Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.5118163
Sophie befriends the mythical Alicorn--and puts her mysterious powers to the test--in this enchanting sequel to Keeper of the Lost Cities.
Sophie is settling in nicely to her new home and her new life in the world of the lost cities. And it helps that living at Havenfield means getting to spend time with rare, precious species--including the first female Alicorn, who shows herself to Sophie and trusts no one but her.

Sophie is tasked with helping to train the magical creature so that the Alicorn can be revealed to the people of the lost cities as a sign of hope, and Sophie wants to believe that the recent drama and anguish is gone for good.

But the secrets buried deep in Sophie's memories remain, and before long she's back in incredible danger, risking everything to find the answers to questions that could save not only her life, but the life of someone close to her...
Paperback, 592 pages
Published on August 5, 2014 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445971
ISBN-13: 9781442445970
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lunalovegood8
    lunalovegood8Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 10:30 am55 stars
    This was a really good book. Sophie goes on many adventures with Silveny, and learns more about herself. The characters were great, and the story was very mysterious. It was really good!
    • 5uSunday, August 11, 2019 at 12:50 pm
      love it
      • kgautam
        kgautamFriday, May 31, 2019 at 10:29 am55 stars
        another fantastic novel by shannon messenger. i really liked the development of sophies relationships with multiple people in this novel, and i could not put down this book!
        • dancindolphin
          dancindolphinThursday, May 9, 2019 at 5:34 am55 stars
          I liked the first book so much, that I wanted to continue. So I read Exile. It was awesome!!!!!! I totally recommend this book.
          • cookieplayer
            cookieplayerMonday, November 12, 2018 at 5:11 pm44 stars
            Sophie Foster thought she was safe in Havenfield. A year after moving into the magical elf world and settling in with her adoptive parents Grady and Edaline, something incredible happens. Sophie finds the first female alicorn in the elven world! The alicorn, Silveny, has just been given a new home in Havenfield and it is up to Sophie to train her. Also, surprisingly, Silveny can transmit thoughts into Sophie's head. As Sophie starts receiving messages from a mysterious group called The Black Swans, she starts noticing strange things and people are starting to think that she is defective. After a trip to Exile with Alden goes wild, Sophie has to figure out all out all the mysteries. P.S- Be prepared for Keefes "funny jokes" ;)
            • hiyaworld14
              hiyaworld14Thursday, July 19, 2018 at 1:08 pm
              I'm so excited to read this!! I just my library would hurry up and get it shipped!! xD
              • emmaplays2546
                emmaplays2546Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at 9:16 am55 stars
                Oh, my, god! Another really good book. I love this series, it is so good.
                • cutieswirl
                  cutieswirlSaturday, December 3, 2016 at 7:00 am55 stars
                  She is in the elvin world and she has to go and save her strangth before she looses it.
                  • midnightluna
                    midnightlunaMonday, June 6, 2016 at 12:34 pm55 stars
                    This one is the sequel to Keeper of the Lost Cities!! You get to meet Silveny, laugh at Keefe's jokes, and get deeper into the world of the Elves! So grab your Alicorn, and go read Exile!
                    • tadcool
                      tadcoolSunday, December 27, 2015 at 9:43 am
                      I hated fantasy books, but reading shannon messenger books made totally read here books.