Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5n/a4.447592
My disease is as rare as it is famous. It's a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, but basically, I'm allergic to the world. I don't leave my house, have not left my house in fifteen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives. New next door neighbors. I look out the window, and I see him. He's tall, lean and wearing all black--black t-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. I want to learn everything about him, and I do. I learn that he is funny and fierce. I learn that his eyes are Atlantic Ocean-blue and that his vice is stealing silverware. I learn that when I talk to him, my whole world opens up, and I feel myself starting to change--starting to want things. To want out of my bubble. To want everything, everything the world has to offer.
Maybe we can't predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It's almost certainly going to be a disaster.
Paperback, 352 pages
Published on March 7, 2017 by Ember
ISBN-10: 0553496670
ISBN-13: 9780553496673
43 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kgautam
    kgautamMonday, June 3, 2019 at 9:43 am44 stars
    this is a fantastic novel, and it had a crazyyyy plot twist! i never would have expected what happened. olly and madeline are so good together and i love how strong madeline is even with her condition (hah).
    • sofi_juarez
      sofi_juarezThursday, May 9, 2019 at 10:26 am55 stars
      I loved this book so much!!!! If you are looking for a book that is interesting and full of suspense, this is the book to go!
      • Jay_101Thursday, May 2, 2019 at 11:48 am
        Madeline is a very unique girl. She has this sickness that does not allow her to go outside or else she will die. My favorite part has gotta be whenever she goes to Hawaii, because she just shows that she could do anything and that she would risk her life to go to where she wanted to go. I think people that like inspiring and motivating books. It's really good!! Five stars! 😁
        • PotatosThursday, May 2, 2019 at 11:44 am
          This book...is. AMAZING!!!! I love it so much. Madeline is inspiring.
          • callie_b
            callie_bMonday, February 25, 2019 at 3:52 pm44 starsFeatured
            Madeline Whittier is a normal girl; but she yet she doesn't live the type of life that we all live. She has a rare disease involving Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, and she is allergic to practically everything! She could be allergic to something or she might not be-- but the most important thing is she can't take any risks. Meaning she has to stay in her house. All day, everyday. Madeline has no contact with the world besides her mom, her nurse Rosa, her computer, and her window. One day a family moves into the house next door, and Madeline soon learns of the boy her age, named Olly. They first become friends over simple IM's and emails, but then Maddy decides to take the biggest risk she has taken in a while: sneaking Olly into the house. With the help of Rosa, Olly and Maddy are able to talk once every week in person, scheming and dreaming of a world where Maddy could go outside. Maddy and Olly begin to develop a stronger relationship, and Maddy really starts to consider leaving her home and going out into the world. As Rosa says, love can't kill you, and Maddy keeps this in her mind as she forms a plan to run away from home with Olly and go to Hawaii. This book was moving, beautiful, and I loved every page! There was a BIG twist at the end that I was totally not expecting, and it all turned out to be a great plot line and story. I hung onto every bit of this fantastic book! I give this book a big thumbs-up, and I recommend it for ages 14+
            • sofi_22
              sofi_22Tuesday, February 5, 2019 at 10:42 am55 stars
              This book was such a nice book! My brother and I read it together and thought it was everything everything! HA! Such a nice pund.
              • ottergirl4ev
                ottergirl4evMonday, December 17, 2018 at 5:19 pm55 stars
                i cried when i read this book. it really just killed me to read Everything Everything. if you haven't read this book yet, then i recommend this book greatly. read it.
                • volleyball1003Sunday, October 28, 2018 at 6:56 pm
                  I think I have read this book over 20 times and am working on a book project right now for school ! Thank you, Nicola Soon for this great read ! ❤️
                  • Cutecinthia1Thursday, August 9, 2018 at 9:09 am
                    is everything everthing a good summer reading book in middle school (7th Grade)
                    • popman123
                      popman123Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 10:04 am55 stars
                      Best book i have ever read you all should read it.