Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal

Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel by master storyteller Kate DiCamillo.


It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry — and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart. From #1 New York Times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo comes a laugh-out-loud story filled with eccentric, endearing characters and featuring an exciting new format — a novel interspersed with comic-style graphic sequences and full-page illustrations, all rendered in black-and-white by up-and-coming artist K. G. Campbell.

Paperback, 231 pages
Published on September 13, 2016 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763687642
ISBN-13: 9780763687649
70 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • dictionary
    dictionarySunday, February 26, 2017 at 6:26 am55 stars
    I love it so much :D
    • e06
      e06Friday, February 24, 2017 at 6:27 pm
      AMAZING!!!!!!!!!Perfect for cynics and superheroes. its an awesome book,its so entertaining that sometimes i can't put it down! If you are someone who loves comic books and people are telling you to start reading what they call " true literature" then this is perfect for you. Even though I don't read comic books I always look for a funny book with some pictures and I have not found one until I have read this book. It is a have-to-read book.
      • AwejorWednesday, January 25, 2017 at 11:42 am
        I love it!
        • wlkrln
          wlkrlnWednesday, October 5, 2016 at 7:53 pm
          I think this book is great because it has lots of characters and adventures.
          • dboy17
            dboy17Thursday, September 29, 2016 at 4:49 pm44 stars
            It was okay not the best book by kate dicamillo
            • lia06
              lia06Wednesday, June 15, 2016 at 2:15 pm55 stars
              It's super hilarous because Flora's neighbors vacuum up a squirrel and once it comes out it looks dead so Flora gives it CPR.
              • tienaaaa
                tienaaaaWednesday, June 8, 2016 at 2:48 pm
                I really love Flora and Ulysses. It is a really funny book.
                • kktripathi
                  Miss TriaWednesday, April 20, 2016 at 4:07 pm55 stars
                  This was one of the books on my reading list, and it has the kind of cover that if you judged a book by its cover, you would read it. You will love it, I tell you!!!!
                  • teenwolffan
                    teenwolffanTuesday, April 19, 2016 at 6:38 pm
                    It is a really great book to read it is a bit confusing at first but it's really great😊
                    • TeenwolffanTuesday, April 19, 2016 at 6:36 pm
                      It is a really great book to read

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      kenmen
                      kenmen wrote:

                      I thought this book was amazing!...
                      Smile

                      inh8
                      inh8 wrote:

                      Best. Series. Ever.
                      The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Bo...

                      inh8
                      inh8 wrote:

                      Ouch! hillarious!!!! great, in ...
                      Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)