Escaping Peril (Wings of Fire, Book 8)

Book 8 of 13 in the Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.361434
Peril has been loyal to Queen Scarlet, who used her fatal firescales to kill countless dragons in the SkyWing arena. Now, Peril is loyal to Clay, the only dragonet who has ever been her friend. So when Scarlet threatens Jade Mountain Academy, Peril sets off to find her former queen, stop her, and save the day, no matter what it takes.

There's just one problem: a strangely persistent SeaWing, Turtle, insists on coming along, too. Turtle is worried about his friends, who left to search for Scarlet and haven't returned. Peril is worried that she might accidentally burn Turtle -- or burn him on purpose, for being so annoying -- and frustrated that she keeps saying and doing the wrong things. She can't escape her firescales, and she can't escape her reputation as the deadliest dragon in Pyrrhia.

So when she's offered a chance to trade everything for a second chance, Peril has to decide who she's really loyal to . . . and whether her own scales might actually be worth saving.



Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on December 29, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545685443
ISBN-13: 9780545685443
37 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kailyn6b
    kailyn6bFriday, January 10, 2020 at 9:43 am55 stars
    This book is about when Peril goes to find her ex-Queen Scarlet and bring her down. They travel to possibility to find help from Moon and Quibli. She does end up finding her and the fight against Ruby and Scarlet for the throne is intense and the secret of Ruby is awesome and so story changing.I love this book. And Peril is one of my favorite characters because of her hilarious obsession with Clay and how she acts when someone notices or Clay even looks at her.
    • kailyn6b
      kailyn6bFriday, January 10, 2020 at 7:45 am55 stars
      This book is about one of Queen Scarlets ex-friend, Peril.She goes in searsh for her with Turtle and and travils to possibility.I really love this book and peril is one of my favorite characters. It is so cool that she has her fire scales(scales that burn you if you touch them until you are in flames).
      • nunu_can_dy
        nunu_can_dyTuesday, December 31, 2019 at 1:36 pm
        I really love graphic novels especially ones that are action packed so this was a big upgrade it seems like something very intresting trust me on this on you all will really love it
        • queen_onyx
          queen_onyxSunday, December 8, 2019 at 6:49 pm55 stars
          I love this Wings of Fire book!! I really like SkyWings especially because I really like Queen Scarlet!! I really recommend this book to Dragon lovers and thank you for following me!!😉
          • bobSunday, October 13, 2019 at 10:30 am
            This book is really good
            • turtleanimus777
              turtleanimus777Tuesday, October 8, 2019 at 7:06 am55 stars
              this book shows that even though Peril is dangerous and sometimes assumed to be evil and murderous, she can be accepted by normal (semi-normal, at least) dragons. Readers are led through a journey of loyalty, betrayal, and magic on Peril's quest to discover herself.
              • 1629913
                1629913Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 12:20 pmFeatured
                i have to say this is not only for this book but for the rest of of the series it is really cool and im already on book 9 and i started on my begining of my year of school. i really in goy this series and any body who wants to read about dragons and likes chapter books i give you WINGS OF FIRE and it continuse for at least 13 books i think.
                • wingsoffiregeekThursday, May 10, 2018 at 8:09 pm
                  i love this book is is the best book in the world and the cover is the best
                  • wolfdog
                    wolfdogTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 7:41 am55 stars
                    Very nice, I really do like Peril and her fire scales, it's weird how she only has fire scales out of ALL the Skywings in the kingdom, and she could be the only one with fire scales in the entire 7 tribes. [SPOILER for those who have not read book 10 ending] I personally think she could have had an animus enchant her with fire scales... or.. [official spoiler] she could be a direct descendant from the lost continent dragons. NEW DRAGONS ARE COMING!!! I saw the book #11 cover, an insect-looking dragon was there. They looked a lot like Moonwatcher. Basically, they looked like a shiny rainwing mixed in with insect antennaes. And they looked like a nightwing too.
                    • tofu22
                      tofu22Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 12:12 pm55 stars
                      There is only one word that explains this book and it's seires.... SO AMAZING I HAVE TO READ THE WHOLE SEIRES IN A WEEK!!! I know that it is mutibul words, but it really deservs it. Have a good evening where were you are in the world! ;-)