Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.846318

Would you send a villain to do a hero's job?

Flunked is an exciting new twisted fairy tale from the award-winning author of the Secrets of My Hollywood Life series. "Charming fairy-tale fun." -Sarah Mlynowski, author of the New York Times bestselling Whatever After series.

Gilly wouldn't call herself wicked, exactly...but when you have five little brothers and sisters and live in a run-down boot, you have to get creative to make ends meet. Gilly's a pretty good thief (if she does say so herself).

Until she gets caught.

Gilly's sentenced to three months at Fairy Tale Reform School where all of the teachers are former (super-scary) villains like the Big Bad Wolf, the Evil Queen, and Cinderella's Wicked Stepmother. Harsh. But when she meets fellow students Jax and Kayla, she learns there's more to this school than its heroic mission. There's a battle brewing and Gilly has to wonder: can a villain really change?

"Fairy Tale Reform School is spellbinding and wickedly clever. Gilly is smart, spunky, and a hilarious narrator, and I cannot wait to read about her next adventure!" -Leslie Margolis, author of the Annabelle Unleashed novels and the Maggie Brooklyn mysteries

"Fairy Tale Reform School is a fresh and funny take on the enchanted world. (And who hasn't always wanted to know what happened to Cinderella's stepmother?)" -Julia DeVillers, author of the Trading Faces identical twin series and Emma Emmets, Playground Matchmaker

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on March 3, 2015 by Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
ISBN-10: 149260156X
ISBN-13: 9781492601562
36 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • KaylaniThursday, July 18, 2019 at 11:27 am
    i love the book its amazing and its amazing fairy tale book!!
    • lunalovegood8
      lunalovegood8Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:20 pm55 stars
      This was an amazing book, because of the story and plot. The characters Gilly and Jax were funny, and cool. I also like the idea of the school, and how famous fairytale villains are the professors of the school.
      • AbigailSunday, May 26, 2019 at 2:39 pm
        I love it i read it to my class they love it
        • lunalovegood8
          lunalovegood8Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 10:46 am55 stars
          This was a really fun, and good book. I enjoyed reading it, because there were many fairytale characters that made it into the story, which was exciting. I also liked the characters Gilly and Jax, because they were fun, and good friends.
          • starsky89
            starsky89Sunday, November 18, 2018 at 12:51 pm44 stars
            This is an awesome book! If your into fantasy and fairy tale world things like me then you should definitely read it! It really captures you into the story plot and has lots of exciting new turns! It won't keep you waiting!!
            • Awsonegirl12334Sunday, June 10, 2018 at 11:05 pm
              I love this book! I cant wait to read the 4th book switched
              • callie_b
                callie_bFriday, March 3, 2017 at 2:09 pm44 stars
                I enjoyed this book and I can't wait to read the next one! Some parts are slower, but I liked how it was a fairy tale world with all the stories incorporated with each other! If you like fairy tales, then read this book!
                • annabethluna
                  annabethlunaTuesday, February 14, 2017 at 4:45 pm
                  This book is very interesting. It is about a girl that goes to a villain school because she steals. She learns to become good and ends up saving the school
                  • king_joker
                    king_jokerWednesday, November 9, 2016 at 11:55 am
                    its okay
                    • happypug12
                      happypug12Wednesday, November 2, 2016 at 1:49 pm22 stars
                      "Flunked" disappointingly flunked at creating an interesting story. Flunked had a ton of potential to become a really magical story that could have been heart-tugging while also could have had room for witty dialogue. I was really excited to read this but it definitely didn't live up to my expectations. The description had me hyped for nothing. First, The storyline was flat and bland, and it seemed as if the author had a blurry idea of what they wanted their story to be but didn't spend much time organizing their thoughts. The plot was weak and predictable with no exciting twists. Next, I found it lacking a lot of chemistry between characters, and Flunked could really have used a lot more interaction and quip. I got the vibe that the author had read The School For Good And Evil and made a poor copy of it while trying to put a modern twist on it. Lastly, I couldn't connect with Gilly as a character. There just is nothing about her that makes her stand out as an individual; she's just a thief. Hopefully the next book will be more original.