Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.565752
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

Opens in theaters on June 6, 2014
TODAY Book Club pick
TIME Magazine’s #1 Fiction Book of 2012

-Millions of copies sold-

#1 New York Times Bestseller
#1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller
#1 USA Today Bestseller
#1 International Bestseller
#1 Indie Bestseller

Hardcover, 318 pages
Published on January 10, 2012 by Dutton Books
ISBN-10: 0525478817
ISBN-13: 9780525478812
404 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • catpath13
    catpath13Monday, June 3, 2019 at 2:40 pm55 stars
    The Fault in Our Stars offers a new perspective on cancer, mental health, and hope. The main character, Hazel Lancaster has been living with lung cancer for several years, and she has accepted that she is going to die. Then, she meets a boy, Augustus Waters, and she gains hope that everything could be okay. This book is an emotional roller coaster that never slows down.
    • ellasin
      ellasinSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 8:48 pm55 stars
      I love the book so much. The book is very sad, I cried near the end
      • nasuada
        nasuadaMonday, May 20, 2019 at 3:30 pm55 stars
        It is difficult to carry on normally with one's life, as if one has not just been broken by John Green of all people, after reading this book. Hazel is frail and sick, with crappy, cancerous lungs and no dreams of romance. And then . . . it happens. She and Augustus, a bone cancer survivor, have a wonderful romance, with the only complications being cancer. However, the romance itself, around which the book revolves, is mediocre compared to the books other factors. Their unique coping mechanisms and philosophies, combined with intense, raw emotions, sealed the deal on this one. I recommend to 13+.
        • ottergirl4ev
          ottergirl4evMonday, December 17, 2018 at 5:21 pm55 stars
          two words. FAVORITE BOOK EVER. well, i guess thats 3, right? i own this book and i love it. i love it so much that i even reread it. fall in love and prepare to cry.
          • thingymnast
            thingymnastFriday, December 14, 2018 at 6:24 am55 stars
            Although I haven't read the book, I think that this is my new favorite . Hazel Grace thancaster has cancer. But her boyfriend does to. Agustice waters does in the end and it made me cry because it was so sad
            • joeycollin13
              joeycollin13Monday, December 10, 2018 at 12:41 pm55 stars
              this book seriously made me cry. and I don't cry because of books. this is about the only one besides All The Bright Places that made me want to cry my eyes out
              • spacemonkey
                spacemonkeyWednesday, October 17, 2018 at 8:47 am
                its really good okie
                • eliseimo
                  eliseimoTuesday, October 9, 2018 at 9:23 am44 stars
                  This book is kind of like wonder...
                  • #1favbookTuesday, October 9, 2018 at 6:16 am
                    @wiccanbat666 no body neede that imput if you didn't like the book thats all you had to say you think the book is bad but and that it is pointless for good reviews but i think your comment was irrelevent to.
                    • bellapopcorn
                      bellapopcornThursday, October 4, 2018 at 8:47 am55 stars
                      You should read this book because it talk about two tengangers a boy and a girl. One has cancer and the other one has a fake leg it does say so bad word but it still good. READ IT PLZ