Escaping Peril (Wings of Fire, Book 8)

Book 8 of 13 in the Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.361434
Peril has been loyal to Queen Scarlet, who used her fatal firescales to kill countless dragons in the SkyWing arena. Now, Peril is loyal to Clay, the only dragonet who has ever been her friend. So when Scarlet threatens Jade Mountain Academy, Peril sets off to find her former queen, stop her, and save the day, no matter what it takes.

There's just one problem: a strangely persistent SeaWing, Turtle, insists on coming along, too. Turtle is worried about his friends, who left to search for Scarlet and haven't returned. Peril is worried that she might accidentally burn Turtle -- or burn him on purpose, for being so annoying -- and frustrated that she keeps saying and doing the wrong things. She can't escape her firescales, and she can't escape her reputation as the deadliest dragon in Pyrrhia.

So when she's offered a chance to trade everything for a second chance, Peril has to decide who she's really loyal to . . . and whether her own scales might actually be worth saving.



Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 27, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545685451
ISBN-13: 9780545685450
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • wingsofirehd
    wingsofirehdFriday, October 30, 2020 at 7:51 am55 stars
    I love wings of fire so much all I want is to have the complete colection:I've read the first eight books at least ten times each.
    • alphacloudmike
      alphacloudmikeThursday, September 17, 2020 at 12:09 pm55 stars
      This book was awesome. I like Peril's colorful vocabulary, and her humor with Turtle. She find out the identity of her father, a ally to the fallen Queen Scarlet, and a mysterious shape shifter. I would be happy to reccomend this book.
      • I love this booSaturday, August 29, 2020 at 6:29 pm
        I love wings of fire books it’s my favorite
        • squirrelflight
          squirrelflightMonday, August 3, 2020 at 10:17 am44 stars
          Peril has always been loyal—first to Queen Scarlet, an evil ruler who made her kill hundreds of other dragons in the battle arena, and then to Clay, who saved her from Queen Scarlet. Now, she lives at Jade Mountain Academy, a school for young dragons...but is kept separate from the students, because her scales could burn them. Firescales are dangerous—that’s what she’s been told for her whole life, and dragons always fear her, which is why she was banished from her tribe, the SkyWings. But Peril still feels like she owes her former tribe, now ruled by a new queen, so she sets off on a quest to find Scarlet, who is in hiding, and make her pay for her crimes. There’s a small problem, though; Turtle, a dragon who goes to Jade Mountain Academy, wants to come along on the journey, but for his own reasons. Eventually, Peril lets him come—but sometimes wonders if her decision was right. Betrayal and darkness follows the quest...and they may not survive, even with firescales on their side. Then, Peril meets someone who might change her future; she could be safe and normal, with no firescales—just an ordinary SkyWing. But this enchantment comes with a price...and the price is something she may not be able to pay; her memories. Can she make the right choice? Read this book to find out!
          • Peril_heatSunday, April 19, 2020 at 5:27 pm
            It is a great book and I loved reading it, I couldn't put it down
            • im_happy
              im_happyThursday, January 23, 2020 at 1:36 pm55 stars
              I love this book, i'm almost done with the series. I need to read the books in the 3rd arc, then i'm done!
              • im_happy
                im_happyThursday, January 23, 2020 at 1:34 pm55 stars
                It's great. I wrote a report on this book, and I feel optimistic about it. Peril is such a great character, and her journey inspires me to choose what is right, instead of being tempted and becoming mean and rude. I love this book, and I totally recommend it.
                • kailyn6b
                  kailyn6bFriday, January 10, 2020 at 9:43 am55 stars
                  This book is about when Peril goes to find her ex-Queen Scarlet and bring her down. They travel to possibility to find help from Moon and Quibli. She does end up finding her and the fight against Ruby and Scarlet for the throne is intense and the secret of Ruby is awesome and so story changing.I love this book. And Peril is one of my favorite characters because of her hilarious obsession with Clay and how she acts when someone notices or Clay even looks at her.
                  • kailyn6b
                    kailyn6bFriday, January 10, 2020 at 7:45 am55 stars
                    This book is about one of Queen Scarlets ex-friend, Peril.She goes in searsh for her with Turtle and and travils to possibility.I really love this book and peril is one of my favorite characters. It is so cool that she has her fire scales(scales that burn you if you touch them until you are in flames).
                    • nunu_can_dy
                      nunu_can_dyTuesday, December 31, 2019 at 1:36 pm
                      I really love graphic novels especially ones that are action packed so this was a big upgrade it seems like something very intresting trust me on this on you all will really love it