Flowers for Algernon

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 7 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z5.8n/a
Oscar-winning film Charly starring Cliff Robertson and Claire Bloom-a mentally challenged man receives an operation that turns him into a genius...and introduces him to heartache.
Paperback, 324 pages
Published on May 1, 2005 by Mariner Books
ISBN-10: 0156030306
ISBN-13: 9780156030304
9 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • allylovescoco
    allylovescocoMonday, March 20, 2017 at 2:24 pm55 stars
    I read this book for school and I absolutely loved it!
    • lydiar
      lydiarThursday, March 23, 2017 at 12:26 pm
      i never read this book and idk how to read it on here so do u know
    • ananya59
      ananya59Saturday, March 18, 2017 at 9:55 pm
      Impressed about book.
      • turtlenicole
        turtlenicoleSaturday, March 18, 2017 at 2:11 pm55 starsFeatured
        Flowers for Algernon features mentally impaired Charlie Gordon who is to keep a progress report journal so that neurosurgeons Dr. Nemur and Dr. Strauss could keep track of his intelligence growth. Charlie was born with an under-average IQ of 68 and had a weak creative intelligence. However, he was always motivated to be smart because he feels he will be just like everyone else if he keeps trying. The doctors soon gave him an operation that was to triple his IQ to 204 (which would be above genius). He soon became friends with a white mouse named Algernon who also went through the same operation as Charlie to become smart. Both Charlie and Algernon completed mazes every day to test their intelligence. Charlie was originally made fun of at work for being "mentally retarded" but he was soon fired because he became a genius within a week. Everyone thought he was strange and he became more lonely. Algernon sadly reached the side effects of the operation and lost its life. Charlie was soon losing his intelligence rapidly and his ability to read and write fluently. When Algernon died, Charlie put flowers on its grave for the loss of his best friend. Charlie decided to start a new life in New York where no one would know he was a genius once. Honestly, this book was very touching and portrayed that it is not a person's fault they are not perceived to be smart. We also learn that an IQ cannot measure the full capability of a person's mind.
        • serenite
          sereniteMonday, September 19, 2016 at 7:38 pm55 stars
          read the book and I loved it
          • megank
            megankSunday, November 15, 2015 at 5:46 am55 stars
            This book, Flowers for Algernon, is one of the deepest and most creative book I've ever read during 2015. In this story, the man character Charlie starts of to be a retarded person who works at his uncle's bakery. From the time he started to go to school, he was bullied and teased by everyone, even his own mother and sister. One day, a group of scientists and doctors offered to do a surgery on him where he would become a genius. Although this surgery is doned only for the second time, with the first being done on a mouse named Algernon, Charlie accepts. His life makes a 360 degree change and he starts to have different relationships with people and the world. My favorite character is Alice Kinnian, she is the teacher and love interest of Charlie. I really like her because she is a really cheerful and optimistic person and is always trying to help people. Even though Charlie came a long way, she always tried to help him and stood by his side. I would totally recommend this book to everyone because it is unique and unlike any book you've read before, trust me!
            • lizard4
              lizard4Thursday, June 25, 2015 at 6:25 pm44 stars
              This book is really detailed and descriptive. The book is about a man named Charlie. He has a hard time just making friends and fitting in with the world. Charlie has a rare mental disability.One day Charlie is presented the opportunity to go into a life changing society to help him gain intelligence and make new friends. A mouse named Algernon helps Charlie gain intelligence. Charlie dose start to gain intelligence but the he loses his memory again. This book is really sad. My mom read it when she was my age and she said it made her really sad. Even though this book is sad I still like it a lot. I gave this book 4 stars because it was pretty good. 2 thumbs up!
              • thumsup
                thumsupMonday, June 22, 2015 at 12:27 pm44 starsFeatured
                Flowers for Algernon is one of those books that stands the test of time. Even though it was published in 1966, many of the concepts found within the story still apply today, and it really makes you think about how progressive the book is. The story centers around a retarded man named Charlie Gordon. Living in a world where retardation is often looked down upon, Charlie struggles to make friends and fit in with the rest of society, until one day, when he is presented with the opportunity to undergo a life changing operation to gain intelligence. Flowers for Algernon contains many themes based on psychology, ethics, religion, and identity, which are all woven into an intriguing and memorable story. If anyone chooses to read this book, I suggest picking up the uncensored version. Although it has mature themes, I feel like this book should be read to the fullest in order to not miss out on anything. Have a good day.
                • ikyra_marie
                  ikyra_marieSunday, March 16, 2014 at 12:33 pm
                  I read most of this book.It was sort of hard to understand for me, but it sends a really good message to readers.Charlie has a mental disability.There is an operation to make him smarter.He then goes for it and has done.He meets this mouse named Algernon and they use it to experiment with Charlie to see if he has improved.He does.But sadly, by the end of the story though he has mental deterioration again and starts not being smart again.It really hurts him,and it's really sad.It's sort of for older readers (Grades 7-12).It's because it's a difficult story to understand and it's really long.But overall it's a good, well written book for when you are older.

                  Recent Kids Book Reviews

                  orchid17
                  orchid17 wrote:

                  I love this book it's like a cro...
                  Dork Diaries 8: Tales from a Not...

                  callie_is_cool

                  Omg for real?!? So excited! #CAN...
                  Land of Stories Book 6 (The Land...

                  callie_is_cool

                  Haha! Really?
                  Pax