Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.451076
It's late summer 1793, and the streets of Philadelphia are abuzz with mosquitoes and rumors of fever. Down near the docks, many have taken ill, and the fatalities are mounting. Now they include Polly, the serving girl at the Cook Coffeehouse. But fourteen-year-old Mattie Cook doesn't get a moment to mourn the passing of her childhood playmate. New customers have overrun her family's coffee shop, located far from the mosquito-infested river, and Mattie's concerns of fever are all but overshadowed by dreams of growing her family's small business into a thriving enterprise. But when the fever begins to strike closer to home, Mattie's struggle to build a new life must give way to a new fight-the fight to stay alive.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on March 1, 2002 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0689848919
ISBN-13: 9780689848919
80 Book Reviews
  • ginnyweasley2
    ginnyweasley2Sunday, January 31, 2021 at 12:18 pm44 stars
    Mattie's mother runs a coffee shop where no alchohol is allowed. But when yellow fever starts spreading, she gets the fever. Mattie leaves her mother with somebody and tries to escape the city with her grandfather, but then she gets the fever too. She is cared for by French doctors, who use a method that was revolutionary at the time, and makes a successful recovery. She goes home, but finds that her mother is gone. Then she upgrades the coffee shop and runs it with a former servant as a partner.
    • annabethgranger
      annabethgrangerSunday, January 31, 2021 at 11:08 am44 stars
      Laurie Halse Anderson's Fever 1793 is a really good book. It explains the feelings of how most people were like during the pandemic. It also showed how things were like and what happened a lot. Anderson does not stop to skip tragedy, she makes things real and how they were. It has a few swear words, however, so it may not be appropriate for younger readers. All in all, this was a fantastic book.
      • daniellee
        danielleeThursday, November 26, 2020 at 8:02 pm55 stars
        This book was great
        • chloele
          chloeleThursday, November 26, 2020 at 7:50 pm55 stars
          I HATE history. It's way too boring. But starting from this book, it gave me a little prickle to start liking history. Now I begin to love historical fiction books especially books about WWII. The yellow fever breaks during the year 1793 and the main character starts finding her way to survive this outbreak. How does she do it?
          • blossomreader
            blossomreaderMonday, June 8, 2020 at 8:49 am11 star
            I did NOT like this book! It was way too boring. I know some people actually like this book, so I won't judge, but I didn't like it at all. It didn't make much sense to me and nothing was good. I don't recommend this book. It's about a fever that breaks out, and Mattie has to run away to escape the chance of getting sick. Can she do it? I regret reading this book. It was a waste of time.
            • ava_succulents
              ava_succulentsFriday, November 15, 2019 at 6:52 am
              This BOOK IS AMAZING! It is amazing how a girl like Mattie can survive a major fever! She was strong, caring, and smart. I 100 percent RECOMMEND this book.
              • ava_colors
                ava_colorsMonday, November 11, 2019 at 6:52 am55 stars
                This is a great book, and I loved it! It is so amazing with all the twists and turns that Maddie deals with. And how she stays strong through it all.
                • papamurphies555Monday, October 7, 2019 at 10:45 am
                  This is one of the best books i have ever read. its thrilling and it takes you captive into the story.
                  • reader2009
                    reader2009Friday, July 19, 2019 at 9:40 pm11 star
                    This was an okay book but it was really scary in my opinion. If you want to read this book don't read it at night.
                    • lavoiem
                      lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 8:03 pm55 stars
                      1 word...WOW!!! This book is VERY good and I loved it a lot. It was so different form the books I’m used to reading and the time of the book is very different from what I usually read which was new to me but very good!!!