Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.44292
Shy Mr. Hoppy devises a plan to win the heart of his true love by teaching her a spell to make her tortoise grow bigger.
Paperback, 80 pages
Published on May 24, 2016 by Puffin
ISBN-10: 014136548X
ISBN-13: 9780141365480
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • rina123aaa
    rina123aaaMonday, June 1, 2020 at 9:32 am55 stars
    This book is really a quick and easy read and is really interesting. Wow! I really liked this book and I definitely recommend it. It is just so great!
    • fraser10
      fraser10Tuesday, May 5, 2020 at 12:31 pm55 stars
      Amazing easy read very funny and silly very enjoyable
      • alyssaSunday, March 8, 2020 at 6:27 pm
        DAWSON this book is a miracle it has great content and all children should respect books. I understand u have ur own opinion but this book was great and I recommend it definitly not to DAWSON but to ppl who like books
        • DawsonSunday, June 16, 2019 at 8:42 pm
          Absolutely terrible. Not only does Mrs Silver opt to be a slave, but Mr Hoppy actually steals her tortoise and replaces him to selfishly gain Mrs Silvers' affection, afterward giving Alfie (the tortoise) to a local pet shop and not ever telling Mrs Silver what he did, even after they marry. Theft, mild misogyny, animal cruelty, jealousy and ignorance... It's a wonder it was ever published, but I guess that it was before people figured out that animals had feelings and women weren't daft. To this day I'm not sure why people like it.🤔
          • GooodWednesday, December 12, 2018 at 12:45 pm
            I think it is a really good
            • iceninja
              iceninjaMonday, September 24, 2018 at 9:22 am55 stars
              great book
              • esio trotWednesday, July 26, 2017 at 5:11 pm
                esio trot is a fun filled book that will entertain you for hours. Funny, romantic. Mrs silver wants her little alfe to grow bigger. But he's not growing an inch Mr hoppy (Mrs silvers next door neighbour) notices this so he dose something. Read the book to find out more
                • princessmath
                  princessmathSunday, July 9, 2017 at 6:43 am55 stars
                  I like this book because like all Ronald Dahl books it is awesome and nice and real and cool and I would read it again if I only owned the library I got it from. I can't imagine how Ronald Dahl came up with these words they are so good.
                  • lady gagaSaturday, May 13, 2017 at 8:14 pm
                    good
                    • trumang
                      trumangSunday, August 30, 2015 at 7:05 pm
                      Mr. Hoppy is in love with the lady that lives on the floor below him named Mrs. Silver, but Mrs. Silver is in love with her tortoise named Alfie. Mrs. Silver wants Alfie to grow bigger. Mr. Hoppy is too embarrassed to tell Mrs. Silver that he loves her. He buys a bunch of tortoises from the pet shop and has them at his house. He is an engineer and works in a bus garage. He makes a tortoise catcher there that has two claws, a sting, and a handle. When you pull the handle, the claws close and catch the tortoise. He sends Mrs. Silver a letter that he says is in tortoise language (just regular words spelled backwards) and he tells her to read this to Alfie every day. When she is at work, he grabs Alfie and replaces him with a bigger tortoise. He does this once a week and keeps replacing the old tortoise with a bigger one. Mrs. Silver starts yelling one day and said that Alfie got so big that he doesn't fit in his little house anymore. Mr. Hoppy gives her a new poem to read to the tortoise to help it get smaller. She says the poem before she goes to work each day, and then Mr. Hoppy switches the tortoise out with a smaller one. Mrs. Silver calls him down to show him the tortoise fits in its house again. Mr. Hoppy invites Mrs. Silver in to his house for a cup of tea. Then he returns all the tortoises back to the pet shop. Mr. Hoppy and Mrs. Silver end up getting married! At the very end of the book, the real tortorise Alfie got sold to someone else, but Mrs. Silver never noticed. I thought that Mr. Hoppy's tortoise catcher was really cool and I liked how he got Mrs. Silver to notice him. This book got me interested in creating an invention of my own!