Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8V5.341905
Publication Date: 2000

Winner of the Pura Belpré Medal for outstanding children's literature that celebrates the Latino/a cultural experience.

Paperback, 262 pages
Published on September 27, 2016 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 043912042X
ISBN-13: 9780439120425
140 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • haydengirl71907
    haydengirl71907Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 10:45 pm55 stars
    This book is about a girl named Esperanza, she lived with her wealthy family in Mexico. She had: big dresses, Fancy dolls, servants, a big house and her family had a ton of money. But all of it changed the night before her birthday, her dad went out with some of his worker to round the cattle. But he did not come back for a while, so they sent out some of they servants to go out and to she if they could find Esperanza's dad. They came back and said that the night bandaids had killed him, Esperanza cry for many hours. Esperanza's mom said that everything would be ok. But everything got worse, Esperanza and her mother left Mexico with some of their servants to go to California. Because their was no more males in Esperanza' family except her uncles, all their money would go to her uncles. One of her uncles has the governor of Mexico, he got most of their money. He offered to give them all their money back if Esperanza's mother would marry him. Her mother thought about it for away, she said she would. But she tricked him, she left a few days after she had said yes. Esperanza's mom had Esperanza's grandmother stay with the nuns until they had the money to bring the out to California. When Esperanza got to California, she went to a camp where they got a house the size of a horse stable. And they were given a job and payed a small amount of money. Esperanza's mother worked in the field. With some of her friends moms. While Esperanza and her friend Isabelle watch the babies, cleaned and cooked. Then out of no where their was a dirt storm, some of the dirt got in her mothers lungs! Her mother got Valley Fever! So Esperanza had to work in the field so she could earn money to pay mortgage for the house, for her moms hospital bills, for groceries and to save money up to bring her grandmother out. After 5 months of her mother being in the hospital she finally came back home. It took her mom a month to recover to her full strength after coming home. One night Esperanza was going to show her mother the money she saved up to bring her grandmother out to California. But when she when to grab it, the jar was empty!! Which recently one of her friends Miguel, had left, and stolen all the money Esperanza had saved up to bring her grandmother out! Esperanza was furious! She had worked for that money for months! After a few days Miguel parents told Esperanza that he had called them and told them that he was coming back home, and that he would be coming home today. His parents had asked if she would come with them to pick him up Esperanza said that she would go. When Miguel got off the bus, Esperanza started to yell at him. Then she saw a little old lady getting off the bus, it was Abuelita! Her grandmother!! She ran up to Abuelita and hugged her. She noticed that Miguel didn't steal the money he took it to get Abuelita so Esperanza and her mother wouldn't have to. Esperanza thanked Miguel for getting Abuelita. She took Abuelita to her mother. Her mom was so excited to Abuelita, her mom and Abuelita cryed, it had been so long sense they had seen each other. In the end she lived a happy life with her family and friends, even though she went through the loss her father to being a wealthy girl to becoming a peasant. Esperanza shows that we will go hard stuff, but we should make the best out of the worst.
    • haydengirl71907
      haydengirl71907Thursday, April 16, 2020 at 12:00 pm55 stars
      This book is about a girl named Esperanza, she lived with her wealthy family in Mexico. She had: big dresses, Fancy dolls, servants, a big house and her family had a ton of money. But all of it changed the night before her birthday, her dad went out with some of his worker to round the cattle. But he did not come back for a while, so they sent out some of they servants to go out and to she if they could find Esperanza's dad. They came back and said that the night bandaids had killed him, Esperanza cry for many hours. Esperanza's mom said that everything would be ok. But everything got worse, Esperanza and her mother left Mexico with some of their servants to go to California. Because their was no more males in Esperanza' family except her uncles, all their money would go to her uncles. One of her uncles has the governor of Mexico, he got most of their money. He offered to give them all their money back if Esperanza's mother would marry him. Her mother thought about it for away, she said she would. But she tricked him, she left a few days after she had said yes. Esperanza's mom had Esperanza's grandmother stay with the nuns until they had the money to bring the out to California. When Esperanza got to California, she went to a camp where they got a house the size of a horse stable. And they were given a job and payed a small amount of money. Esperanza's mother worked in the field. With some of her friends moms. While Esperanza and her friend Isabelle watch the babies, cleaned and cooked. Then out of no where their was a dirt storm, some of the dirt got in her mothers lungs! Her mother got Valley Fever! So Esperanza had to work in the field so she could earn money to pay mortgage for the house, for her moms hospital bills, for groceries and to save money up to bring her grandmother out. After 5 months of her mother being in the hospital she finally came back home. It took her mom a month to recover to her full strength after coming home. One night Esperanza was going to show her mother the money she saved up to bring her grandmother out to California. But when she when to grab it, the jar was empty!! Which recently one of her friends Miguel, had left, and stolen all the money Esperanza had saved up to bring her grandmother out! Esperanza was furious! She had worked for that money for months! After a few days Miguel parents told Esperanza that he had called them and told them that he was coming back home, and that he would be coming home today. His parents had asked if she would come with them to pick him up Esperanza said that she would go. When Miguel got off the bus, Esperanza started to yell at him. Then she saw a little old lady getting off the bus, it was Abuelita! Her grandmother!! She ran up to Abuelita and hugged her. She noticed that Miguel didn't steal the money he took it to get Abuelita so Esperanza and her mother wouldn't have to. Esperanza thanked Miguel for getting Abuelita. She took Abuelita to her mother. Her mom was so excited to Abuelita, her mom and Abuelita cryed, it had been so long sense they had seen each other. In the end she lived a happy life with her family and friends, even though she went through the loss her father to being a wealthy girl to becoming a peasant. Esperanza shows that we will go hard stuff, but we should make the best out of the worst.
      • haydengirl71907
        haydengirl71907Tuesday, May 19, 2020 at 10:41 pm55 stars
        i meant to put five stars
      • nnenna
        nnennaThursday, March 12, 2020 at 7:19 pm55 stars
        This book is about a strong girl named Esperanza. Her mom gets sick for 5 months and almost dies. Even though Esperenza is going through something so traumatizing she still stays strong. I connect to this booking in some ways cause I went through a moment in life where I had to stay strong for not only me but my family also. I give this book 5 stars because it teaches kids to always be positive and stay strong.
        • LolFriday, December 20, 2019 at 6:41 pm
          We are reading this book at school
          • chocolate168
            chocolate168Monday, November 18, 2019 at 12:58 am55 stars
            This book is inspiring. I would recommend it to those who are in a situation that to them seems impossible.
            • chocolate168
              chocolate168Monday, November 18, 2019 at 12:55 am55 stars
              This book is amazing!!! I love it!!! 😍
              • chocolate168
                chocolate168Saturday, November 16, 2019 at 4:54 pm55 stars
                An amazing and emotional book. The story shows how Esperanza grows and matures to become a strong & wonderful person.
                • casrui1
                  casrui1Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 7:57 pm55 stars
                  An emotional story when a girl named Esperanza life is taking turns into a dark place when she is very young. Very great book also teaches you a lesson why you should be grateful for the things you have in your life.
                  • acalzoa
                    acalzoaMonday, October 14, 2019 at 3:38 pm55 stars
                    This book was pretty good. I like how it hard for Esperanza to do it. When her mom got very sick for 5 months I though she wouldn't make it but she did. In my head I felt bad for Esperanza but she is a strong one
                    • addy-kaylynn
                      addy-kaylynnSunday, July 21, 2019 at 5:19 am55 stars
                      I read this book with my mom and my friends. I was like this book is so good. I could not stop reading it. It pulled my heartstrings but it just kept getting better. No matter how good it was, every single chapter steps up 100 percent.