Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.565752
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

Opens in theaters on June 6, 2014
TODAY Book Club pick
TIME Magazine’s #1 Fiction Book of 2012

-Millions of copies sold-

#1 New York Times Bestseller
#1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller
#1 USA Today Bestseller
#1 International Bestseller
#1 Indie Bestseller

Hardcover, 318 pages
Published on January 10, 2012 by Dutton Books
ISBN-10: 0525478817
ISBN-13: 9780525478812
396 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • wiccanbat666
    wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 2:06 pm11 star
    Surprisingly, this book was so special that it became the first book that I slammed on the wall twice after reading it. It didn’t only disappoint me but also angered me. I'm surprised to find that harsh critics are swallowing up this trash and calling it a masterpiece. Ugh! I’m going to make a list of everything I hate about this book that earned it the topmost place on my list of Worst books ever. The characters- Hazel and Augustus are the flattest cardboard cut-outs I have ever seen in any book. Both of them were like 60-years-old stuck in some teenager's bodies making them very boring and unlikeable. Hazel was such an annoying, stupid and pretentious Mary Sue that I wanted to punch her right in the face. One great example ”Why are breakfast foods breakfast foods...Like, why don’t we have curry for breakfast?” "A nonhot boy stares at you relentlessly and it is, at best, awkward and, at worst, a form of assault. But a hot boy . . . well." Augustus and Hazel have the same boring, pretentious, know-it-all and indistinguishable personality. Hazel is the female version of Augustus (no, I’m not going to call him affectionately with Gus) and he is the male version of Hazel. These two characters meld together and have no depth at all. I couldn’t connect with them, I felt no pain and sympathy for them and they annoyed me so much that I wanted to stab them.
    • seevahnb101
      seevahnb101Monday, May 7, 2018 at 8:33 pm
      I have probably read this more than 2 times.. its incredible! I highly recommend it, and hope that you like and enjoy it as much as i did!
      • bookworm 15Thursday, April 12, 2018 at 9:57 am
        This book is about 17 year old Hazel Grace. She suffers from cancer. She meets Agustus Waters and her life changed. They go to Amsterdam together to meet Hazel's favorite author, Peter Van Houten. A simply amazing book about friendship, sacrifice and forgiveness.
        • k2lit
          k2litMonday, April 9, 2018 at 8:15 am55 stars
          this was a great book and i read it 12 times this book got me emotional but since I'm a boy I did not cry
          • handy Monday, March 26, 2018 at 2:05 pm
            ok, for those who have not read this book, it seriously changed my life. if your a book lover like myself, you will obviously love this book. even for people who don't really like reading you will most likely love this book. Hazel is diagnosed with cancer that she can die from. She is getting depressed and sometimes even wants to die. But one day she meets the love of her life, Augustus Waters, (also has cancer) who she is not yet sure about and doesn't want to be in love with, but they end up falling for each other. They start to have the same interests and fall in love. but then... I personally love this book. 5 stars!!!
            • catlover27Saturday, March 24, 2018 at 6:59 pm
              im in the 6th grade and i loved this book totally recommend to other readers
              • animelover1234
                animelover1234Thursday, March 15, 2018 at 7:22 am55 stars
                looks cool
                • ColinDiMarcoThursday, March 15, 2018 at 6:17 am
                  This is a copy of Wonder.
                  • girlyesisprint
                    girlyesisprintWednesday, March 14, 2018 at 7:47 am55 stars
                    Very sad book, great though. I read it over and over and over but cried every time.
                    • braveryMonday, March 5, 2018 at 1:31 pm
                      saw the movie so good

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Neal wrote:

                      Rick Riordan Number 1 fan. Loved...
                      Weird But True Know-It-All: Gree...

                      soyster
                      soyster wrote:

                      I found the story really intrigu...
                      Rump: The True Story of Rumpelst...

                      no name wrote:

                      the book is not scary
                      The Slender Man

                      Our Apps and Plugins