harry Potter And The Goblet Of F...

                      Bailey wrote:

                      never read it
                      Red Pizzas for a Blue Count (Ger...

                      slytherinfan

                      I read this book a couple of yea...
                      Savvy

                      Our Apps and Plugins