In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life--and she's really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it's what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath's sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can't let go. She doesn't want to.
Now that they're going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn't want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She's got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can't stop worrying about her dad, who's loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?
Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on May 12, 2015 by St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN-10: 1250073804
ISBN-13: 9781250073808
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • leecifur
    leecifurSunday, October 23, 2016 at 10:55 am
    Enderwiggen, I saw that you wanted to read this book. IT IS AMAZING!!!!!! You should read it. :)
    • demosthenes
      demosthenesSaturday, November 19, 2016 at 6:37 pm
      Thanks! My friend is actually buying me Eleanor and Park for Christmas-she had let me borrow it and i loved it- and she just bought this and when she finishes she said she would let me borrow it!!! YAY!
    • shadowqueen1220
      shadowqueen1220Saturday, July 2, 2016 at 6:30 pm55 starsFeatured
      Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell is absolutely amazing, With its instantly loveable characters and its realistic struggle for a real life fangirl (like myself), what's not to like? Cath Avery and her twin sister Wren are in the same college. It seems easy for Cath to enjoy college, right? However, Wren wants to break free of Cath. She chooses to get a different roommate than her sister. Cath has depended on her sister for everything. Cath has another problem. She is completely obsessed with the Simon Snow series. Being a fangirl is hard (I would know); it's a full-time job. Struggling to deal with her grades, her sister, a weird roommate and, of course, being a fangirl, can Cath survive her first year of college? I love Cath's devotion to her fandom and hope you will love it too!
      • angelay
        angelayMonday, December 28, 2015 at 8:35 pm55 stars
        I love this book because I can relate to it so easily! Rainbow Rowell makes it easy for readers to immerse themselves into Cath’s world, because so many of us readers are fans of something, and we all know what it’s like to be a fangirl. It was extremely relatable for me, because I write a lot of fanfiction in my spare time and I completely know what it’s like to be obsessed with something and kind of discriminated because of what I’m interested in. This book is so underrated. It might not be suitable for younger readers as it contains more mature language, but I couldn’t stop reading this book. The reader can follow Cath’s journey throughout the book as she transfers from an introverted freshman to a more mature and confident college student without letting go of what she really loves. I admire Cath’s attitude a lot because she’s stubborn about her passions and doesn’t let anything get in the way of her writing. She’s also very hardworking and concentrates on her schoolwork in spite of numerous distractions that include an intimidating roommate, her boyfriend who is always hanging around, and a guy in her writing class that doesn’t seem to care about her. I totally recommend this book!
        • fangirl24
          fangirl24Thursday, October 22, 2015 at 4:31 pm55 starsFeatured
          this book really showed me the world of books that are available. when i started reading this book you would never see me on the computer or out side but with my head in this book. it was so amazing that i have really gotten into rainbow rowell and have read some really good books by them such as fangirl and eleanor and park. ~charlotte
          • jbanas17Friday, October 9, 2015 at 6:09 am
            I really liked this book. It is a fun, relatable story. Fangirl is a great story about a girl who is going to be independent for the first time but doesn't want to grow up. The journey and how she grows throughout the story is entertaining especially with her roommate and sister. This book is a sort of long but I finished it quickly because it is hard to put down. Definitely recommend.
            • katniss74
              katniss74Tuesday, June 30, 2015 at 10:28 am
              i want it now! finally they have a book to describe me!
              • coooooolFriday, May 15, 2015 at 5:53 am
                this book looks cool i am going to read it today today is friday
                • buckner123
                  buckner123Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 7:13 am55 stars
                  I recommend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • buckner123
                    buckner123Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 7:12 am55 stars
                    I think this book might be a little good but if you don't reply and tell me why.
                    • wallflowxrs
                      wallflowxrsWednesday, October 8, 2014 at 6:15 pm55 stars
                      This was an easy and enjoyable read. It had interesting characters that you can't help but love. I definitely recommend it. :)

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      Final battle is Dark Forest vs L...
                      Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (W...

                      thenoobquax

                      Rusty walks around finding Grayp...
                      Warriors: Into the Wild

                      thenoobquax

                      How do you actually like Firesta...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...