Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.748814
A New York Times Bestseller!

The author of the beloved One for the Murphys gives readers an emotionally-charged, uplifting novel that will speak to anyone who’s ever thought there was something wrong with them because they didn’t fit in.

“Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its life believing it is stupid.”

Ally has been smart enough to fool a lot of smart people. Every time she lands in a new school, she is able to hide her inability to read by creating clever yet disruptive distractions. She is afraid to ask for help; after all, how can you cure dumb? However, her newest teacher Mr. Daniels sees the bright, creative kid underneath the trouble maker. With his help, Ally learns not to be so hard on herself and that dyslexia is nothing to be ashamed of. As her confidence grows, Ally feels free to be herself and the world starts opening up with possibilities. She discovers that there’s a lot more to her—and to everyone—than a label, and that great minds don’t always think alike.
Paperback, 320 pages
Published on March 28, 2017 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142426423
ISBN-13: 9780142426425
98 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • wolllf123
    wolllf123Monday, October 22, 2018 at 11:03 am
    Ummmmmm have not reeded yet need to read it NOW!!!
    • rniedan
      Ms. NiedanSunday, August 26, 2018 at 9:44 am44 stars
      I really appreciated that this book is written from Ally's point of view, because I gained insight into what it feels like to be dyslexic and not enjoy reading. It was a new perspective that I needed to learn about to better understand people who have difficulty learning to read.
      • ajbright
        ajbrightSunday, July 29, 2018 at 1:19 pm55 stars
        When I read Fish in a Tree it made me feel like I was Ally Nickerson. Ally is a girl who can not read and has two nice friends.
        • ashley57
          ashley57Tuesday, July 3, 2018 at 1:30 pm
          I'm choosing books for my new fifth grade class which will promote critical thinking around social issues as well as having them think about choices they make in identifying who they are, what they will want their character to become. In a world of bullying, put downs from the top of our government, being the "tough guy" ...I want to instill in the children a sense of personal power that they can choose to be whoever and whatever they want to be without stepping on others to lift themselves higher... I'm hoping to find a journey for them through the characters in Fish in a Tree!
          • devenitycrystal
            devenitycrystalFriday, June 15, 2018 at 2:11 pm55 stars
            This book is amazing and it's definitely inspirational to kids who struggle in school, especially with dyslexia
            • pupcat46
              pupcat46Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:36 am55 stars
              its a good book
              • ben1012
                ben1012Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:36 am44 stars
                it a good book
                • 26america
                  26americaTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 6:43 am55 stars
                  This book teaches you to be yourself. and i love the authors message. I hope that everyone in this world reads it.
                  • 128213
                    128213Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 8:45 pm55 stars
                    This book was amazing! It teaches a great lesson to. Everyone should read it!
                    • crazy7701
                      crazy7701Monday, March 5, 2018 at 7:58 am44 stars
                      So good BTW did you know that patricia polacco had dyslexia too.
                      • 26america
                        26americaTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 6:44 am55 stars
                        never knew about that... good thinking

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      booklover2017

                      OMG this sounds gooood
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      Why is that? It's fun to read ab...
                      Storybound

                      booklover2017

                      I'm going into 7th grade, middle...
                      How I Survived Middle School #1:...

                      booklover2017

                      Sounds pretty good Pleeeaaase f...
                      Magisterium: The Golden Tower (T...

                      Our Apps and Plugins