Download FREE Teacher's Guide

Adventure, danger, and a thrilling global mission await 12-year-old Cruz Coronado as he joins an elite school for explorers.

Cruz leaves his tranquil home in Hawaii to join 23 talented kids from around the globe to train at the Explorer Academy with the world's leading scientists to become the next generation of great explorers. But for Cruz, there's more at stake. No sooner has he arrived at the Academy than he discovers that his family has a mysterious past with the organization that could jeopardize his future. In the midst of codebreaking and cool classes, new friends and augmented reality expeditions, Cruz must tackle the biggest question of all: Who is out to get him, and why?

Readers can get in on the excitement with puzzles and codes embedded throughout.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 4, 2018 by Under the Stars
ISBN-10: 1426331592
ISBN-13: 9781426331596
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kgbradshaw
    kgbradshawSunday, May 19, 2019 at 12:51 pm55 stars
    This book deserves more than 5 stars. It is full of suspense, adventure and cool technology. Most of the story sounds futuristic, but in the back you will find information on how it is all real. I really like the way the story is written, with the plot constantly twisting and turning. Just wow.
    • raindrop07
      raindrop07Sunday, May 19, 2019 at 9:35 am55 stars
      I really loved this book! It was thrilling, inspiring, and full of adventure! I would definitely recommend it!
      • read2learn
        read2learnSaturday, February 16, 2019 at 2:08 pm33 stars
        I was actually one of the reviewers and got to read the book before it was published. Very cool, but kinda too short.
        • fortnite456
          fortnite456Saturday, December 29, 2018 at 3:36 pm55 stars
          i love this book ive read it like a million times!
          • #coolcatTuesday, November 13, 2018 at 6:06 am
            It is so sad on the last page
            • THE READERFriday, November 2, 2018 at 11:17 am
              I could not put the book down and I am addicted to video games.
              • jeffdaboss
                jeffdabossThursday, October 18, 2018 at 5:07 am55 stars
                Explorer Academy is a very good start to a series. It’s about Cruz Coronado, a 12-year old from Hawaii who is accepted into Explorer Academy. It is a prestigious and selective school where the most talented children study to become explorers. When he arrives, Cruz meets kids with various talents, from futuristic scientists to acrobatic athletes. While studying to be an elite explorer and making allies, he encounters strange things that seem to threaten his life. He tries to excel in his various classes while trying to understand the mystery surrounding him. This book is very interesting, and it gives a refreshing and realistic take on talented kids.
                • callie_b
                  callie_bTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 4:19 pm55 starsFeatured
                  WOW!!! That was my only reaction after reading this book! Just WOW! This book totally surprised me. Cruz Coronado lives in Hawaii and loves to surf. At least, he LIVED in Hawaii. The very exclusive Explorer Academy had accepted his application to attend... in WASHINGTON, D.C.! His deceased mother had gone when she was his age, and Cruz feels she would be proud of him going. At the Academy, they train kids and teens about how to explore. Pretty cool, right? Cruz definitely thinks so! There's augmented reality rooms to simulate what life will be like when they set sail to take an ACTUAL EXPLORATION! YEAH! They get to actually go out into the world and explore using the skills they learned at the Explorer Academy! Sounds like my kind of school!! But something sinister seems to be going on amidst all of the hubbub. Nebula (a medicine company) wants to stop the explorers from finding a special substance from jellyfish that can cure every single disease in the world, which would eventually put Nebula out of service (because no one is getting sick and buying their medicine)! LIKE, WHO WOULD DO THAT?!? Nebula is the DEFINITION of evil! And a strange man keeps popping up in Cruz's life... more like following him! Why is all of this happening to Cruz? Find out in Explorer Academy: The Nebula Secret. This book is spectacular! I loved it because it had fun codes, and awesome story and writing style, and showed how cool exploring is! I would absolutely LOVE to attend Explorer Academy! This book was overall FABULOUS! I recommend this book to anyone, at any age!
                  • marinette1991
                    marinette1991Monday, January 7, 2019 at 1:29 pm55 stars
                    I know you're TOTALLY right
                    • leanecool
                      leanecoolSaturday, December 29, 2018 at 12:21 pm55 stars
                      Congrats!
                    • ToriTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 9:36 am
                      Really exciting and suspenseful
                      • lewendowski1
                        lewendowski1Monday, September 24, 2018 at 3:47 am44 stars
                        At the end, they almost kill him underwater. At the beginning it is boring but wait till you are a few pages in when exciment begins.