Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8V5.341905
Publication Date: 2000

Winner of the Pura Belpré Medal for outstanding children's literature that celebrates the Latino/a cultural experience.

Paperback, 262 pages
Published on September 27, 2016 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 043912042X
ISBN-13: 9780439120425
128 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ccswishingstar
    ccswishingstarSunday, June 16, 2019 at 3:09 pm55 stars
    Esperanza Rizing is an amazing book! It is about a rich girl in Mexico named Esperanza that loses her father the day before her birthday. Esperanza, her mother and their servants leave Mexico and into the United States of America to work in the fields..
    • applebutter
      applebutterSaturday, June 8, 2019 at 3:51 pm33 stars
      this sounds like a really good book. I love historical fiction books. they always inspire me.
      • inmemoryofcpr
        inmemoryofcprTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 5:38 pm55 stars
        When Esperanza's father abruptly dies, all of her family's money disappears. Now she and her mother must go with her father's friends's families to work in a plantation, while she struggles to adapt to the hard work. I would recommend this for ages 9+ This book was really enjoyable and it was nicely lightly sprinkled with romance. I liked how the author displayed life on the plantations really well. because while I was reading this, a picture appeared in my mind. I would definitely recommend this.
        • MORIAH Shand Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 8:57 am
          I love this book and it inspired me to read ,and write about historical fiction.
          • 3164331663
            3164331663Friday, May 17, 2019 at 7:08 pm55 stars
            Love this book, the main character Esperanza, she was have a wealthy family, her Papa own a land. But a character named Tio Luis burn down the house where Esperanza lived in, so they(Esperanza and her mom,Mama) have to flee to America, and they are start all over, because Papa was dead and Tio Luis want Mama marry him. "Esperanza Rising"this book is awesome! I Love to read this book.
            • reader_red
              reader_redFriday, May 17, 2019 at 6:22 am55 stars
              After a horrible tragedy Esperanza and her mother have to flee north to the United States to work. After living most of her life as a rich girl in Mexico, Esperanza has trouble adjusting to the hard-working area she now lives. After her mother gets horribly sick, Esperanza is forced to work even harder.
              • lavoiem
                lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:52 pm11 star
                Maybe it was because I was forced to read this book at school but personally I did not like it. I remember just wanting to read something with more adventure and something with a lot mor fantasy and magic. :(
                • outgirl
                  outgirlMonday, May 6, 2019 at 1:01 pm55 stars
                  I loved this book it’s so interesting and a gripping story love it!!
                  • AbyssSunday, April 21, 2019 at 9:14 pm
                    This book really makes you think about how hard it must've been back then and it really opens your eyes.
                    • slushie
                      slushieThursday, April 18, 2019 at 10:37 am55 starsFeatured
                      This was the best book ever made I Couldn't stop reading it the part that made me cry was that Esperanza's dad died I was upset but ¡Sigan con el Buen Trabajo con Los Libros! (Keep up the good work with the books!) this book made me happy at the middle/ end of the book her mom got sick from the sand storm I was hoping and praying that the mom will be ok the part that scared me in the book is that when Esperanza's house got on fire!! How Esperanza can remember her dad is that whenever its Esperanza's birthday her dad orders Esperanza doll's since it was her birthday she hears upsetting news that her dad died and she sees the doll that her dad ordered a doll for her birthday again and the doorbell rang for her dad food that he always ordered the person was holding Esperanza's dad's food Esperanza had to break the sad new's to the delivery person that was dads friend they were crying and that's what made me upset but still ¡Sigue Haciendo Libros Como estos! (Keep on making books like these!) I have this book and i love it a lot!