Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 8Y5.6157220

Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

“An authentic work of great talent.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.”—People

“Unusual, powerful, fresh, and fluid.”—Booklist, Starred

“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” —Publishers Weekly

A New York Times Bestseller

A USA Today Bestseller

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A Book Sense Bestseller

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 22, 2013 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0449819531
ISBN-13: 9780449819531
116 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • iifreeze
    iifreezeMonday, August 20, 2018 at 6:29 pm55 starsFeatured
    Finished this entire series about 1 or 2 years ago, and I'd just like to say that Christopher Paolini is a great author. This is the start to the Inheritance series, a series featuring a young boy named Eragon (who grows older later in the series) who is pulled into an adventure with many twists and turns when his uncle is murdered in their village by the third force (I'm trying not to spoil this) that is in this series. Eragon figures out that Galbatorix, the so-called "Dragon King", is trying to get rid of him and rule the world. He travels with an old man named Brom and his loyal dragon, Saphira, whose egg he finds is the forest earlier on. The story slowly progresses with surprises around every corner and intense action. This book is honestly AMAZING and I would reccomend it to all people over the age of 7.
    • ravenclaw35
      ravenclaw35Saturday, August 11, 2018 at 4:05 pm11 star
      Cool, so far.
      • ERAGONROCKSTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:21 pm
        This series is definitely an all time favorite. I am in 6th grade and finished the series in less than a month. My favorite book was Brisingr. Thank you so much for writing this book, Christopher Paolini!!!!
        • septembergirl
          septembergirlSunday, April 15, 2018 at 12:48 pm22 stars
          It was ok.
          • septembergirl
            septembergirlSunday, April 15, 2018 at 12:48 pm22 stars
            I like a lot of fiction its just got to be the right kind of fiction. Not my favorite series.
            • navrax290
              navrax290Wednesday, March 14, 2018 at 1:31 pm55 stars
              im reading it right now love it :D
              • thatonebookworm
                thatonebookwormWednesday, February 14, 2018 at 7:05 pm55 stars
                loved it, read it a million times.
                • nikuinlimbo
                  nikuinlimboMonday, February 5, 2018 at 3:25 pm55 stars
                  It is a really good book with lots of action and adventure and funny moments. There are 4 books in this series.
                  • hailey1032
                    hailey1032Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 7:53 pm55 stars
                    This is the best book I have ever read in my life!!!!
                    • papergirlsfb
                      papergirlsfbTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 8:00 am55 stars
                      This book gives lasting reading : not only is it thick enough , its good enough . Good enough to be read again , and still a cant-put-it-down book .

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      prestyu
                      prestyu wrote:

                      This is the first Geronimo Stilt...
                      Singing Sensation (Geronimo Stil...

                      hellgirl10981

                      this seems pretty cool? jk, i L...
                      Dark Lord: The Early Years

                      hellgirl10981

                      ummmm, who were the invaders aga...
                      Boxers (Boxers & Saints)

                      pdawg272
                      pdawg272 wrote:

                      this book looks alright i like it.
                      The Sword Thief (The 39 Clues, B...

                      Our Apps and Plugins