Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8V5.341905
Publication Date: 2000

Winner of the Pura Belpré Medal for outstanding children's literature that celebrates the Latino/a cultural experience.

Paperback, 262 pages
Published on September 27, 2016 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 043912042X
ISBN-13: 9780439120425
115 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • pineapplegirlWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 5:01 pm
    this book is so good ! Totally recommend it.❤
    • bob the builderSunday, October 28, 2018 at 11:57 am
      love this book!
      • reader_red
        reader_redSunday, October 28, 2018 at 11:17 am55 stars
        This book was really good. Pam Munoz Ryan has a true talent for writing good books. I think it is very educational and people should read it. I highly recommend it!
        • mabumaxavusila
          mabumaxavusilaTuesday, October 9, 2018 at 11:29 am55 starsFeatured
          this was a class read aloud and I got so attached, I highly recommend this amazing peace of art, this gets you sucked in only at page one. On top of that so many things builds up at once! When papa dies, everything changes, not just for Esperanza but for Miguel, Ramona, Hortensia, Alfonso. Its so sad on what happens this deserves a five star rating for making me and thousands of other readers feel so many emotions for all the characters, keep pursuing your work as an author you have really nice talent maybe someday I can write just like you!
          • ryunicorn25
            ryunicorn25Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:30 am55 stars
            I recommend this book because it was a very long book and was very interesting too. I also think it had a meaningful theme which was even if you are going through tough times you have to be strong. Lastly I like this book because it has won an award and I think that is outstanding!
            • tio luis Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 10:07 am
              good book
              • bookworm15Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 10:06 am
                I don't really know if I like this book. I like the topic but they should get to the point
                • robloxjohn
                  robloxjohnThursday, May 17, 2018 at 10:25 am55 stars
                  I'm reading it right now but it is a really good book so far.
                  • payton_flusche
                    payton_fluscheMonday, April 23, 2018 at 8:51 am33 stars
                    its ok i kinda got bored
                    • epringles23
                      epringles23Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 12:39 pm55 stars
                      Very good book about an girl from Mexico, who is forced to travel to the United States, because of a family trategy. Her and her mom go through a marvelous adventure, and I loved it!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mysteryhuman_hi

                      I've read the graphic novel and ...
                      A Wrinkle in Time

                      Monserrat wrote:

                      The count of Monte cristo is a g...
                      The Count of Monte Cristo (Class...

                      Amnotreal wrote:

                      I just got the book and it alrea...
                      Naruto: Kakashi's Story

                      Mia wrote:

                      I just loved this book! I'm a 4t...
                      The Ranger's Apprentice Series (...

                      Our Apps and Plugins