Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8V5.341905
Publication Date: 2000

Winner of the Pura Belpré Medal for outstanding children's literature that celebrates the Latino/a cultural experience.

Paperback, 262 pages
Published on September 27, 2016 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 043912042X
ISBN-13: 9780439120425
112 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • mabumaxavusila
    mabumaxavusilaTuesday, October 9, 2018 at 11:29 am55 starsFeatured
    this was a class read aloud and I got so attached, I highly recommend this amazing peace of art, this gets you sucked in only at page one. On top of that so many things builds up at once! When papa dies, everything changes, not just for Esperanza but for Miguel, Ramona, Hortensia, Alfonso. Its so sad on what happens this deserves a five star rating for making me and thousands of other readers feel so many emotions for all the characters, keep pursuing your work as an author you have really nice talent maybe someday I can write just like you!
    • ryunicorn25
      ryunicorn25Tuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:30 am55 stars
      I recommend this book because it was a very long book and was very interesting too. I also think it had a meaningful theme which was even if you are going through tough times you have to be strong. Lastly I like this book because it has won an award and I think that is outstanding!
      • tio luis Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 10:07 am
        good book
        • bookworm15Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 10:06 am
          I don't really know if I like this book. I like the topic but they should get to the point
          • robloxjohn
            robloxjohnThursday, May 17, 2018 at 10:25 am55 stars
            I'm reading it right now but it is a really good book so far.
            • payton_flusche
              payton_fluscheMonday, April 23, 2018 at 8:51 am33 stars
              its ok i kinda got bored
              • epringles23
                epringles23Saturday, January 27, 2018 at 12:39 pm55 stars
                Very good book about an girl from Mexico, who is forced to travel to the United States, because of a family trategy. Her and her mom go through a marvelous adventure, and I loved it!
                • lizydog
                  lizydogSunday, November 19, 2017 at 2:09 pm
                  I read this for a comitition called battle of the books.
                  • livlovesdogs
                    livlovesdogsSaturday, November 18, 2017 at 10:23 am44 stars
                    I had to read this for school for ELA and it was super good! I had to read it learning about human rights and it was full of them! I loved it!
                    • gabbyhope117
                      gabbyhope117Thursday, November 16, 2017 at 8:40 am55 stars
                      This is a heart filling book. I love every single part of it. I also love that it is a book about a Mexican girl. Nice job on the fantastic book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      amazing story, amazing humor, am...
                      The Secret of the Fortune Wookie...

                      deweyduck
                      deweyduck wrote:

                      Great book, Great humor, Great f...
                      Blubber

                      24tfontana
                      24tfontana wrote:

                      I recommend reading this book be...
                      Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

                      ash21
                      ash21 wrote:

                      Really good book I was hooked by...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins