Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.451076
It's late summer 1793, and the streets of Philadelphia are abuzz with mosquitoes and rumors of fever. Down near the docks, many have taken ill, and the fatalities are mounting. Now they include Polly, the serving girl at the Cook Coffeehouse. But fourteen-year-old Mattie Cook doesn't get a moment to mourn the passing of her childhood playmate. New customers have overrun her family's coffee shop, located far from the mosquito-infested river, and Mattie's concerns of fever are all but overshadowed by dreams of growing her family's small business into a thriving enterprise. But when the fever begins to strike closer to home, Mattie's struggle to build a new life must give way to a new fight-the fight to stay alive.
Paperback, 272 pages
Published on March 1, 2002 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0689848919
ISBN-13: 9780689848919
73 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • papamurphies555Monday, October 7, 2019 at 10:45 am
    This is one of the best books i have ever read. its thrilling and it takes you captive into the story.
    • reader2009
      reader2009Friday, July 19, 2019 at 9:40 pm11 star
      This was an okay book but it was really scary in my opinion. If you want to read this book don't read it at night.
      • lavoiem
        lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 8:03 pm55 stars
        1 word...WOW!!! This book is VERY good and I loved it a lot. It was so different form the books I’m used to reading and the time of the book is very different from what I usually read which was new to me but very good!!!
        • im-riddikulus
          im-riddikulusWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:20 pm55 stars
          Fever 1793 is the story of a 14-year-old girl fighting to stay alive in the Yellow Fever Epidemic. I suggest this book to grades 3rd and up. Ages 9 and up. I suggest that due to some death content and some violent scenes. I suggest this to people who enjoy non-fiction and adventure. It is a really good book!
          • Spaced outWednesday, December 26, 2018 at 3:18 pm
            This is an awesome book! My teacher started reading it to us not to long ago and it we still didn't finish the book. But I did do well on the quiz. I'm sad the grandfather died, though. 😞
            • im-riddikulus
              im-riddikulusWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:21 pm55 stars
              No spoilers! ;)
            • Gigi🌸Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 9:18 am
              This book is fantastic! I read it for the first time in 5th grade and have read it many times since then. Very well written and one of my personal favorites :)
              • Olivia😝Friday, March 3, 2017 at 2:53 pm
                This book is extremely interesting
                • bananadream240
                  bananadream240Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 7:31 pm44 stars
                  Being a girl who gets lost in thought over the deeper plots, this book had me from the start. From beginning to end, this beautifully written story grasps your attention and leaves you hungry enough to read the last page before the first. I was head over heels, falling into the cold water, too deep, free falling, trigger-happy in love with Fever. We're all sure you'll be, too.
                  • kitten7260
                    kitten7260Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 7:19 am44 stars
                    Young Maddy is caught in an epidemic. Everyone in Philadelphia is falling sick with fever. So when hard times fall upon Maddy and her small family, she must learn how to stay strong even when you feel like you're falling.
                    • laffy-taffy
                      laffy-taffyWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 10:25 am55 stars
                      I really like historical fiction and when I saw this on the bookshelf I knew I had to read it. Over all I thought that this book was exiting yet informative at the same time.