Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5n/a4.447592
My disease is as rare as it is famous. It's a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, but basically, I'm allergic to the world. I don't leave my house, have not left my house in fifteen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives. New next door neighbors. I look out the window, and I see him. He's tall, lean and wearing all black--black t-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. I want to learn everything about him, and I do. I learn that he is funny and fierce. I learn that his eyes are Atlantic Ocean-blue and that his vice is stealing silverware. I learn that when I talk to him, my whole world opens up, and I feel myself starting to change--starting to want things. To want out of my bubble. To want everything, everything the world has to offer.
Maybe we can't predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It's almost certainly going to be a disaster.
Paperback, 352 pages
Published on March 7, 2017 by Ember
ISBN-10: 0553496670
ISBN-13: 9780553496673
36 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • volleyball1003Sunday, October 28, 2018 at 6:56 pm
    I think I have read this book over 20 times and am working on a book project right now for school ! Thank you, Nicola Soon for this great read ! ❤️
    • Cutecinthia1Thursday, August 9, 2018 at 9:09 am
      is everything everthing a good summer reading book in middle school (7th Grade)
      • popman123
        popman123Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 10:04 am55 stars
        Best book i have ever read you all should read it.
        • unicorngirl65
          unicorngirl65Monday, April 9, 2018 at 3:42 pm55 stars
          so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
          • k2lit
            k2litMonday, April 9, 2018 at 8:18 am55 stars
            this was a very sad book this book is even sad because the girl has a disease and the sad part is that she can not get out of the house or she will die
            • k2lit
              k2litMonday, April 9, 2018 at 8:15 am55 stars
              this was a great book and i read it 12 times this book got me emotional but since I'm a boy I did not cry
              • arasophi08
                arasophi08Thursday, March 1, 2018 at 5:43 pm55 stars
                It is a really good book.
                • kk0
                  kk0Tuesday, November 21, 2017 at 3:10 am
                  I think that I recomand you to read were I am but first ask your mother first and she what she said and if she says ask your dad then don't because he will probmlely says no because I think he already read tis book.
                  • Daisy Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 10:05 am
                    One of the best books I've ever read
                    • bribla1718
                      bribla1718Monday, October 16, 2017 at 9:38 am55 stars
                      I read the book EVERYTHING EVERYTHING for my book review. So there was a girl that “has an illness”. She got a new neighbor one day and they neighbor's son and madeline (the girl who “has the illness”) became best friends then boyfriend and girlfriend. Madilyn's nurse let Olly (the neighbors son) see madeline even though she’s not allowed to see anyone. After that they ticked all the time. When madeline's mom found out she fired the nurse so she got a new one ( madeline liked her last nurse way better). After a couple days madeline got to stay home alone so she packed up to go to hawaii with Olly. she bought the plane tickets with her debit card. They went to hawaii and they had so much fun madaillan learned how to swim there to. After a couple days her heart stopped then started again she left hawaii and when she woke up she was in her room. So i have a question do you think she was sick or not?

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Elizabeth67 wrote:

                      We love this show and the episod...
                      The Loud House #5: “The Man with...

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      I can't really write a proper re...
                      The Unwanteds

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      This book is great!! Defiantly r...
                      Echoes of Us (Hybrid Chronicles)

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      This book is great!! Defiantly r...
                      Once We Were

                      Our Apps and Plugins