Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 1 - 5U4.3n/a
Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal

Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel by master storyteller Kate DiCamillo.


It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry — and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart. From #1 New York Times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo comes a laugh-out-loud story filled with eccentric, endearing characters and featuring an exciting new format — a novel interspersed with comic-style graphic sequences and full-page illustrations, all rendered in black-and-white by up-and-coming artist K. G. Campbell.

Paperback, 231 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763687642
ISBN-13: 9780763687649
84 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ravenclaw35
    ravenclaw35Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 12:46 pm44 stars
    This is a novel that will honestly make you say "Holy Bagumba!" Flora is a young girl who is described as a natural born cynic. And Ulysses is a super squirrel who is shocking swept up by an unruly vacuum and can type poetry. As the half bald squirrel is still trying to find his powers, he eats...a LOT! Flora is positive Ulysses can be just as great as Incandesto, hero comic book ideal. She pushes Ulysses to become the best super squirrel he can be. Then Ulysses is kiddnapped by Flora's mother and sent to be kill with a shovel while laying still in a skratchy sack. Ulysses then attacks Flora's mother and literally flies to Flora. Meanwhile, Flora and her friends rush off with her mother's beloved lamp and search madly for Ulysses. They are once again united and Ulysses' final poem warms the hearts of the characters and the reader.
    • jungkookvibes
      jungkookvibesWednesday, January 23, 2019 at 3:34 pm55 starsFeatured
      I just finished this outstanding novel yesterday, and I really loved it! I would recommend this book to others on DOGO, including people from the internet. I would recommend this book to others because this book has it's potential, that's why this novel earned it's medal. Another reason why I would recommend this book to others is because the moral of this novel is that you should always follow your heart, superhero or not, Incandesto or not, everyone can accomplish their own dreams. This novel is heartwarming and I hope that you can understand my words, and understand the moral too! Enjoy the book, and please enjoy your reading!
      • miniongirlFriday, December 28, 2018 at 6:27 pm
        i read this book and i liked it. it made me love squirrels even more than i already did
        • piggie101
          piggie101Friday, November 2, 2018 at 6:40 am33 stars
          The beginning is pretty slow but exciting.Have not read the middle or end but you should still read it even if you don't like a superhero that is a squirrel it really only takes a weekend if your a fast but good reader. 3 Stars
          • auntieb
            auntiebSunday, August 26, 2018 at 1:59 pm55 stars
            Flora and Ulysses I first picked this book up just because I absolutely love Kate Dicamillo's writing! This book has a lot of humor and I absolutely love it!!
            • eaglegamer
              eaglegamerFriday, June 1, 2018 at 2:17 pm55 stars
              i like this book
              • SGPChauFriday, June 1, 2018 at 12:45 pm
                great
                • SGPChauFriday, June 1, 2018 at 12:44 pm
                  Great book I'd wish it was a comic.
                  • reader_red
                    reader_redSunday, May 27, 2018 at 8:03 am55 stars
                    This book was a fun one that I felt like could be read by multiple ages. I read this several years ago but I remember enjoying it very much. I may give a better review later, but this is all I got for now. reader_red
                    • readingdiva
                      readingdivaThursday, May 24, 2018 at 11:47 am55 stars
                      it is about this girl named Flora and her neighbor gets a turbo vacuum mation (the Ulysses ) and it sucks up a squirrel. Flora saves the squirrel and names it Ulysses and the vacuum gave it super powers. Flora and Ulysses go on a wild adventure in which they encounter villains,donuts and poetry. It is an awsome book and i highly recommend it .

                      Our Apps and Plugins