Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal

Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel by master storyteller Kate DiCamillo.


It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry — and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart. From #1 New York Times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo comes a laugh-out-loud story filled with eccentric, endearing characters and featuring an exciting new format — a novel interspersed with comic-style graphic sequences and full-page illustrations, all rendered in black-and-white by up-and-coming artist K. G. Campbell.

Paperback, 231 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763687642
ISBN-13: 9780763687649
72 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • annabel
    annabelMonday, October 16, 2017 at 5:09 pm55 stars
    I had a study project at school and me and my best friend read it. I love flying squirrels!!!!!
    • iluvhorses2
      iluvhorses2Monday, October 16, 2017 at 11:49 am55 starsFeatured
      I read this book for school, because I needed to read some Newberry Medal Winners. That was one of the best assignments I've ever had and I'm here to tell you why. Sometimes you just wish you could read a comic book while you're reading a normal book, and when you switch you want a normal book. This book solves the problem. It's both. And then, there are also the lovable characters. There's Mrs. Tickham, Flora's neighbor, who gets a vacuum for her birthday and- well, that's another story. And there's Flora's mom, the author who writes romance novels. There's Flora's dad, a very safe driver that lives in fear of a landlord's cat. There's William Spiver, Mrs. Tickham's great-nephew, who randomly shoots out weird quotes. There's my favorite character, Ulysses, who (Things are about to get weird) gets run over by a vacuum cleaner and turns into a superhero (A flying, typing superhero to be specific) There's Flora, the Incandesto-obsessed cynic (Don't ask me what that means) who saves the life of Ulysses after he gets run over by the vaccuum cleaner. If you read this book you'll understand why it's a Newberry Medal Winner.
      • dictionary
        dictionarySunday, February 26, 2017 at 6:26 am55 stars
        I love it so much :D
        • e06
          e06Friday, February 24, 2017 at 6:27 pm
          AMAZING!!!!!!!!!Perfect for cynics and superheroes. its an awesome book,its so entertaining that sometimes i can't put it down! If you are someone who loves comic books and people are telling you to start reading what they call " true literature" then this is perfect for you. Even though I don't read comic books I always look for a funny book with some pictures and I have not found one until I have read this book. It is a have-to-read book.
          • AwejorWednesday, January 25, 2017 at 11:42 am
            I love it!
            • wlkrln
              wlkrlnWednesday, October 5, 2016 at 7:53 pm
              I think this book is great because it has lots of characters and adventures.
              • dboy17
                dboy17Thursday, September 29, 2016 at 4:49 pm44 stars
                It was okay not the best book by kate dicamillo
                • lia06
                  lia06Wednesday, June 15, 2016 at 2:15 pm55 stars
                  It's super hilarous because Flora's neighbors vacuum up a squirrel and once it comes out it looks dead so Flora gives it CPR.
                  • tienaaaa
                    tienaaaaWednesday, June 8, 2016 at 2:48 pm
                    I really love Flora and Ulysses. It is a really funny book.
                    • kktripathi
                      Miss TriaWednesday, April 20, 2016 at 4:07 pm55 stars
                      This was one of the books on my reading list, and it has the kind of cover that if you judged a book by its cover, you would read it. You will love it, I tell you!!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Why did Lionblaze not try when h...
                      Warriors: Omen of the Stars #1: ...

                      livlovesdogs

                      People are not gonna like me but...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...

                      livlovesdogs

                      It was really good especially si...
                      Illuminate: A Gilded Wings Novel...