Eragon (Inheritance, Book 1)

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 8Y5.6157220
Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

“An authentic work of great talent.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.”—People

“Unusual, powerful, fresh, and fluid.”—Booklist, Starred

“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.”—Publishers Weekly

A New York Times Bestseller

A USA Today Bestseller

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A Book Sense Bestseller
Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 22, 2013 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0449819531
ISBN-13: 9780449819531
67 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • mimi12345678945
    mimi12345678945Monday, January 9, 2017 at 3:06 pm55 stars
    I loved it
    • wasthefoxhere
      wasthefoxhereWednesday, December 14, 2016 at 10:40 am55 stars
      I liked it because it was funny and sad at once. I like pancakes with syrup and big fat chickens.
      • iifreeze
        iifreezeWednesday, September 28, 2016 at 10:24 pm55 stars
        One day, a hunter and farmer named Eragon stumbles upon a hollow, indestructible, stone in the middle of a dangerous and unknown forest called the Spine. About a week after, a small dragon hatchling named Saphira comes out. According to a man named Brom who proclaims he speaks the truth, it has been thousands of years since the last Rider died and the evil king stole away to raise an evil hatchling. The king finds a lonely Rider and convinces him to join the evil. Many, many, many years later the elf woman is chased by a Shade and the elf sends the egg to the Spine. Eragon finds the egg of Saphira and his journey begins. Will he succeed or be utterly destroyed? Find out by reading Eragon: Inheritance Book 1. I would greatly recommend this book to other kids from Grade 4 and up. It is a very thrilling story and Eragon becomes a man with nothing to lose except for himself and his dragon. Together they chase down the men who killed Eragon's uncle. Once again, read the book to find out what happens!
        • shcoolgirl3616Saturday, September 3, 2016 at 5:38 am
          I was in 4th grade when I read this series and it was the BEST! It took me 2 weeks in finishing the 1st book. I'm thinking about reading it again.
          • Nikki777Wednesday, August 3, 2016 at 9:35 pm
            Okay, I was in seventh grade when one of my friends recommended it to me. Let me just tell you, I read so much books in my lifetime but this was LITERALLY THE BEST! I've read the entire series, all four books. All of them were amazing! Detailed writing, really good plot, really good everything! I would really recommend the series to anyone who likes to read fantasy, is patient in reading, and someone with a pretty high reading level because lots of the words were complicated. But the books were really good, trust me. I would also recommend the series to people ages 12+ because some parts were quite violent. BUT I WOULD DEFINETLY RATE THE SERIES 5+ STARS!! Anyone looking for a good fantasy book has come to right place! :)
            • pngkate
              pngkateMonday, July 25, 2016 at 8:38 pm
              I absolutely LOVE this series! I will probably read these books a hundred times over and still get a thrill from every chapter.
              • saphlover249
                saphlover249Tuesday, March 22, 2016 at 4:20 pm55 stars
                great if you love harry potter and lord of the rings
                • bb-8girl
                  bb-8girlSaturday, March 12, 2016 at 2:32 pm55 stars
                  to awsome.
                  • tashadtasha
                    tashadtashaSaturday, February 13, 2016 at 9:58 am55 stars
                    This is an amazing series!
                    • pokemonmaster25
                      pokemonmaster25Tuesday, December 29, 2015 at 9:52 am55 stars
                      This series is why I love dragons

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      neoncat
                      neoncat wrote:

                      Wonder is becoming a movie this ...
                      Wonder

                      JesseJump wrote:

                      This is a very detailed portraya...
                      The Bad Beginning (A Series of U...

                      lucasb2007
                      lucasb2007 wrote:

                      I really loved everything about ...
                      Caveboy Dave: More Scrawny Than ...

                      lucasb2007
                      lucasb2007 wrote:

                      I really like what they did with...
                      Hamster Princess: Harriet the In...