Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 1 - 5U4.3n/a
Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal

Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel by master storyteller Kate DiCamillo.


It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry — and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart. From #1 New York Times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo comes a laugh-out-loud story filled with eccentric, endearing characters and featuring an exciting new format — a novel interspersed with comic-style graphic sequences and full-page illustrations, all rendered in black-and-white by up-and-coming artist K. G. Campbell.

Paperback, 231 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763687642
ISBN-13: 9780763687649
87 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprSunday, July 28, 2019 at 4:10 pm33 stars
    So I first read this in 4th grade but I never finished it. 1 year later, I have finished it. In 4th grade. I thought that the book was weird. Maybe because I'm too normal XD Anyways...I have a new perspective of the book: Flora is not mature enough. I would not recommend this because I think this is the worst book that Kate DiCamillo has ever wrote. I am disappointed in her. This book would be suitable for ages 7+ and maybe I didn't like this because I wasn't a cynic.
    • THE GUY Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:11 am
      These characters have been through a lot. I mean getting your back getting ran over by a truck is pretty painful but still have being apologetic and much much more but the thing is that there just covering up their pain and doubts and this is a real life phenomenon I've even been through it but even though It's sad it makes it have a little more depth and more relatable.
      • wolfdog
        wolfdogThursday, February 21, 2019 at 7:57 am55 starsFeatured
        For starters, it is the best superhero story around, with it's shiny Newbery Medal it's hard to miss! The superhero in this story turns out to be a squirrel- but not just a squirrel! Ulysses discovers his powers from a vacuum cleaner accident, giving him abilities like super strength, flight, and intelligence! Flora takes in poor Ulysses and the two form a close-knit bond! Flora wonders how Ulysses will use his powers for good, and how they will both 'save the world!' But Flora's mother is acting suspicious, and when Ulysses goes missing Flora must team up with her friend and the neighbor to find him and they set off on a wild adventure! What happened to Ulysses? What does it mean to be a superhero? And, What will happen next as you turn every page? Read Flora and Ulysses to find out!
        • ravenclaw35
          ravenclaw35Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 12:46 pm44 stars
          This is a novel that will honestly make you say "Holy Bagumba!" Flora is a young girl who is described as a natural born cynic. And Ulysses is a super squirrel who is shocking swept up by an unruly vacuum and can type poetry. As the half bald squirrel is still trying to find his powers, he eats...a LOT! Flora is positive Ulysses can be just as great as Incandesto, hero comic book ideal. She pushes Ulysses to become the best super squirrel he can be. Then Ulysses is kiddnapped by Flora's mother and sent to be kill with a shovel while laying still in a skratchy sack. Ulysses then attacks Flora's mother and literally flies to Flora. Meanwhile, Flora and her friends rush off with her mother's beloved lamp and search madly for Ulysses. They are once again united and Ulysses' final poem warms the hearts of the characters and the reader.
          • chlooe
            chlooeWednesday, January 23, 2019 at 3:34 pm55 starsFeatured
            I just finished this outstanding novel yesterday, and I really loved it! I would recommend this book to others on DOGO, including people from the internet. I would recommend this book to others because this book has it's potential, that's why this novel earned it's medal. Another reason why I would recommend this book to others is because the moral of this novel is that you should always follow your heart, superhero or not, Incandesto or not, everyone can accomplish their own dreams. This novel is heartwarming and I hope that you can understand my words, and understand the moral too! Enjoy the book, and please enjoy your reading!
            • miniongirlFriday, December 28, 2018 at 6:27 pm
              i read this book and i liked it. it made me love squirrels even more than i already did
              • piggie101
                piggie101Friday, November 2, 2018 at 6:40 am33 stars
                The beginning is pretty slow but exciting.Have not read the middle or end but you should still read it even if you don't like a superhero that is a squirrel it really only takes a weekend if your a fast but good reader. 3 Stars
                • auntieb
                  auntiebSunday, August 26, 2018 at 1:59 pm55 stars
                  Flora and Ulysses I first picked this book up just because I absolutely love Kate Dicamillo's writing! This book has a lot of humor and I absolutely love it!!
                  • eaglegamer
                    eaglegamerFriday, June 1, 2018 at 2:17 pm55 stars
                    i like this book
                    • SGPChauFriday, June 1, 2018 at 12:45 pm
                      great