Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

Opens in theaters on June 6, 2014
TODAY Book Club pick
TIME Magazine’s #1 Fiction Book of 2012

-Millions of copies sold-

#1 New York Times Bestseller
#1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller
#1 USA Today Bestseller
#1 International Bestseller
#1 Indie Bestseller

Hardcover, 318 pages
Published on January 10, 2012 by Dutton Books
ISBN-10: 0525478817
ISBN-13: 9780525478812
383 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • bookworm15Thursday, January 18, 2018 at 10:28 am
    I want to read this
    • finnickodair
      finnickodairFriday, January 5, 2018 at 9:57 am44 stars
      I though it was an okay book if a little unrealistic. The theme is excellent but the word choice is not really believable of a teen.
      • alilovd
        alilovdFriday, November 10, 2017 at 10:06 am55 stars
        Having cancer sucks. If you have cancer than you know. Hazel has has a diagnosis that she could die from. She goes to her support group and meets Augustus. She happens to fall in love. He's lost his leg. Hazel gets him to real An Imperial Affliction (which is not a real book. I checked.) . And she has to read Insurgance. They ask each other answers and questions about the book. They do emails to Peter Van Houten, the author of An Imperial Affliction. They imvited to come Amsterdam, anytime. But that night, she wakes up and can't breathe. She gets taken to the ER. The doctors think she can't go to Amsterdam. But she gets too. And later, skipping ahead. (Spoiler Alert!) Augustus gets taken to the ER and dies in it. They have a funeral and Hazel gives a speech. I just love The Fault in Our Stars. 5 Stars!!!!!!!
        • grapefruit
          grapefruitSunday, October 29, 2017 at 2:22 am55 stars
          Being a victim of cancer has never been easy for Hazel Grace Lancaster, and the crummy Support Group her mom sends her to isn't helping. Until she meets a boy called Augustus . He is a victim too, and he's an amputee. Augustus helps her fulfill her wish of visiting Amsterdam and meeting her favorite author, Peter van Hoeton,but at the end Gus (short for Augustus)loses his battle with cancer and dies in grief and pain. It is such a sad story I almost cried when I read it.This book is a heartbreaking masterpiece that will make you cry an cry and cry for hours until your eyes bleed.It is a romance-cancer-fighting-friendship novel that is not at all mushy and warms your heart.
          • natterratt
            natterrattTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 7:03 pm55 stars
            The best book ever !!!!!!!! But just make shure to skip the chapter where they sleep together
            • grapefruit
              grapefruitFriday, November 3, 2017 at 4:49 am55 stars
              YEAH I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN!!!!! That was the only part of this book that I wish I'd skipped. It makes me want to throw up each time I read it.
            • AnonomyusTuesday, May 30, 2017 at 12:54 pm
              "The Fault In Our Stars" is a story of two unfortunate teenagers who have "a touch of cancer" and fall in love because of it.Hazel and Augustus's love story is not like typical Disney princess story's.Theirs is down to earth were they struggle with with real problems like cancer.All in all "The Fault In Our Stars" is a book full of romance,comedy,and loving qaulitys that everyone should have.
              • kaza99
                kaza99Thursday, April 20, 2017 at 11:37 pm55 stars
                this is one of the cutest books i've ever read
                • nerdynerdynerd
                  nerdynerdynerdThursday, April 20, 2017 at 11:27 am55 stars
                  Hazel Grace Lancaster was lonely...once. But then she met Gus Waters, and fell in love. Soon enough, the two were recommending books-and after an Imperial Affliction, Hazel and Gus just HAVE to use Gus's Wish to go to Amsterdam and meet Mr. Peter Van Houten, author of an Imperial Affliction. But he wasn't as kind as they'd hoped-where was the man who'd understood dying so well? But then Hazel learns Gus's secret, which changes-literally-everything and leaves Hazel Grace alone in her little world. This is a great (but depressing) book. John Green is a really impressive author. Five stars!
                  • PaytonMonday, April 17, 2017 at 11:17 am
                    This is an AMAZING book!!!
                    • midwhite
                      midwhiteMonday, April 10, 2017 at 6:56 pm
                      This was just an amazing book. Words just can't begin to describe how deeply the words on the page drove into my heart. The craft of John Green was something I fell in love with, and his ability to shape the words into just what he wanted giving the reader a better image was thrilling. The characters seemed so real. Everything realistic, beautiful, crystal clear. I found myself falling head over heals for so many characters in just pages of getting to know them. When their hearts ached and they cried, I found myself doing the same. But what I love about this book is that it's not trying to hide the pain of death from the reader, you. John Green doesn't choose to neglect the truth that people die, people leave, we move on. He didn't choose to ignore it and simply write a sappy fairy tale where everything goes "right." He addressed it head on, and lets us know through his characters that it's possible to get over deaths. He let's us know that when somebody we love leaves us, we are not alone suffering through this stage of mourning. Another thing I fell in love with this book were the philosophical meanings behind each chapter, each page, paragraph, sentence, word. Everything had a meaning. "The real heroes anyways aren't the people doing things; the real heroes are the people NOTICING things, paying attention." -The Fault in Our Stars, John Green

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      fun fact wrote:

                      WONDER tells the incredibly insp...
                      Wonder

                      horse4us wrote:

                      I am reading it right now and i ...
                      Restart

                      horse4us wrote:

                      its so good and i read it in one...
                      Real Friends

                      gracekae
                      gracekae wrote:

                      I have all the Lemony Snicket bo...
                      The Miserable Mill (A Series of ...