Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a6.046597

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!

Mirror, mirror, on the wall.
Who is the Fairest of them all?

Pure evil has a name, hides behind a mask of deceit, and uses her "glamour" to gain power. But who is Queen Levana? Long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress in The Lunar Chronicles, Levana lived a very different story―a story that has never been told . . . until now.
New York Times –bestselling author Marissa Meyer reveals the story behind her fascinating villain in Fairest, an unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes a special full-color image of Levana's castle and an excerpt from Winter, the exciting conclusion to The Lunar Chronicles.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on January 27, 2015 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250060559
ISBN-13: 9781250060556
14 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kgautam
    kgautamThursday, May 30, 2019 at 10:00 am44 stars
    really enjoyed this story about levana . it gives the background story of someone who was born without any evil in her, just like any other baby and how she became such a villian
    • kgautam
      kgautamWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 10:50 am44 stars
      really enjoyed this story about levana and how she became such a villian.
      • septembergirl
        septembergirlTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 6:46 pm55 stars
        This is such a great series such a good idea. I got this book from the library I'm just have to wait until I finish "Cress".
        • victory
          victoryWednesday, March 28, 2018 at 6:08 pm55 stars
          this is the best book in the world because it shows you the different ways someone can be racist and that sometimes you need to see past the outside and look into the inside of a person.
          • bige71148
            bige71148Thursday, June 29, 2017 at 9:12 am55 stars
            An amazing addition and backstory to the collection!
            • mamabird
              mamabirdWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 4:59 pm
              What a great background on the royal Lunar family! Mariska Meyer did an excellent job expanding on an already amazing book series. I feel like I was there through it all happening!
              • kell-bell
                kell-bellWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 6:52 pm11 star
                I thought that this was an awful book. I had read 1-3 before reading Levana's story, and it was sick. I had to see into her twisted mind and watch her use and kill people. I did not like this at all, and thought that the back story could have been written better.
                • scarletwitch
                  scarletwitchTuesday, October 11, 2016 at 12:04 pm22 stars
                  I was very disappointed with this book. I was kind of hoping that explaining her back story would make me like the evil queen more, but I actually liked her less. It was still okay and one that you should definitely read along with the series, but my least favorite by far. Note: read this one BEFORE Winter.
                  • hollowitz
                    hollowitzFriday, September 30, 2016 at 3:44 am
                    I can't wait to learn who Levana really is!
                    • skelley2337
                      skelley2337Monday, March 7, 2016 at 8:44 pm55 stars
                      This is the ending to the best series [The Lunar Chronicles] by: marissa meyer. i love this series because i love the different view of the classic fairy tales.( i don't know to feel sorry for levana or rip her heart out and feed it to sharks GO TEAM CINDER!). I wish it was longer but fun fact it was written in only 8 days which i think is cool.