Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep

Book 2 of 6 in the Emily Windsnap Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 2 - 5T3.742761
Emily Windsnap is thrilled to arrive at her new home, a secret island near the Bermuda Triangle where humans and merfolk live together, and where being a girl who grows a tail as soon as she enters the water isn't a problem. Being Emily, she can't resist exploring forbidden places - and as a result, she inadvertently wakes the kraken, the legendary deep sea monster who has been asleep for two hundred years. What follows makes a terrifically exciting adventure - not just for Emily, but for her old adversary Mandy Rushton, whose parents have taken her on a cruise and whose father thinks he can make his fortune if he catches a mermaid. Their voices alternate as the kraken's terrifying tentacles rise from the deep, threatening the future of the islanders, and kraken worshippers try to sink the cruise ship. Mermaid magic, a fabulous monster, and wonderful descriptions of undersea life make this a rich fantasy that is a real page turner and has all the charm and warmth of Liz Kessler's first book, THE TAIL OF EMILY WINDSNAP.
Paperback, 240 pages
Published on April 10, 2007 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763633011
ISBN-13: 9780763633011
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • howls
    howlsFriday, June 12, 2020 at 7:10 am55 stars
    The is a great book it's a girl who is part human but is mermaid too
    • kirsten80Thursday, September 12, 2019 at 10:32 am
      I love this book
      • ccswishingstar
        ccswishingstarMonday, July 1, 2019 at 7:17 pm55 stars
        Emily and Shona went exploring in a and accidently awoke Neptune's pet sea monster, the kraken! They discover that only they could control the sea monster to calm it down because they were the ones that had awakened it. I enjoyed this book a lot!
        • pumpkin40107
          pumpkin40107Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 4:37 pm55 stars
          I love ❤️ Emily windsnap books because they are amazing to read and it talks about how a little girl becomes a mermaid 🧜‍♀️ and bring back her dad home.the best and sad story I had ever read in my whole entire life.😍😻👍🏻😆😉 it is also my most favorite book.
          • jotuxokoto
            jotuxokotoThursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:51 am
            I haven't read this book but it is really looks interesting
            • papihagosi
              papihagosiMonday, October 23, 2017 at 8:00 am
              it is a very good book and i really want to know what is going to happen
              • kyrait
                kyraitThursday, December 3, 2015 at 5:34 am
                Emily Windsnap is a half mermaid and half human. She just moved to a new house so that she can be closer to her merfriends. There she went to school under the sea and made a lot of friends. Of course in the ocean there are some places that are not allowed. They weren't allowed to be near the Bermuda Triangle where the legend said it's dangerous. So Emily and a couple of her friends went there and as they got closer they realise that there is something wrong about it, they feel like there is some kind of monster in there. When Emily got back home and she told her father about it, her father immediately went over there to check it out. There was a cruise ship under there and inside there was a monster. Emily and her dad had some father-daughter time defeating the monster.
                • catsrule
                  catsruleFriday, October 9, 2015 at 7:36 pm55 stars
                  I loved this book when i was younger!
                  • gymnast19
                    gymnast19Thursday, October 8, 2015 at 2:53 pm
                    This book is about a girl Emily who just found out she is a mermaid and is moving to a mermaid island and discovers a kraken. Emily must fight kraken to save her "old friend" from sinking to depths of the sea. With mermaid magic, a furious monster, and a fisherman determined to find a mermaid, this story is completely nerve wrecking.
                    • fluffywolf2121
                      fluffywolf2121Monday, October 5, 2015 at 3:36 pm
                      I really want to read this