Fablehaven

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.875178
For centuries, mystical creatures of all description were gathered to a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary survives today as one of the last strongholds of true magic in a cynical world. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite...

Kendra and her brother Seth have no idea their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. Inside the gated woods, ancient laws give relative order among greedy trolls, mischievous satyrs, plotting witches, spiteful imps, and jealous fairies. However, when the rules get broken, an arcane evil is unleashed, forcing Kendra and Seth to face the greatest challenge of their lives. To save her family, Fablehaven, and perhaps the world, Kendra must find the courage to do what she fears most.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 14, 2006 by Shadow Mountain
ISBN-10: 1590385810
ISBN-13: 9781590385814
86 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • pickedsalt9881
    pickedsalt9881Sunday, April 23, 2017 at 12:36 am
    These books are amazing. They keep you up all night reading and when your eyes start to droop and u know that u have to go to sleep, all u do is wonder about what will happen next. I started to read these books in 3rd grade and got to the 4th book. I didn't quite get it then and so I picked up the book again in 5th grade. I am on the 4th book again right now and it has only taken me a month to get here. They suck u in, then pour u out full of emotion. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone who loves books with exitment, fear, sadness, adventure, and love.
    • awesomeanna10
      awesomeanna10Friday, February 3, 2017 at 5:37 pm
      I have read the entire series and almost cried many times but, this series is definitely has the best books I have ever read! I DEFINITELY recommend it to 5th grade and up.
      • hollowitzThursday, January 19, 2017 at 4:00 am
        Looks really good
        • may12
          may12Wednesday, January 18, 2017 at 9:06 amFeatured
          The title of this book is fablehaven written by Brandon Mull. Fablehaven is a really good series about siblings Kendra and Seth Sorenson. They have to go to their grandma’s and grandpa’s house while their parents are on a cruise. When they get there, their grandpa says not to go in the woods or the barn. Then their grandpa gives Kendra a locked journal and hints to 6 keys to unlock it. When they find the key to unlock it, they find the words ‘drink the milk’. They later realize when they drink the milk that Dale (the groundskeeper) leaves outside, they can see the magical creatures such as witches, fairies, nymphs, satyrs and centaurs. They learn that it is dangerous to go in the woods or outside at night. My favorite part of the book is when all the monsters come out to the yard and one monster makes an illusion that looks like a baby. Then Seth lets it in the window, but as soon as it gets inside the room it turns into its original form. Luckily, before Kendra and Seth went to bed, their grandpa sprinkled magic golden dust on the ground around the bed. Then the monster could not attack them because it could not pass the golden dust which acted like a forcefield up and around the bed. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy with magic and monsters. If you do, trust me, the series is really good. If it does not sound good in the beginning, keep reading; it gets better.
          • Book GirlTuesday, November 1, 2016 at 1:08 pm
            I loved this book. 5 stars!!!
            • rrwwnn
              rrwwnnSunday, September 25, 2016 at 6:30 pm
              This book was really good.It is about Kendra and Seth who find out that their grandpa is the caretaker of Fablehaven. Then, a mysterious evil is unleashed and Kendra and Seth must fight to save their family, Fablehaven ,and the world!I recommend.
              • booksdd
                booksddSaturday, September 17, 2016 at 4:11 pm55 stars
                Fablehaven is a story about Kendra and her brother Seth, and they have no idea that their Grandpa Sorenson is the ruler of the mythical forest: Fablehaven. Imps, fairies and trolls live at that place. But when someone breaks the rules, Kendra and her brother has to face the greatest challenge ever.
                • sr05885
                  sr05885Thursday, September 8, 2016 at 10:28 am55 stars
                  This book was really good.It is about Kendra and Seth who find out that their grandpa is the caretaker of Fablehaven.Then, a mysterious evil is unleashed and Kendra and Seth must fight to save their family,Fablehaven,and the world!I recommend.
                  • coreycole
                    coreycoleWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 11:36 am33 stars
                    this was hard for me to concentrate on. it was a good story but it just seemed to take so long for me. i might try to read it again next summer when my mom says my book tastes will mature i guess
                    • memoiloveit
                      memoiloveitWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 7:13 am44 stars
                      Fablehaven is a really captivating and descriptive book. It has a lot of mythical creatures and magic so anyone who likes fantasy and adventure combined will like this book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      nerdyunicorn

                      This book is filled with action....
                      The Shadows (The Books of Elsewh...

                      sydnaaaaaaaay wrote:

                      this is a really cute book i lov...
                      125 Pet Rescues: From Pound to P...

                      lokidaftr87

                      Its a very good book because my ...
                      Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asg...