Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.5118163
Sophie befriends the mythical Alicorn--and puts her mysterious powers to the test--in this enchanting sequel to Keeper of the Lost Cities.
Sophie is settling in nicely to her new home and her new life in the world of the lost cities. And it helps that living at Havenfield means getting to spend time with rare, precious species--including the first female Alicorn, who shows herself to Sophie and trusts no one but her.

Sophie is tasked with helping to train the magical creature so that the Alicorn can be revealed to the people of the lost cities as a sign of hope, and Sophie wants to believe that the recent drama and anguish is gone for good.

But the secrets buried deep in Sophie's memories remain, and before long she's back in incredible danger, risking everything to find the answers to questions that could save not only her life, but the life of someone close to her...
Hardcover, 576 pages
Published on October 1, 2013 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442445963
ISBN-13: 9781442445963
39 Book Reviews
  • sokeefe_forever
    sokeefe_foreverSunday, June 13, 2021 at 4:59 pm55 starsFeatured
    This is the second book in the "Keeper Of The Lost Cities" series. It is an amazing book and I recommend it for ages 9-16! Make sure it's approved by your parents before reading it because there is some scenes on the more violent side. Summary: Sophie Foster has to go to exile to preform an impirtant task with Alden Vacker. Things end up going very wrong and she doesn't know what to do! She ends up needing to go to the Black Swan for help, but she doesn't know if the Black Swan are the villains, or her friends. Things go wrong yet again, but Sophie finds a way to save the day! There's a lesson we can learn from this book like we can with many others, and that lesson is that age doesn't matter! You can change the world in a good way even if it's just by doing small things, because small things lead to being able to do even bigger, more impactful things!
    • donthavedog
      donthavedogWednesday, May 26, 2021 at 3:30 pm55 starsFeatured
      Have you ever heard about alicorns? Well an alicorn is a horse with wings and a horn that can teleport— just one of the many magical beings that you’ll read about in “Keeper of the Lost Cities: Book 2”. Sophie Foster finds an alicorn and the alicorn transmits that her name is Silveny. When Sophie finished getting her mind fixed she almost got kidnapped again. Luckily the Black Swan stepped in and helped her. During the process Silveny hurt her wing. Sophie and Silveny were supposed to make a grand opening to the sanctuary. Sophie realized she could teleport so she rode on Silveny and teleported her there.When Sophie was moving up a level, the Foxfire always had a party. When it was the upper grades turn Alden saw Whylie and he fainted. This happened because Alden had a broken mind. Elves thought no one can heal a broken mind but Sophie saved Alden because she was made that way. A theme I saw in the book was “never give up” when Sophie saw that Alden had a broken mind. She started crying in the beginning. She kept getting told that no one can fix a broken mind. But when the Black Swan said that she could fix her mind issues so that she could fix others like Alden and Prentice. She went and they said that they made her heal minds so right after she got limbulim she had a bad allergic reaction. Sophie still kept fighting because she wasn’t going to leave Alden like that after what he did for her— she never gave up. Now I am going to tell you about a few characters. Sophie Foster is mostly good at everything. She has many powers and that is rare. Dex is Sophie’s best friend. He is smart and people say that his parents are a bad match. Keefe is an Empath and always has been at Sophie’s side and he could feel Sophie’s emotions. Some buildings in the elvin world are similar to the world we live in. In the Elf world there are Gates, Big houses, Gardens and Caves. A part of the book that can be improved is when Sophie gets fixed and kidnappers try to get her. Wouldn’t the Black swan know already because they know things right away? That’s just one of the things that confused me and distracted me from the plot. Overall, Exile was confusing but still a good book even though it has some rough spots. I still give it 5 stars because it is a very adventurous book with all kinds of exciting events, like hunting down bigfoot, flying on an alicorn, or going into exile. I also really enjoyed the diversity of characters and the important themes portrayed in the novel. In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this book to kids my age around 9-10 years old.
      • teagytornado101
        teagytornado101Wednesday, January 13, 2021 at 7:04 am55 stars
        This book was awesome! Sophie foster is by far my favorite Character. And I have read books 1-5 and there are a lot of good characters. I rate this book 5 stars for sure! And....A ALICORN?! Yay!!!!!
        • sokeefe_forever
          sokeefe_foreverSaturday, June 19, 2021 at 10:55 am55 stars
          I have read books 1-5 too! But I know you said you've read them all now lol
        • phantasticgus
          phantasticgusMonday, August 31, 2020 at 8:55 am44 stars
          I absolutely loved this book—I cannot describe it in words. The plot was great, all the characters were enjoyable, and overall, this was very well written. Enthralling and filled with excitement, the second book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities series is one-of-a-kind...and will have you on the edge of your seat in anticipation.———Review: Sophie Foster finally knows where she belongs. After finding a home at Havenfield, an animal preserve, she has learned to accept her telepathic abilities and her destiny as an elf. The Lost Cities have now become a safe, beautiful place for her. But more secrets lie in wait. When she finds an Alicorn, a species which was believed to be extinct, she is asked to train it—so she can show everyone in the Lost Cities that it is a sign of hope. But terrible memories still haunt Sophie...and soon, she might have to take a risk that will put everyone around her in danger. Can she and the Alicorn team up to save the Lost Cities? Read this book to find out!
          • kkgautamm
            kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 12:43 pm55 stars
            alden's mind break made me so sad, and fitz' anger issues don't really improve throughout the series. sophie and keefe actually become closer in this book and you can tell that he reallllly likes her, which is adorable. I'm very glad that he went with sophie to get her abilities healed.
            • dream_beyond
              dream_beyondTuesday, July 28, 2020 at 1:42 am55 stars
              So good!
              • bsc
                bscMonday, May 25, 2020 at 9:38 am33 stars
                This book was good. Sophie finds a unicorn! She makes friends with it and can read it's mind. Meanwhile, she's dealing with her powers and headaches. Someone could fix her powers for good, except... maybe they're the enemy? I give this book 3 stars.
                • blossomreader
                  blossomreaderFriday, May 8, 2020 at 8:36 am55 stars
                  I finished this book in record time becausse of how good this was! I really enjoyed it and I think others will too. This series is the best one I have read so far. This 2nd book in the Keeper of the Lost Cities starts of with Sophie in the forest. She's with her adoptive father Grady, and Sander, her body guard, as well as Dex, her best friend. Sophie finds something incredible, something so good that it resets the timeline to extinction. But that's exactly why the Bad guys strike again. After all, they don't want anyone to be happy, s they have another target, the new female alicorn, the one Sophie found. Will Sophie be able to keep the alicorn safe, and will Alden, who is struggling with guilt, recover soon? Alden is finding it hard to have to do anything with Wylie or Prentice. He is feeling guilty, and the pressure just gets worse......
                  • 4usa
                    4usaThursday, May 7, 2020 at 5:18 am55 stars
                    This is the second book in the best series ever! Sophie has been experiencing major headaches and even with two nexus bracelets is fading when light leaping!Alden ends up asking Sophie to be his guide in a mind break! Aldens mind breaks and Fitz blames Sophie for it! She comes to the conclusion that she is broken! Her and Keefe set of to find the Black Swan to see if they can fix her and if so if she can bring back Alden!
                    • nightelf
                      nightelfMonday, May 4, 2020 at 2:45 pm55 stars
                      After the perilous adventure she just went through, Sophie Foster thought it would be over. She has friends now, and a loving family. But things just don't want to go Sophie's way. After finding a new friend, and the first female Alicorn in nearly a century, evil strikes again. Sophie's kidnappers are still out there, and they're hungry for revenge. But one question still hangs in the air. Who are her kidnappers? Could there be betrayals? Are they... her friends? Is Sophie broken? With someone close to her suffering, Sophie Foster doesn't know what to do. And in a world like this, everything could be at stake. Shannon Messenger, an amazing author, has made a wonderful spin-off, and mixes all the right components onto this book. There's fantasy, magic, powers, friendship, evil, and of course, a beautifully crafted love story.