Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 8Y5.6157220

Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

“An authentic work of great talent.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.”—People

“Unusual, powerful, fresh, and fluid.”—Booklist, Starred

“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” —Publishers Weekly

A New York Times Bestseller

A USA Today Bestseller

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A Book Sense Bestseller

Hardcover, 656 pages
Published on April 6, 2004 by Roca Editorial
ISBN-10: 8496284328
ISBN-13: 9788496284326
135 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • squirrelflight
    squirrelflightSaturday, July 18, 2020 at 12:40 pm44 stars
    Can a normal boy living in a small town do something incredible? Eragon certainly doesn’t think so. And that’s why he was more surprised than expected when he got whisked away into a world of elves, dragons, and magic. A world where failure is not an option. But I’ll back up a little. Fifteen-year-old Eragon was hunting in the woods one day...until he found a mysterious stone on the ground. Until a dragon hatched from it. In a whirlwind of action, he has an adventure with the dragon...one that will change his life forever. As he learns the truth about how the “stone”—which was actually an egg—came to be, he has a choice; should he stay put and safe? Or should he make a perilous journey that will make him risk his life? Read this book to find out which one he chooses!
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderMonday, June 8, 2020 at 9:11 am55 starsFeatured
      This series was my dad's favorite series, so I decided to try it out........ I loved it! All of the books were amazing. This is the first book that started it all. Eragon, who lives in Alagaesia, is a poor farm boy who lost his parents years before. He lives with his cousin Roran. One day, he discovers a fine looking egg. but only days later, a dragon hathes out of it, and now Eragon has become a rider. Now it's up to Eragon to save his hometown and defeat Galbatorix, the ruler of all. Along the way, he discovers secrets that can turn his world apart. Will he be able to save everyone and things he loves?
      • ccswishingstar
        ccswishingstarFriday, May 22, 2020 at 12:27 pm55 stars
        Eragon starts off as the nephew of Garrow and lived on a farm in the small village of Carvahall. That is, until Eragon finds a mysterious blue stone in the middle of the Spine. Then, the Ra'zac strike Carvahall in search of the blue stone, and kills Eragon's uncle. Now Eragon, Brom, the storyteller of Carvahall, and Eragon's newly hatched dragon, Saphira, are on the run from the tyrannical King of Algalaesia, King Galbatorix. I really enjoyed because I love the genre fantasy and I recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy or dragons!
        • nac
          nacMonday, May 4, 2020 at 1:25 pm55 stars
          Eragon is a simple farmer boy with no knowledge of the outside world- until a polished blue stone appears in the middle of the woods. It turns out to be a dragon egg, though it was thought that the only eggs left were in the clutches of Galbatorix, an evil king who drove the race of dragons and their riders to almost extinction. Eragon bonds with the dragon whom he names Saphira, and when his uncle, the only father he's ever known, is killed, he and Saphira set out for revenge, accompanied by an old storyteller named Brom. Eragon discovers that as a dragon rider he can use magic, and his journey is full of tragedy, romance, and his new mission to free the land of Galbatorix's tyranny.
          • zikakoki-158613259881
            zikakoki-158613259881Tuesday, April 28, 2020 at 2:13 pm55 stars
            this book is about a boy named Eragon who finds a dragon egg and the egg chooses him and I liked it because it was about war and dragons
            • zikakoki-158613259881
              zikakoki-158613259881Tuesday, April 28, 2020 at 2:02 pm55 stars
              this was a awesome book
              • samurai
                samuraiMonday, March 9, 2020 at 8:15 am55 stars
                This book is fantastic. It had just the right amount of fantasy and magic to make this book interesting. I love the concept of Dragonriders. I feel that I really connect with Eragon and how he feels. Christopher Paolini did an amazing job and I recommend you read this book.
                • oof92
                  oof92Wednesday, December 18, 2019 at 7:04 am55 stars
                  epic great for anyone that enjoys adventure or magic .it has a really good intriguing start and theirs dragons .
                  • AnonymFriday, November 1, 2019 at 7:19 am
                    I like this Book! It's soooo nice and beutiful!
                    • ilikebunnies
                      ilikebunniesWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:47 pm
                      this is a good book about a dragon rider who is running from the law with hid mentour and is trying to follow the resac who killed his family member.