Escaping Peril (Wings of Fire, Book 8)

Book 8 of 13 in the Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.361434
Peril has been loyal to Queen Scarlet, who used her fatal firescales to kill countless dragons in the SkyWing arena. Now, Peril is loyal to Clay, the only dragonet who has ever been her friend. So when Scarlet threatens Jade Mountain Academy, Peril sets off to find her former queen, stop her, and save the day, no matter what it takes.

There's just one problem: a strangely persistent SeaWing, Turtle, insists on coming along, too. Turtle is worried about his friends, who left to search for Scarlet and haven't returned. Peril is worried that she might accidentally burn Turtle -- or burn him on purpose, for being so annoying -- and frustrated that she keeps saying and doing the wrong things. She can't escape her firescales, and she can't escape her reputation as the deadliest dragon in Pyrrhia.

So when she's offered a chance to trade everything for a second chance, Peril has to decide who she's really loyal to . . . and whether her own scales might actually be worth saving.



Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on December 29, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545685443
ISBN-13: 9780545685443
48 Book Reviews
  • happy_man
    happy_manTuesday, February 23, 2021 at 12:14 pm55 stars
    Peril has always been different. From the moment she hatched she was different. Along time ago Peril fell into Queen Scarlet's talons. Queen Scarlet made her do some unforgettable things. On her quest to become normal and hopefully to make a friend Peril meets her father who has a big secret. She also meets Turtle, Moon, Qibli and Winter. Peril is happy she made friends........ Suddenly, Scarlet has taken over and has challenged queen Ruby, her daughter to the throne. But something doesn't seem right. Meanwhile Moon is going to free a dragon legend from the depths of a mountain, but she finds some unforgivable things........ Everyone is panicking! Can Peril stop Moon before it's too late? Can she rewrite her past and be a new dragon? Or will Peril bring Peril to Pyrrhia? Find out in, Wings of Fire #8: Escaping Peril!
    • kindnesstips
      kindnesstipsWednesday, February 10, 2021 at 6:44 pm
      Hi so I want to read it because it looks cool bro
      • Fan of books Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 12:56 pm
        I am a fan of books but, the Wings of Fire collection is my most favorite one yet. Book 8 is really good because it says more about Peril. One of my favorite things about the Wings of Fire collection (not graphic novel) is that you get to learn more about each dragon.
        • woflover
          wofloverMonday, December 14, 2020 at 5:42 pm44 stars
          peril is a good character, she is loyal to clay. though..... she does seem to like turtle too.......
          • wingsofirehd
            wingsofirehdFriday, October 30, 2020 at 7:51 am55 stars
            I love wings of fire so much all I want is to have the complete colection:I've read the first eight books at least ten times each.
            • alphacloudmike
              alphacloudmikeThursday, September 17, 2020 at 12:09 pm55 stars
              This book was awesome. I like Peril's colorful vocabulary, and her humor with Turtle. She find out the identity of her father, a ally to the fallen Queen Scarlet, and a mysterious shape shifter. I would be happy to reccomend this book.
              • I love this booSaturday, August 29, 2020 at 6:29 pm
                I love wings of fire books it’s my favorite
                • thistle912
                  thistle912Monday, August 3, 2020 at 10:17 am44 stars
                  Peril has always been loyal—first to Queen Scarlet, an evil ruler who made her kill hundreds of other dragons in the battle arena, and then to Clay, who saved her from Queen Scarlet. Now, she lives at Jade Mountain Academy, a school for young dragons...but is kept separate from the students, because her scales could burn them. Firescales are dangerous—that’s what she’s been told for her whole life, and dragons always fear her, which is why she was banished from her tribe, the SkyWings. But Peril still feels like she owes her former tribe, now ruled by a new queen, so she sets off on a quest to find Scarlet, who is in hiding, and make her pay for her crimes. There’s a small problem, though; Turtle, a dragon who goes to Jade Mountain Academy, wants to come along on the journey, but for his own reasons. Eventually, Peril lets him come—but sometimes wonders if her decision was right. Betrayal and darkness follows the quest...and they may not survive, even with firescales on their side. Then, Peril meets someone who might change her future; she could be safe and normal, with no firescales—just an ordinary SkyWing. But this enchantment comes with a price...and the price is something she may not be able to pay; her memories. Can she make the right choice? Read this book to find out!
                  • Peril_heatSunday, April 19, 2020 at 5:27 pm
                    It is a great book and I loved reading it, I couldn't put it down
                    • im_happy
                      im_happyThursday, January 23, 2020 at 1:36 pm55 stars
                      I love this book, i'm almost done with the series. I need to read the books in the 3rd arc, then i'm done!