Trespassers will be turned to stone

For centuries, mystical creatures of all description were gathered to a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary is one of the last strongholds of true magic. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite . . .

Kendra and her brother, Seth, have no idea their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. Inside the gated woods, ancient laws keep order among greedy trolls, mischievous satyrs, plotting witches, spiteful imps, and jealous fairies. However, when the rules get broken, powerful forces of evil are unleashed, forcing Kendra and Seth to face the greatest challenge of their lives, to save their family, Fablehaven, and perhaps even the world.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 14, 2006 by Shadow Mountain
ISBN-10: 1590385810
ISBN-13: 9781590385814
109 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • nonstopreader
    nonstopreaderMonday, July 24, 2017 at 1:46 pm33 stars
    We also read this book in fifth grade. The series is good. It is a decent sized read/book. I really recommend this/ these book(s) to anyone who like make believe or bigger books.
    • casgirl
      casgirlThursday, July 13, 2017 at 10:52 am33 stars
      this was a odd sort of book , not really the sort of thing that i normally read. it was . . . interesting , in a good way i think.
      • annette
        annetteFriday, June 9, 2017 at 2:01 pm33 stars
        This is a fantasy book that was very interesting about have magical abilities and protecting the magical creatures of Fablehaven. I thought the book was interesting and I would like to continue the series, if I can find the remaining books.
        • bobelly
          bobellyMonday, June 5, 2017 at 8:06 am55 stars
          It was a scary book (I like that) because the forest in the back yard had all sorts of mystery and did strange things. It had adventure and a witch and a lot of magic and magical creatures but it also had some real life too and that is why I recommend it. Overall I just liked it.
          • kathead
            katheadSunday, June 4, 2017 at 10:03 am55 stars
            Fablehaven is a place where brother and sister Seth and Kendra must go for 17 days while their parents are out on a cruise. To make matter's worse, Fablehaven is run by an old man. Their grandpa to be exact. But while they were expecting a boring trip with their grandpa, something almost magical happens.
            • kroncer
              kroncerSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 10:02 am44 stars
              This was a decent read. It's about siblings Kendra and Seth whose parents go off on a cruise. This results in them visiting their Grandfather Sorenson’s house for summer vacation. However, it ends up being far from a normal vacation. It'll be one involving magical creatures but also an evil force. This book had me laughing at times, and it became very exciting towards the end. I recommend this to fantasy fans.
              • kroncer
                kroncerFriday, June 2, 2017 at 3:58 pm44 stars
                This was a decent read. It's about siblings Kendra and Seth whose parents go off on a cruise. This results in them visiting their Grandfather Sorenson’s house for summer vacation. However, it ends up being far from a normal vacation. It'll be one involving magical creatures but also an evil force. This book had me laughing at times, and it became very exciting towards the end. I recommend this to fantasy fans.
                • cobrazeus10
                  cobrazeus10Friday, June 2, 2017 at 10:35 am44 stars
                  I thought this book got off to a little bit of a slow start, but picked up as it moved along. It had awsome characters and cool creatures. By the end of the book I was so excited about the rest of the series that I read them in about a week. Great book!!!
                  • olliebob
                    olliebobMonday, May 29, 2017 at 2:32 pm55 stars
                    I received the entire Fablehaven series for Christmas from my mom. I admit I was a little skeptical at first, but I started to read and found I couldn't put it down if I tried! Seth and Kendra Sorensen go to stay with their grandparents while their parents are on a cruise. However when they get there they are warned not to go into the woods because of 'ticks'. The birds and insects act strange and are seen drinking from a bowl of milk left outside by Dale. Stranger still, Kendra is given a key by her grandpa. She finds a journal with a lock, and finds inside, the words, 'Drink the milk'. So cautious Kendra gets her careless younger brother to test the milk for her. What they find is another world filled with fairies and nymphs, satyrs and even a witch. The kids are told to stay indoors on a festival night, where all the magical creatures allowed to run free. But can the children keep to the rules and do what they're told? I LOVED this book! It may be even better than Harry Potter! I recommend it to absolutely everyone! Read it!
                    • readwriter
                      readwriterSaturday, May 27, 2017 at 3:37 pm55 stars
                      My friend told me about this book and it sounded really good, so I read it. It was one of the best books I've ever read. It was REALLY good. The characters were very well done, I was funny, descriptive, sad, everything I like in books. I definitely recommend this book for kids 12 and up. It might freak younger kids out.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      booklover wrote:

                      oh and witches and magic evil magic
                      Warren the 13th and The All-Seei...

                      booklover wrote:

                      this a great book for people who...
                      Warren the 13th and The All-Seei...

                      booklover wrote:

                      best book ever
                      The Lemonade War (The Lemonade W...