Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5T4.149527
Best-selling author Chris d'Lacey brings us a magical story about mysterious hand crafted clay dragons who have unusual powers.

When David moves in with Liz and Lucy, he discovers a collection of hand crafted, clay dragons that comes to life and has magical powers. David's personalized dragon, Gadzooks, can forecast the future, and inspires him to write a story which reveals the truth behind an unsolved mystery close to home. The story has an unhappy ending, and when David realizes the consequences of it he is angry. Then David finds Gadzooks crying and near death, and he discovers that these special dragons die when they are not loved. Soon David is forced to save his friend and unlock the powers of the fire within.

Don't miss Chris d'Lacey's addition to his rich dragon mythology in his next series, The Erth Dragons!
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on September 27, 2001 by Orchard Books
ISBN-10: 1841215333
ISBN-13: 9781841215334
48 Book Reviews
  • noiwantthecandy
    noiwantthecandyFriday, November 6, 2020 at 5:32 am55 stars
    I read this 2-3 weeks ago. It. Was. AMAZING. Gadzooks is the best dragon. Change my mind.
    • thistle912
      thistle912Saturday, June 6, 2020 at 12:13 pm55 stars
      The Fire Within is a compelling, mesmerizing tale of friendship, love, and courage. This book will lead you on a twisting path of thrill and enjoyment, then put you back on track. I recommend this book for fans of anything fictional, with many twists and turns, and total awesomeness! An adventure that people will relish till the end, and totally adore.
      • dragonrider13
        dragonrider13Thursday, October 24, 2019 at 7:09 am
        I can't wait for us to be able to enter to win it.
        • dragonrider13
          dragonrider13Friday, October 18, 2019 at 3:41 pm
          i haven't read this yet but i love absolutely adore dragons so i can't wait until i can enter to win these.
          • RajThursday, January 31, 2019 at 8:34 am
            Really nice,very suspicious book
            • drac
              dracTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 4:53 pm55 stars
              I already read this book and I read this book because I love mythical creatures {especially dragons!}, fantasy, and fiction. If you are a dragon slayer or are afraid of dragons, I'm the one to talk to.
              • donutWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 10:27 am
                i like the fire ascending best!
                • donutWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 10:21 am
                  you forgot to mention "the dragons of wayward crescent
                  • donutWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 10:18 am
                    read the entire series #loved it #last dragon chronicles
                    • .....ASaturday, September 8, 2018 at 1:03 pm
                      Good book.