Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8V5.341905
Publication Date: 2000

Winner of the Pura Belpré Medal for outstanding children's literature that celebrates the Latino/a cultural experience.

Paperback, 262 pages
Published on September 27, 2016 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 043912042X
ISBN-13: 9780439120425
116 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Gavin LearSunday, February 17, 2019 at 7:07 am
    This is an amazing book it is heartwarming and inspiring i give this book 5 stars because when i read this i was having a hard time and this book really helped me through that. 5+ stars and i recommend this to anyone having a difficult time.
    • pineapplegirlWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 5:01 pm
      this book is so good ! Totally recommend it.❤
      • bob the builderSunday, October 28, 2018 at 11:57 am
        love this book!
        • reader_red
          reader_redSunday, October 28, 2018 at 11:17 am55 stars
          This book was really good. Pam Munoz Ryan has a true talent for writing good books. I think it is very educational and people should read it. I highly recommend it!
          • mabumaxavusila
            mabumaxavusilaTuesday, October 9, 2018 at 11:29 am55 starsFeatured
            this was a class read aloud and I got so attached, I highly recommend this amazing peace of art, this gets you sucked in only at page one. On top of that so many things builds up at once! When papa dies, everything changes, not just for Esperanza but for Miguel, Ramona, Hortensia, Alfonso. Its so sad on what happens this deserves a five star rating for making me and thousands of other readers feel so many emotions for all the characters, keep pursuing your work as an author you have really nice talent maybe someday I can write just like you!
            • ryunicorn25
              ryunicorn25Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:30 am55 stars
              I recommend this book because it was a very long book and was very interesting too. I also think it had a meaningful theme which was even if you are going through tough times you have to be strong. Lastly I like this book because it has won an award and I think that is outstanding!
              • tio luis Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 10:07 am
                good book
                • bookworm15Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 10:06 am
                  I don't really know if I like this book. I like the topic but they should get to the point
                  • robloxjohn
                    robloxjohnThursday, May 17, 2018 at 10:25 am55 stars
                    I'm reading it right now but it is a really good book so far.
                    • payton_flusche
                      payton_fluscheMonday, April 23, 2018 at 8:51 am33 stars
                      its ok i kinda got bored

                      Our Apps and Plugins