Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W5.059559
Take a romp in the swamp with this New York Times bestselling mystery adventure set in the Florida Keys from Newbery Honoree Carl Hiaasen!

Noah's dad is sure that the owner of the Coral Queen casino boat is flushing raw sewage into the harbor—which has made taking a dip at the local beach like swimming in a toilet. He can't prove it though, and so he decides that sinking the boat will make an effective statement. Right. The boat is pumped out and back in business within days and Noah's dad is in the local lock-up.

Now Noah is determined to succeed where his dad failed. He will prove that the Coral Queen is dumping illegally . . . somehow.


“The writing is pitch perfect.” —The New York Times

“A royal flush.” —Chicago Sun-Times

“Classic Hiaasen—laugh-out-loud satire in a Florida setting.” —Life
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on September 13, 2005 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375821821
ISBN-13: 9780375821820
58 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • shayshaygirl25
    shayshaygirl25Friday, March 20, 2020 at 4:47 am55 stars
    I am reading this book right now and it is AMAZING! It is all about a boy and his sister and their dad gets thrown in jail for sinking a ship called the coral queen that had been illegilly dumping sewage into the ocean. then it is all a blur as the wittness may be murdered and the only person they have to rely on is his mysterious girlfriend, shelly and when the sister, Abby, sneaks out of there house at midnight to prove that there is something sketchy going on at the coral queen, and the parents flip and the dad winds up back in jail! all the animals could get sick from the sewage if Abby and Noah cant help. will they prove there dads case, or will it all flush!
    • bipurapu-156571243158
      bipurapu-156571243158Thursday, March 5, 2020 at 7:41 am55 stars
      this book was hilarious and entertaining. I think that you should make a sequel to the book
      • dgra8155
        dgra8155Wednesday, May 8, 2019 at 6:23 am55 stars
        I love the book and can't what to read others from Carl Hiaasen
        • quakcai
          quakcaiFriday, February 8, 2019 at 2:58 pm44 stars
          I live in Florida, so basically every kid knows about these books. They all have this one word sound, but don't be fooled if you like continuity, you're not in luck. These books have different identities united under one title, Florida. In school we had to choose a book to research and stuff. I previously read Chomp in gifted the previous year, so I was like, "Ok, why not?" And that was a very good decision. It stars Noah and the family and this mysterious boat called the Corral Queen that was totally illegal. They have to bring people along the way, somehow defy the house arrest his father is in, and save the day. The Corral Queen is supposedly dumping sewage into the sea. I read little books, and when I do, oh boy. This is supposed to tell themes about courage, standing for whats right, and sticking together. Noah and the gang always thinks that what the Corral Queen is wrong, and they know that. Despite their mishaps, the possible murders, blood on jeeps, operation Royal Flush, they do this for the good of Florida and it's coast. The gang sticks together and never gives up. Though, there is one problem. After the Royal Flush, the ending seems a bit stretched out. The thing that happened, happened. I found myself ending the book on a, "Wow that ending felt stretched out." feeling. Just my thoughts on the book.
          • dreamy17
            dreamy17Sunday, September 30, 2018 at 10:19 am44 stars
            I have read Hoot and Chomp and they were both amazing, so I figured that this one would also be very interesting! It has been good so far, and I will keep you updated.
            • BumperTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 3:26 pm
              This book is amazing! It is definitely amazing for 4th 5th and 6th graders!!
              • buxibebidijoli
                buxibebidijoliFriday, December 1, 2017 at 2:01 pmFeatured
                The lesson to be learned is to except an offer that helps you and to offer help to someone who needs it. For example, in the book Flush the dad wouldn't except the help given from his son. By doing this the dad is still in prison. Someone can relate to this and not except food,water, and clothing when they need it. So except help when you need it and don't be selfish and refuse the offer if you're not okay where you are or how you feel. Additionally, if someone needs help from someone, help them and don't ignore it. For instance, if an old granny is slowly strolling across a street and a car was getting closer, and closer and someone doesn't help this old this can cause an urgent disaster. Finally, a lesson that should be learned is to offer help and except it or, disasters can struck someone's life. I'd rate this book an "8 out of 10". I would recommend this book because not many things happen at the beginning of the story . Then so many miraculous things happen. For example, the characters dad went to jail. Then he comes back a month later when he was supposed to be in jail for a couple of years. The family is now back together as a normal family. On the other hand so many things go wrong. Flush is full of excitement and sorrow. By the way and unanswered question I would ask the author is, "Did Dusty Muleman ever go to jail for dumping in the lake?"
                • zipyjetuhi
                  zipyjetuhiFriday, November 17, 2017 at 7:56 am
                  i like this book because its funny and my favorite part is when the dad sinks Dusty Muleman's boat because he was dumping out the toilet waste from the boat.
                  • JeffFriday, September 29, 2017 at 3:47 pm
                    I would suggest reading this book as long as you r 6 and older
                    • JeffFriday, September 29, 2017 at 3:43 pm
                      This book was the best book i ever read