Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

“An authentic work of great talent.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.”—People

“Unusual, powerful, fresh, and fluid.”—Booklist, Starred

“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” —Publishers Weekly

A New York Times Bestseller

A USA Today Bestseller

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A Book Sense Bestseller

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 22, 2013 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0449819531
ISBN-13: 9780449819531
106 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • evelyn21
    evelyn21Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 7:53 pm55 stars
    This is the best book I have ever read in my life!!!!
    • papergirlsfb
      papergirlsfbTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 8:00 am55 stars
      This book gives lasting reading : not only is it thick enough , its good enough . Good enough to be read again , and still a cant-put-it-down book .
      • Josh IsemingerTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 7:55 am
        It is very easy to get sucked into
        • lazanovedo
          lazanovedoThursday, October 26, 2017 at 8:01 am44 stars
          I really liked this book. I stayed interested in it. Its got some harder words in it but, if you feel like you can read words like Alagaƫsia then your all set. This book is a little like Harry Potter in the sense that it has a lot of magic.
          • sophiaisawesome
            sophiaisawesomeTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 4:38 pm
            SOO good! a bit gory though... yeah right it is very gory.
            • FaZe_ReaderFriday, September 1, 2017 at 7:38 am
              This book was cool until the love intrest died.
              • lrohne24
                lrohne24Friday, August 25, 2017 at 4:17 pm44 starsFeatured
                I am not usually the type of person who loves fantasy, but I read Eragon for a reading challenge and liked it. Eragon was a normal boy who lived on a farm with his uncle and cousin. But when he was out hunting one day, he came across a quite unusual blue stone that was hollow and seemed unbreakable. As he was laying in his room one night, the stone starting cracking. He was stunned when a dragon popped out from the egg, which he thought was a stone. From then on, Eragon's life was changed forever. He goes on a quest with the town storyteller Brom to kill the Ra'zac, who murdered Eragon's uncle Garrow. I really loved this book, and plan on reading the rest of the series in the future. I rate this book 4/5 because it was a little boring at times, but overall it was a great book. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 11+.
                • tofu13
                  tofu13Monday, July 17, 2017 at 3:39 pm55 stars
                  BEST SERIES EVER!!!
                  • basenjilover
                    basenjiloverMonday, July 17, 2017 at 3:39 pm55 stars
                    Very intense and well written!
                    • vampirekitten76
                      vampirekitten76Tuesday, April 18, 2017 at 7:25 am55 stars
                      I love this book!!!! better then the movie of course!!! and to be honest I like it better then Wings of fire. Its and awesome book!!! I'm almost finished with the series.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      mar char wrote:

                      I AM almost done with the book o...
                      Wonder

                      mar char wrote:

                      I LOVE MAGIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                      The Magic Thief

                      yebuku57
                      yebuku57 wrote:

                      I read the whole series and its ...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      misstan2003

                      im reading this book in class it...
                      Black and White