The Fault in Our Stars

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.565752

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten. Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love. Praise for The Fault In Our Stars “A novel of life and death and the people caught in between, The Fault in Our Stars is John Green at his best. You laugh, you cry, and then you come back for more.” — Markus Zusak, bestselling and Printz Honor–winning author of The Book Thief “An electric portrait of young people who learn to live life with one foot in the grave. Filled with staccato bursts of humor and tragedy, The Fault in Our Stars takes a spin on universal themes — Will I be loved? Will I be remembered? Will I leave a mark on this world? — by dramatically raising the stakes for the characters who are asking.” — Jodi Picoult, bestselling author of My Sister’s Keeper and Sing You Home “John Green writes incredible, honest truths about the secret, weird hearts of human beings. He makes me laugh and gasp at the beauty of a sentence or the twist of a tale. He is one of the best writers alive and I am seething with envy of his talent.” — E. Lockhart, National Book Award Finalist and Printz Honor–winning author of The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks and The Boyfriend List

Hardcover, 318 pages
Published on January 10, 2012 by Dutton Books
ISBN-10: 0525478817
ISBN-13: 9780525478812
376 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • kaza99
    kaza99Thursday, April 20, 2017 at 11:37 pm55 stars
    this is one of the cutest books i've ever read
    • nerdynerdynerd
      nerdynerdynerdThursday, April 20, 2017 at 11:27 am55 stars
      Hazel Grace Lancaster was lonely...once. But then she met Gus Waters, and fell in love. Soon enough, the two were recommending books-and after an Imperial Affliction, Hazel and Gus just HAVE to use Gus's Wish to go to Amsterdam and meet Mr. Peter Van Houten, author of an Imperial Affliction. But he wasn't as kind as they'd hoped-where was the man who'd understood dying so well? But then Hazel learns Gus's secret, which changes-literally-everything and leaves Hazel Grace alone in her little world. This is a great (but depressing) book. John Green is a really impressive author. Five stars!
      • PaytonMonday, April 17, 2017 at 11:17 am
        This is an AMAZING book!!!
        • sam123d
          sam123dMonday, April 10, 2017 at 6:56 pm
          This was just an amazing book. Words just can't begin to describe how deeply the words on the page drove into my heart. The craft of John Green was something I fell in love with, and his ability to shape the words into just what he wanted giving the reader a better image was thrilling. The characters seemed so real. Everything realistic, beautiful, crystal clear. I found myself falling head over heals for so many characters in just pages of getting to know them. When their hearts ached and they cried, I found myself doing the same. But what I love about this book is that it's not trying to hide the pain of death from the reader, you. John Green doesn't choose to neglect the truth that people die, people leave, we move on. He didn't choose to ignore it and simply write a sappy fairy tale where everything goes "right." He addressed it head on, and lets us know through his characters that it's possible to get over deaths. He let's us know that when somebody we love leaves us, we are not alone suffering through this stage of mourning. Another thing I fell in love with this book were the philosophical meanings behind each chapter, each page, paragraph, sentence, word. Everything had a meaning. "The real heroes anyways aren't the people doing things; the real heroes are the people NOTICING things, paying attention." -The Fault in Our Stars, John Green
          • candyexpress
            candyexpressMonday, April 10, 2017 at 5:46 pm55 starsFeatured
            This was just an amazing book. Words just can't begin to describe how deeply the words on the page drove into my heart. The craft of John Green was something I fell in love with, and his ability to shape the words into just what he wanted giving the reader a better image was thrilling. The characters seemed so real. Everything realistic, beautiful, crystal clear. I found myself falling head over heals for so many characters in just pages of getting to know them. When their hearts ached and they cried, I found myself doing the same. But what I love about this book is that it's not trying to hide the pain of death from the reader, you. John Green doesn't choose to neglect the truth that people die, people leave, we move on. He didn't choose to ignore it and simply write a sappy fairy tale where everything goes "right." He addressed it head on, and lets us know through his characters that it's possible to get over deaths. He let's us know that when somebody we love leaves us, we are not alone suffering through this stage of mourning. Another thing I fell in love with this book were the philosophical meanings behind each chapter, each page, paragraph, sentence, word. Everything had a meaning. "The real heroes anyways aren't the people doing things; the real heroes are the people NOTICING things, paying attention." -The Fault in Our Stars, John Green
            • lemonade11
              lemonade11Thursday, March 30, 2017 at 6:09 am
              This is my school's "FAVORITE" book.
              • angelisaWednesday, March 29, 2017 at 12:39 pm
                this book is life
                • cleverone21
                  cleverone21Friday, December 30, 2016 at 12:35 pm55 stars
                  This book is a romantic drama but has some very sad parts.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • jay-j
                    jay-jSaturday, December 17, 2016 at 7:25 pm55 stars
                    I love this book it is so romantic and there is this girl that has health problems but she falls in love with this boy and etc.
                    • dancerfancyfun
                      dancerfancyfunFriday, November 18, 2016 at 10:35 am
                      I really want to read this book. It sounds really interesting. However, I'd just like to know what age/grade level it's intended for. Thanks

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      olopolobear125

                      Despite how many pages it has De...
                      Zac Power #2: Deep Waters

                      jeffdaboss
                      jeffdaboss wrote:

                      For those who have read the enti...
                      Middle School: Escape to Australia

                      jeffdaboss
                      jeffdaboss wrote:

                      This comic book is pretty medioc...
                      5 Worlds Book 1: The Sand Warrior

                      olopolobear125

                      I think shouldn't you be in sch...
                      "Shouldn't You Be in School?" (A...