Every Soul A Star

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.777369
And as streams of light fan out behind the darkened sun like the wings of a butterfly, I realize that I never saw real beauty until now.

At Moon Shadow, an isolated campground, thousands have gathered to catch a glimpse of a rare and extraordinary total eclipse of the sun. It's also were three lives are about to be changed forever:

Ally likes the simple things in life--labyrinths, star-gazing, and comet-hunting. Her home, the Moon Shadow campground, is a part of who she is, and she refuses to imagine it any other way.

Popular and gorgeous (everybody says so), Bree is a future homecoming queen for sure. Bree wears her beauty like a suit of armor. But what is she trying to hide?

Overweight and awkward, jack is used to spending a lot of time alone. But when opportunity knocks, he finds himself in situations he never would have imagined and making friends in the most unexpected situations.

Told from three distinct voices and perspectives, Wendy Mass weaves an intricate and compelling story about strangers coming together, unlikely friendships, and finding one's place in the universe.
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on September 1, 2009 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316002577
ISBN-13: 9780316002578
50 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • unicornhearts
    unicornheartsThursday, December 29, 2016 at 1:03 pm33 stars
    it was really good
    • bananagirl2002
      bananagirl2002Thursday, December 22, 2016 at 10:33 am
      Okay this book was pretty good. "Spoiler Alert" Their were 3 main characters. Ally, Bree, Jack. Ally lived at the Moo shadow were people came to watch eclipses. And her family was moving to the city. Bree used to live in the city. But her family moved to Moon shadow to take over it. Jack went to Moon shadow only so he didn't have to go to summer school. My favorite charter was Bree. At first she was very bratty and didn't really care about the eclipses and didn't want to move their. But in the end she ended up not being as mad. It was really cool to see their friendships being made. So i recommended this book for all you Wendy Mass book lovers. 4 Stars :)
      • bananagirl2002
        bananagirl2002Sunday, December 18, 2016 at 1:24 pm
        currently reading and so far its really good. can't wait to finish it ;). And wendy mass is an awesome writer 😄^_^😎 i recommended the willow falls series if you have no other books to read
        • johnathan Tuesday, December 6, 2016 at 1:47 pm
          I HAVE TO SAY THIS BOOK DID NOT REALLY GRIP ME WE WERE TOLD TO READ IT AND I WAS NOT TO EXITED TO BEGIN WITH BUT I HOPE OTHER LIKE THIS BOOK EVEN THOUGH I DID NOT.
          • bookqueen1o13
            bookqueen1o13Saturday, December 3, 2016 at 8:04 am55 stars
            THIS BOOK IS AMAZING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! there is not enough words to describe how good this book is i cry like 10 times it was soooooooooo good i highly recommend this book i read it about 2 years ago so i fogot a lot of it but i remember that it was awesome READ IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • felicitysmoak
              felicitysmoakSunday, October 23, 2016 at 1:02 pm55 stars
              I love this book! It was so good! My older sister gave it to me before she left to college and I have kept it since. I got to give a copy to my little sister when I left.
              • hamsterlover5
                hamsterlover5Sunday, September 25, 2016 at 10:13 am55 stars
                I love her books
                • memoiloveit
                  memoiloveitFriday, June 3, 2016 at 1:36 pm55 stars
                  At first, I only wanted to read this because I like the author, but when I started reading more, I really liked it and wanted to keep going. Although this is recommended for grades 4-8 and is only a Reading A-Z level U, I think that anybody will like to read it even if they don't want to at first. Three protagonists, are strangers to each other, named Ally, Bree, and Jack, have completely separate and different lives and perspectives, until they meet and eventually become friends. These three people start out one way, but by meeting each other and establishing strong relationships, their personalities change and they discover who they are. I like how the author made different perspectives for different sections of the story and it isn't just told by one of the protagonists.
                  • bhovey
                    bhoveyWednesday, May 11, 2016 at 8:17 am55 stars
                    I think that wendy mass writes amazing books because every soul a star is the best book I ever read in my entire life and I will want to by my very own book. And I am also wanting to do a book trailer on this book so bad but it is to complicated to chooes what book to do.
                    • bhovey
                      bhoveyWednesday, May 11, 2016 at 8:13 am55 stars
                      I think that wendy mass writes amazing books because everyt soul a star is the best book I ever read in my entire life and I will want to by my very own book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      neoncat
                      neoncat wrote:

                      Wonder is becoming a movie this ...
                      Wonder

                      JesseJump wrote:

                      This is a very detailed portraya...
                      The Bad Beginning (A Series of U...

                      lucasb2007
                      lucasb2007 wrote:

                      I really loved everything about ...
                      Caveboy Dave: More Scrawny Than ...

                      lucasb2007
                      lucasb2007 wrote:

                      I really like what they did with...
                      Hamster Princess: Harriet the In...