Now a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson!

In this #1 New York Times bestselling novel that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on February 5, 2019 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1534451560
ISBN-13: 9781534451568
3 Book Reviews
  • l4dyr34d
    l4dyr34d17 days55 stars
    This book is amazing...although it had me in tears...you never really know how much human touch you need until you cant have it. Truly remarkable if you like romance and a little slice of life.
    • egirl_ebody
      egirl_ebody3 months55 stars
      "For the first time, I feel the weight of every single inch, every single millimeter of the six feet between us. I pull my sweatshirt closer to my body...trying to ignore the fact that that open space? It will always be there." -Stella Grant (main character) Can you love someone you can never touch? Stella Grant(Haley Lu Richardson) likes to be in control seven though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is her distance from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No expectations. The only thing Will Newman (Cole Sprouse) wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn't care less about his treatments or a fancy new clinical trial. Wills exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. But suddenly six feet doesn't feel like safety. It feels like punishment. What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs
      • girlpower4ever
        girlpower4everover 1 year55 stars
        Six feet apart. That is Barb the caretaker's rule, the hospital's rule, the world's rule when it comes to a patient with cystic fibrosis and another with B. cepacia. The same applies to Stella Grant and Will Newman. Conformed by medical procedures, family strain, and self-control, Stella must put a smile on her face for the world's reassurance. Will is a different matter. Despite his mother's efforts and family's wealth, he has given up on everything that could add to his lifespan. After contracting B. cepacia, he no longer has the one thing every patient needs to keep them going: hope. So when rule-abiding Stella and individualistic Will first meet, sparks fly, and not in the best way. But gradually, resentment spirals into flirtation, and what seemed like harmless serenading suddenly turns into love. The odds will never be in their favor. Even as they date, they aren't allowed to leave the hospital or be nearer than six feet apart. Add Barb's meddling, Poe's disapproval, and both of their conditions deteriorating, and the relationship seems destined to fail. But when Stella closes that gap to five feet apart, and Will closes it to zero, nobody can deny that Stella and Will are written in the stars.