Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 8Y5.6157220

Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy—until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save—or destroy—the Empire.

“An authentic work of great talent.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.”—People

“Unusual, powerful, fresh, and fluid.”—Booklist, Starred

“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” —Publishers Weekly

A New York Times Bestseller

A USA Today Bestseller

A Wall Street Journal Bestseller

A Book Sense Bestseller

Hardcover, 528 pages
Published on June 25, 2003 by Alfred A. Knopf
ISBN-10: 0375826688
ISBN-13: 9780375826689
126 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ilikebunnies
    ilikebunniesWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 7:47 pm
    this is a good book about a dragon rider who is running from the law with hid mentour and is trying to follow the resac who killed his family member.
    • soulreaper8
      soulreaper8Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 3:52 am55 stars
      i love this book just like lord of the rings and wings of fire
      • nac
        nacThursday, May 9, 2019 at 1:45 pm55 stars
        This book is amazing! This series is one of my favorites. I have read it through about 3 or 4 times.
        • Dragonmaster246Friday, March 29, 2019 at 7:08 am
          Better then Wings of Fire and I love Wings ofFire!!
          • Dragonmaster246Friday, March 29, 2019 at 7:06 am
            Need more books!!!
            • Dragonmaster246Friday, March 29, 2019 at 7:04 am
              I LOVE dragons!!!
              • Dragonmaster246Friday, March 29, 2019 at 7:03 am
                Best book I ever read it’s amazing
                • holbol101
                  holbol101Tuesday, March 19, 2019 at 8:53 pm55 stars
                  Awesome series loved it haven’t read twice Yet but want to
                  • holbol101
                    holbol101Tuesday, March 19, 2019 at 8:49 pm55 stars
                    This is an amazing book and has a great storyline I fully recommend this book for all ages from 7 up. The inheritance series has a very intriguing ending that just makes you want to shout “give us another book man, oh and while you’re make another five!!!!!” Anyway this is very good series so you have to read it!
                    • aaa57
                      aaa57Monday, March 4, 2019 at 4:50 pm
                      I loved the movie. I want to read the book sooooo bad.
                      • nac
                        nacThursday, May 9, 2019 at 1:51 pm55 stars
                        I hate to tell you this, but the movie wasn't even close to the book. They got the basic story right, but left out so many details. The book was way better.