Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

“An authentic work of great talent.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.”—People

“Unusual, powerful, fresh, and fluid.”—Booklist, Starred

“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” —Publishers Weekly

A New York Times Bestseller

A USA Today Bestseller

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A Book Sense Bestseller

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 22, 2013 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0449819531
ISBN-13: 9780449819531
99 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • tofu13
    tofu13Monday, July 17, 2017 at 3:39 pm55 stars
    BEST SERIES EVER!!!
    • basenjilover
      basenjiloverMonday, July 17, 2017 at 3:39 pm55 stars
      Very intense and well written!
      • vampirekitten76
        vampirekitten76Tuesday, April 18, 2017 at 7:25 am55 stars
        I love this book!!!! better then the movie of course!!! and to be honest I like it better then Wings of fire. Its and awesome book!!! I'm almost finished with the series.
        • shadowstabber
          shadowstabberMonday, April 17, 2017 at 1:24 pm55 stars
          Great book
          • ladyirene
            ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:45 pm55 stars
            Best book ever I love it 5 stars fo show<3 Although it has some tough words i got im a 4th grader and i read this last year<3
            • ladyirene
              ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:43 pm55 stars
              Best book ever I love it 5 stars fo show<3
              • ladyirene
                ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:42 pm55 stars
                It was a great book dont get me wrong but I did love it its just that it is so hard to read those words <3
                • noahr1189
                  noahr1189Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 6:05 pm55 stars
                  This is such a good book if you're into adventure. It is about a farmer boy named Eragon who finds a dragon egg in the spine and goes with a story teller to defeat the evil empire
                  • mimi12345678945
                    mimi12345678945Monday, January 9, 2017 at 3:06 pm55 stars
                    I loved it
                    • wasthefoxhere
                      wasthefoxhereWednesday, December 14, 2016 at 10:40 am55 stars
                      I liked it because it was funny and sad at once. I like pancakes with syrup and big fat chickens.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      S wrote:

                      Kronos is powerful because he is...
                      The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson...

                      kiwicuts24 wrote:

                      exciting, funny, you really glue...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      kiwicuts24 wrote:

                      Amazing book, amazing author, am...
                      Smile

                      Jeff wrote:

                      It is so good 😋😋😋😋😋🍫😍😂👍
                      Smile