Trespassers will be turned to stone

For centuries, mystical creatures of all description were gathered to a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary is one of the last strongholds of true magic. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite . . .

Kendra and her brother, Seth, have no idea their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. Inside the gated woods, ancient laws keep order among greedy trolls, mischievous satyrs, plotting witches, spiteful imps, and jealous fairies. However, when the rules get broken, powerful forces of evil are unleashed, forcing Kendra and Seth to face the greatest challenge of their lives, to save their family, Fablehaven, and perhaps even the world.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on June 14, 2006 by Shadow Mountain
ISBN-10: 1590385810
ISBN-13: 9781590385814
117 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • addie_up_the_nu
    addie_up_the_nuThursday, January 4, 2018 at 12:25 pm44 stars
    this is a good book for you if you are in to fairy-tail creatures , folk stories and/or mythology. This adventure book surprised me at every turn . . (Updated about 24 minutes ago)
    • addie_up_the_nu
      addie_up_the_nuThursday, January 4, 2018 at 12:00 pm44 stars
      This is a good book for you if you are in to fairy-tail creatures , folk stories and/or mythology. This adventure book surprised me at every turn . .
      • unicornstar
        unicornstarSaturday, December 23, 2017 at 7:45 am55 stars
        I started reading Fablehaven when I got it for my birthday and was instantly transfixed. It’s a really great book and I have recommended it to all of my friends. You should definitely read it!
        • tori3ghoul
          tori3ghoulTuesday, November 28, 2017 at 10:33 am44 stars
          A friend gave this book to me for my birthday last year. Siblings, Kendra and Seth visit their grandpa's mansion. After being introduced to a colorful playroom, the kids are told to only stay in the room and yard. But after breaking a rule, they discover amazing creatures.
          • dojisesyzi
            dojisesyziFriday, October 20, 2017 at 8:03 am55 stars
            I think it's a great book If you like fast paced mythological books. I think it has a lot of action and adventure, just make sure you have a strong stomach.
            • callie_b
              callie_bFriday, September 15, 2017 at 10:48 am55 stars
              Kendra and Seth are dropped off at their mysterious grandparent's house when their parent go on a cruise. But they never expected that their grandparents' remote property in Connecticut would be fun, not to mention magical... Kendra and Seth are bored. Really bored. Until one day, they discover a special milk that's attracting lots of butterflies in the garden. They try it and, poof! The butterflies are suddenly fairies! Turns out, whoever drinks this special milk can see them. Yep, that's right folks, Fablehaven is home to fairies and other mystical creatures! But Kendra and Seth cannot tell anyone, or else Fablehaven will be destroyed permanently. But an evil phantom is amongst the property, and Kendra and Seth's grandpa has been taken! It's up to them (and their grandmother who was recently turned into a human again after being a chicken for a while--long story :D) to save him and Fablehaven. This book is incredible! I love it so much! It's fantasy, comedy, mystery and fun all wrapped up into one book! It is the first book in the series, so I can't wait to continue reading! 5/5 stars, I give it a major recommendation!
              • sanchita123
                sanchita123Sunday, September 10, 2017 at 12:04 pm33 stars
                This book was enjoyable, but not one of my favorites. The storyline is good, but I found the parts in the beginning and some of the middle to be boring. I would recommend this book to people who liked reading bridge to terabithia because to me they are similar.
                • georgiasilver
                  georgiasilverSaturday, August 12, 2017 at 9:08 pm44 stars
                  An adventurous and epic book, Fablehaven and the rest of the series are a very entertaining and magical read. Readers will follow on with this truly satisfying and interesting adventure.
                  • nonstopreader
                    nonstopreaderMonday, July 24, 2017 at 1:46 pm33 stars
                    We also read this book in fifth grade. The series is good. It is a decent sized read/book. I really recommend this/ these book(s) to anyone who like make believe or bigger books.
                    • casgirl
                      casgirlThursday, July 13, 2017 at 10:52 am33 stars
                      this was a odd sort of book , not really the sort of thing that i normally read. it was . . . interesting , in a good way i think.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Braelynn Nicole wrote:

                      This is an awesome book for kids...
                      How to Draw Emojis: A Step by St...

                      jtd
                      jtd wrote:

                      Best book series ever
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      cool wrote:

                      this book is cool and the movie
                      Wonder

                      catslovewaffles

                      Karen is facing some hard change...
                      It's Not the End of the World