Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.468771
When Ben gets kicked out of the CIA’s spy school, he enrolls with the enemy. From New York Times bestselling author, Stuart Gibbs, this companion to the Edgar Award–nominated Spy School and Spy Camp is rife with action, adventure, and espionage.

During a spy school game of Capture the Flag, twelve-year-old Ben Ripley somehow accidentally shoots a live mortar into the principal’s office—and immediately gets himself expelled. Not long after going back to the boring old real world, Ben gets recruited by evil crime organization SPYDER.

And he accepts.

As a new student in SPYDER’s evil spy school, which trains kids to become bad guys with classes like Counter Counterespionage and Laying Low 101, Ben does some secret spying of his own. He’s acting as unofficial undercover agent, and it becomes quickly apparent that SPYDER is planning something very big—and very evil.

Ben can tell he’s a key part of the plan, but he’s not quite sure what the plan is. Can Ben figure out what SPYDER is up to—and get word to the good guys without getting caught—before it’s too late?
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 21, 2015 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1442494891
ISBN-13: 9781442494893
28 Book Reviews
  • toono
    toonoSunday, March 21, 2021 at 10:23 am44 stars
    Don’t get me wrong this book is AMAZING and you DO have to read it (along with every other book in the series) but, the Spy School series is a bit repetitive and it usually goes something like this: an evil group of people try to do something bad Ben going into the seen as bait, usually without realizing. There is an obstacle the have to get around, nobody can figure out there plan but Ben figures it at at the last minute. The world is saved! Although this is the mane gists I totally recommend.
    • jb9
      jb9Saturday, October 24, 2020 at 5:35 am44 stars
      This is such a great book and book series and you should really read this book and this series. 2020
      • blossomreader
        blossomreaderSunday, August 16, 2020 at 5:18 pm55 stars
        In this book, Ben is pretending to join forces with the evil organization, SPYDER, in order to find out what they are planning and how to stop them. Ben finds out so many things, which lead to more questions. The bad guys are...well.....nice. I loved this book and didn't see anything coming!
        • book_nook
          book_nookSunday, August 16, 2020 at 12:21 pm55 stars
          First of all Ben i snot your average middle scholar he ins a CIA agent in traning. When Ben gets expelled he joins Spyder the enemy.His time in evil spy school is in this book
          • starsabove
            starsaboveSunday, July 19, 2020 at 7:22 pm55 stars
            This time, Ben Ripley ends up right in the enemy base. He really REALLY hopes he will survive this. Luckily Erica and her grandfather just happen to be the ones that landed him there in the first place. Unluckily, one of the enemies happens to fall in love with him!
            • sylvie55555
              sylvie55555Friday, May 29, 2020 at 7:31 am55 stars
              This is a book in the spy school series written by the author Stuart Gibbs. In this book, Ben Ripley is dismayed when he find out that he is being kicked out of Spy School for a mistake he didn't make. Plus, going back to a normal life after spy school sucks. But when Ben gets an offer to join SPYDER, and attend evil spy school, he decides to do it. He's pretty sure that Erica wants him to be a double agent for the CIA and pretend that he is part of SPYDER to twart thier plans, but it will be very dangerous. Read the book to find out more! You will enjoy this book if you like mysteries and funny books! I would recommend this book to middle schoolers. Happy reading!
              • extrememsb
                extrememsbThursday, May 14, 2020 at 10:56 am44 stars
                Ben joins the evil spy school (SPYDER's school) hoping that he can work undercover for the CIA. Everyone else thinks that he has gone rouge. This book is about Ben's adventures at the Evil Spy school and about his training there. I recommend this book to anyone who likes adventures with a tiny bit of suspense!
                • bookfan2008
                  bookfan2008Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 10:21 am55 stars
                  Great book! This book is about a boy named Ben Ripley. He's a undercover spy! He goes to an undercover spy school. But in this book he actually gets kicked out of his spy school. He got kicked out cause he shot something straight to the princibals office window! He goes back to his family but then his enemy spy group has got him once again... spyder! And guess what he enrolls in spyders evil spy school! He's basiclly an undercover agent there. But then Ben realizes that spyder is up to no good, no good at all... You should read this!
                  • cats20090
                    cats20090Thursday, December 26, 2019 at 8:20 pm55 stars
                    This is an amazing book! I love that it gives you a perspective of what SPYDER is really like, but I also love that new characters's are brought into the plot! In this book, Ben, the main character, gets kicked out of spy school. He has to return to his old middle school and face being normal again, but then Ben gets recruited as a agent- in -training for SPYDER.
                    • reader2009
                      reader2009Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 9:08 pm55 stars
                      This is my favorite book in the series and I lo e it so much!!! Ben is back at spy school for his second year, but he won't be for long! Read this book to find out what happens when spy school gives up on him, and Spyder recruits him!!!!