Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

“An authentic work of great talent.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.”—People

“Unusual, powerful, fresh, and fluid.”—Booklist, Starred

“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” —Publishers Weekly

A New York Times Bestseller

A USA Today Bestseller

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A Book Sense Bestseller

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 22, 2013 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0449819531
ISBN-13: 9780449819531
102 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • sophiaisawesome
    sophiaisawesomeTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 4:38 pm
    SOO good! a bit gory though... yeah right it is very gory.
    • FaZe_ReaderFriday, September 1, 2017 at 7:38 am
      This book was cool until the love intrest died.
      • lrohne2005
        lrohne2005Friday, August 25, 2017 at 4:17 pm44 starsFeatured
        I am not usually the type of person who loves fantasy, but I read Eragon for a reading challenge and liked it. Eragon was a normal boy who lived on a farm with his uncle and cousin. But when he was out hunting one day, he came across a quite unusual blue stone that was hollow and seemed unbreakable. As he was laying in his room one night, the stone starting cracking. He was stunned when a dragon popped out from the egg, which he thought was a stone. From then on, Eragon's life was changed forever. He goes on a quest with the town storyteller Brom to kill the Ra'zac, who murdered Eragon's uncle Garrow. I really loved this book, and plan on reading the rest of the series in the future. I rate this book 4/5 because it was a little boring at times, but overall it was a great book. I recommend this book to boys and girls ages 11+.
        • tofu13
          tofu13Monday, July 17, 2017 at 3:39 pm55 stars
          BEST SERIES EVER!!!
          • basenjilover
            basenjiloverMonday, July 17, 2017 at 3:39 pm55 stars
            Very intense and well written!
            • vampirekitten76
              vampirekitten76Tuesday, April 18, 2017 at 7:25 am55 stars
              I love this book!!!! better then the movie of course!!! and to be honest I like it better then Wings of fire. Its and awesome book!!! I'm almost finished with the series.
              • shadowstabber
                shadowstabberMonday, April 17, 2017 at 1:24 pm55 stars
                Great book
                • ladyirene
                  ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:45 pm55 stars
                  Best book ever I love it 5 stars fo show<3 Although it has some tough words i got im a 4th grader and i read this last year<3
                  • ladyirene
                    ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:43 pm55 stars
                    Best book ever I love it 5 stars fo show<3
                    • ladyirene
                      ladyireneMonday, March 13, 2017 at 2:42 pm55 stars
                      It was a great book dont get me wrong but I did love it its just that it is so hard to read those words <3

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Lilly wrote:

                      I love the books by Raina telini...
                      Smile

                      mirsoftball8

                      This book is my favorite book! T...
                      Wonder

                      mirsoftball8

                      Another great book in the 'Diary...
                      Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      callie_b
                      callie_b wrote:

                      11-year-old Morrigan Crow has al...
                      Nevermoor: The Trials of Morriga...