Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.565752
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

Opens in theaters on June 6, 2014
TODAY Book Club pick
TIME Magazine’s #1 Fiction Book of 2012

-Millions of copies sold-

#1 New York Times Bestseller
#1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller
#1 USA Today Bestseller
#1 International Bestseller
#1 Indie Bestseller

Hardcover, 318 pages
Published on January 10, 2012 by Dutton Books
ISBN-10: 0525478817
ISBN-13: 9780525478812
416 Book Reviews
  • bunnygirl09
    bunnygirl09Friday, February 19, 2021 at 8:52 am44 stars
    Wonderful book. I would probably say it's for kids 13+, because it deals with more adult topics. It brings to light the topic of Cancer, and it's just great overall.
    • adowhi2021
      adowhi2021Thursday, January 28, 2021 at 8:38 am44 stars
      Who would have thought that if you were diagnosed with cancer and forced to go to a support group, you’d meet the love of your life? According to Hazel from The Fault in our stars, by John Green, everything is considered a side effect of dying. Cancer, Depression, and so on. Hazel is forced to go to a support group after being diagnosed with thyroid cancer that had traveled to her lungs. In the support group she meets Augustus Waters, and that's where their story begins. This book shows that even in the darkness light can still get through. The setting is in Indianapolis, Indiana, but the two end up traveling to Amsterdam together. In the end things get very intense and unfortunate. I definitely believe that people who like sad, romance novels would really enjoy this book however I would not recommend it for readers under the age of 11 or 12 just because of some language usage.
      • lilabug
        lilabugWednesday, October 21, 2020 at 9:12 am55 stars
        This is such a beautiful book I loved it. It is sad because it is about kids who have cancer but I really liked it. I also want to watch the movie.❤❤😍👍
        • willow123goma
          willow123gomaFriday, July 31, 2020 at 2:15 pm33 stars
          This book by John Green is a amazing book about a girl battling Cancer in her lungs. Although I did not agree with all the ideas and emotions portrayed in the book, I do have to say it was a powerful and beautiful book.
          • girlpower4ever
            girlpower4everSaturday, June 13, 2020 at 1:54 pm55 stars
            There is a fault in Hazel Lancaster's celestial readings. Diagnosed with lung cancer since age thirteen, she goes through the motions of the day, forced to attend a cancer support group while knowing that her time may be up any second. But every one of Hazel's principles is about to be tested when she meets Augustus Waters. Attracted by his effervescently beautiful looks and personality, Hazel and Augustus' world crash and collide into something entirely their own. Every one of their firsts, their first look, first kiss, first confession of love, bond the lovers with the string of fate. But when health-related threats ending in death loom over the horizon, there will never not be a fault in their burdened stars.
            • lovetoread26
              lovetoread26Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 10:11 am55 stars
              Oh my goodness, this might be my new favorite book! 16 year old Hazel has cancer. She has to go to a miserable support group every Wednesday. Life for her is depressing and boring, until she meets Augustus. He is her best friend, and they will do everything and anything for each other. Until...Well, I won't tell you that part yet. I would recommend this book to 12 or 13+ (Okay, I'm not that old yet, but still). I will leave you will my guarantee that you will love this book, and I will almost guarantee you that you will cry in chapter 21.
              • Cat12345$$$Sunday, March 29, 2020 at 2:14 am
                I haven't finished reading this book yet but it is the best book I've ever read. I would definitely recommend this book and it is very emotional, but I seem to come back for more every time.very addictive. I would rate this book 5 stars.
                • AnonymousWednesday, March 25, 2020 at 10:19 am
                  All I can say is: Wow what an amazing book!!! I could read it 1000 times and still not get sick of it. This book made me want to read another page and another page and I didn't want to stop and I was pretty much crying at the end!
                  • applebutter
                    applebutterFriday, November 29, 2019 at 7:56 am44 stars
                    This book is PG 13 repeat this book is PG 13! I love this book so much i bought it at a book sale not knowing what i was getting and i am so glad i bought it! It is one of my favorite books. Hazel has canser and soon falls in love
                    • buxix
                      buxixThursday, November 28, 2019 at 9:37 am33 stars
                      This is a great book. An absolute masterpiece on John Green's part. But jeez, Peter van Houten is no joke. it shows that cancer is a big problem and we shouldn't judge people because they're different.