Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 8Y5.6157220

Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

“An authentic work of great talent.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.”—People

“Unusual, powerful, fresh, and fluid.”—Booklist, Starred

“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” —Publishers Weekly

A New York Times Bestseller

A USA Today Bestseller

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A Book Sense Bestseller

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on October 22, 2013 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0449819531
ISBN-13: 9780449819531
115 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bookworm35
    bookworm35Saturday, August 11, 2018 at 4:05 pm11 star
    Cool, so far.
    • ERAGONROCKSTuesday, June 5, 2018 at 9:21 pm
      This series is definitely an all time favorite. I am in 6th grade and finished the series in less than a month. My favorite book was Brisingr. Thank you so much for writing this book, Christopher Paolini!!!!
      • septembergirl
        septembergirlSunday, April 15, 2018 at 12:48 pm22 stars
        It was ok.
        • septembergirl
          septembergirlSunday, April 15, 2018 at 12:48 pm22 stars
          I like a lot of fiction its just got to be the right kind of fiction. Not my favorite series.
          • navrax290
            navrax290Wednesday, March 14, 2018 at 1:31 pm55 stars
            im reading it right now love it :D
            • thatonebookworm
              thatonebookwormWednesday, February 14, 2018 at 7:05 pm55 stars
              loved it, read it a million times.
              • nikuinlimbo
                nikuinlimboMonday, February 5, 2018 at 3:25 pm55 stars
                It is a really good book with lots of action and adventure and funny moments. There are 4 books in this series.
                • hailey1032
                  hailey1032Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 7:53 pm55 stars
                  This is the best book I have ever read in my life!!!!
                  • papergirlsfb
                    papergirlsfbTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 8:00 am55 stars
                    This book gives lasting reading : not only is it thick enough , its good enough . Good enough to be read again , and still a cant-put-it-down book .
                    • Josh IsemingerTuesday, November 7, 2017 at 7:55 am
                      It is very easy to get sucked into

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      aaronwalker

                      I Like It Thanks Dav Pilkey.☺
                      Captain Underpants and the Tyran...

                      fchianga
                      fchianga wrote:

                      it is a really funny bookie that...
                      Big Nate: Silent But Deadly

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      Yes, fairy tale twists are amazing!
                      Geekerella: A Fangirl Fairy Tale

                      hanpink800
                      hanpink800 wrote:

                      I love love love love love love ...
                      The Bad Guys (The Bad Guys #1)

                      Our Apps and Plugins