Download FREE Teacher's Guide

Adventure, danger, and a thrilling global mission await 12-year-old Cruz Coronado as he joins an elite school for explorers.

Cruz leaves his tranquil home in Hawaii to join 23 talented kids from around the globe to train at the Explorer Academy with the world's leading scientists to become the next generation of great explorers. But for Cruz, there's more at stake. No sooner has he arrived at the Academy than he discovers that his family has a mysterious past with the organization that could jeopardize his future. In the midst of codebreaking and cool classes, new friends and augmented reality expeditions, Cruz must tackle the biggest question of all: Who is out to get him, and why?

Readers can get in on the excitement with puzzles and codes embedded throughout.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 4, 2018 by Under the Stars
ISBN-10: 1426331592
ISBN-13: 9781426331596
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • #coolcatTuesday, November 13, 2018 at 6:06 am
    It is so sad on the last page
    • THE READERFriday, November 2, 2018 at 11:17 am
      I could not put the book down and I am addicted to video games.
      • jeffdaboss
        jeffdabossThursday, October 18, 2018 at 5:07 am55 stars
        Explorer Academy is a very good start to a series. It’s about Cruz Coronado, a 12-year old from Hawaii who is accepted into Explorer Academy. It is a prestigious and selective school where the most talented children study to become explorers. When he arrives, Cruz meets kids with various talents, from futuristic scientists to acrobatic athletes. While studying to be an elite explorer and making allies, he encounters strange things that seem to threaten his life. He tries to excel in his various classes while trying to understand the mystery surrounding him. This book is very interesting, and it gives a refreshing and realistic take on talented kids.
        • callie_b
          callie_bTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 4:19 pm55 starsFeatured
          WOW!!! That was my only reaction after reading this book! Just WOW! This book totally surprised me. Cruz Coronado lives in Hawaii and loves to surf. At least, he LIVED in Hawaii. The very exclusive Explorer Academy had accepted his application to attend... in WASHINGTON, D.C.! His deceased mother had gone when she was his age, and Cruz feels she would be proud of him going. At the Academy, they train kids and teens about how to explore. Pretty cool, right? Cruz definitely thinks so! There's augmented reality rooms to simulate what life will be like when they set sail to take an ACTUAL EXPLORATION! YEAH! They get to actually go out into the world and explore using the skills they learned at the Explorer Academy! Sounds like my kind of school!! But something sinister seems to be going on amidst all of the hubbub. Nebula (a medicine company) wants to stop the explorers from finding a special substance from jellyfish that can cure every single disease in the world, which would eventually put Nebula out of service (because no one is getting sick and buying their medicine)! LIKE, WHO WOULD DO THAT?!? Nebula is the DEFINITION of evil! And a strange man keeps popping up in Cruz's life... more like following him! Why is all of this happening to Cruz? Find out in Explorer Academy: The Nebula Secret. This book is spectacular! I loved it because it had fun codes, and awesome story and writing style, and showed how cool exploring is! I would absolutely LOVE to attend Explorer Academy! This book was overall FABULOUS! I recommend this book to anyone, at any age!
          • ToriTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 9:36 am
            Really exciting and suspenseful
            • lewendowski1
              lewendowski1Monday, September 24, 2018 at 3:47 am44 stars
              At the end, they almost kill him underwater. At the beginning it is boring but wait till you are a few pages in when exciment begins.
              • Thunder4546Wednesday, September 19, 2018 at 6:56 am
                It was an amazing book
                • RasinduTuesday, September 18, 2018 at 11:00 pm
                  When Cruz gets in to Explorer Academy he discovers an ancient mystery about his mom! While they go on many missions something is very wrong, the Nebula (a drug company) wants to kill Cruz and they also killed his mom too! Now when Cruz goes on a series of adventures with friends, he finds many clues and discovers beyond what he knows! Now Cruz has a lot of questions, who is the man that keeps following him? What do the Nebula want from him? READ THIS BOOK TO FIND OUT!!!!! this looks cool! This book is awesome and I am so jealous of Cruz right now, If you are interested in codes and puzzle solving there might not be a better book than this the best part is that it has pictures in it which made it so easy to visualize what was happening and over all i love this book. When 12-year-old Cruz Coronado is picked to join Explorer Academy to one day become a scientist everything seems perfect. He and his bunk mate get along, and classes go well, but when he finds someone is out to get him things go from great to weird. Who is out to get him is the question that fills his head. Hidden ciphers and codes, plus adventure and more is packed into this book. Is he safe?, or will he have to leave the academy? Find out in Explorer Academy: The Nebula Secret. This book is great! There was a picture of this chart that had symbols that means the alphabet.There were lots of codes in the book. It was fun to break the code and see the message. I can't wait to read the second book in the series, The Falcon's Feather!
                  • manMonday, September 17, 2018 at 7:59 am
                    cool i like it
                    • OofSunday, September 16, 2018 at 10:11 am
                      Wait is it just me or leancool’s comment is an entire copy paste of other people’s comments... ?

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Elizabeth67 wrote:

                      We love this show and the episod...
                      The Loud House #5: “The Man with...

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      I can't really write a proper re...
                      The Unwanteds

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      This book is great!! Defiantly r...
                      Echoes of Us (Hybrid Chronicles)

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      This book is great!! Defiantly r...
                      Once We Were

                      Our Apps and Plugins