Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5n/a4.369718
Grace Blakely is absolutely certain of three things:

1. She is not crazy.
2. Her mother was murdered.
3. Someday she is going to find the killer and make him pay.

As certain as Grace is about these facts, nobody else believes her -- so there's no one she can completely trust. Not her grandfather, a powerful ambassador. Not her new friends, who all live on Embassy Row. Not Alexei, the Russian boy next door, who is keeping his eye on Grace for reasons she neither likes nor understands.

Everybody wants Grace to put on a pretty dress and a pretty smile, blocking out all her unpretty thoughts. But they can't control Grace -- no more than Grace can control what she knows or what she needs to do. Her past has come back to hunt her . . . and if she doesn't stop it, Grace isn't the only one who will get hurt. Because on Embassy Row, the countries of the world stand like dominoes, and one wrong move can make them all fall down.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on January 20, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545654742
ISBN-13: 9780545654746
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • AlexisSunday, August 18, 2019 at 12:37 pm
    I have this book at my house
    • kgautam
      kgautamWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:18 am44 stars
      very interesting, loved the characters. pretty cool to see all of these different nations coming together in one place and even their children becoming friends.
      • kgautam
        kgautamTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:28 pm44 stars
        very interesting, loved the characters.
        • 25miricke
          25mirickeFriday, April 6, 2018 at 8:14 am55 stars
          My teacher pick it out for me and i LOVED it my favorite character was Noah
          • pieasaurusrex21
            pieasaurusrex21Monday, May 22, 2017 at 2:44 pm33 stars
            I personally didn't like it.
            • crystal010
              crystal010Sunday, November 20, 2016 at 9:34 am
              This fiction/mystery book by Ally Carter is a really emotional book, as the main character in the first book of Embassy Row Series, Grace Blakely travels from her home in America to Embassy Row every summer.Grace meets a woman called Ms. Chancellor who works with her grandfather at the american embassy.Grace tries her best to figure out who assassinated her mother since she was 13 years old, she vowed to get vengeance. This is a really good book with a really good ending,actually a very shocking ending as Ms.Chancellor explains to Grace that it was Grace herself that killed her mother. All fall down is a very thrilling book with a lot of twists that brings it all together.
              • memoiloveit
                memoiloveitThursday, October 27, 2016 at 2:26 pm55 stars
                All Fall Down, a mystery and fiction book by Ally Carter, is the first book in the Embassy Row Series. The protagonist, Grace Blakely, travels to live in Embassy Row after living in America and just visiting Embassy Row every summer, a city with embassies for every country. She meets a woman named Ms. Chancellor, one of the people who work with her grandfather at the American embassy, who is not who she seems to be. When there, Grace tries to figure out who killed her mother when she was 13 years old and is determined to get revenge on the killer, with the help of her new friends. Everyone, excluding Grace’s friends, just want her to stay out of trouble and they try to stop her from attempting to figure out who killed her mother by telling her it was a freak accident. In the end, everyone thinks she is crazy although she keeps saying she is not. When Grace thinks she finds her mother’s murderer, the “scarred man”, she and her friends spy on him, until they become doubtful of Grace and think she is crazy. Grace suffers many flashbacks of the memory when her mother was killed and the things they used to do before she was killed, but she does not remember who actually killed her mother. When Grace is with the person who ordered the “scarred man” to kill her mother, Ms. Chancellor shoots him before he can hurt Grace. After that, she explains to Grace that the person who actually killed her mother was her own daughter, Grace, although Dominic, who Grace calls the “scarred man” was ordered to kill her mother but Grace accidentally did instead. The person who wanted Grace’s mother dead also wants her dead, but Dominic and Ms. Chancellor work together to keep Grace safe. A quote from All Fall Down that connects to its overall message is, “‘I’m the reason she’s dead.’” “‘It was an accident.’” (Carter 304) This quote connects to the book’s overall message because the overall message is that things are best kept secret for a reason. Nobody told Grace that she killed her mother until the end because they do not want her craziness and mental traumas to get worse than they already were. It is best when Grace does not know that she killed her mother because everybody thinks that they can convince Grace that it was an accident and there is no “scarred man”, but Grace keeps trying to prove that she is right about the “scarred man” murdering her mother. Grace has to be taken to the hospital, then many doctors, after learning that she killed her mother. I can connect this book to my life because it shows acceptance and trust through the people who try to help Grace. She has to trust her grandfather, brother, Ms. Chancellor, and friends, that it was an accident, but since she does not believe them, she has to find out the truth. In the end, she also has to accept what she did in the past because you can not undo something like that. If Grace just accepts what everybody told her in the beginning, she would not have caused trouble for other countries in Embassy Row. One wrong move in All Fall Down that Grace makes could have started a war with other countries. From this book, I learned to trust things that the people I trust tell me, even if I do not want to because it can be for my own good. I also learned that I should just accept things sooner than later because the thoughts will just build up until it can not be taken anymore, like Grace, and then you’ll be in real danger. The people that tell you the things you have to accept could be telling it to you with the best intentions, not the worst, like how Grace thought Dominic was going to kill her. The final thing I learned is that sometimes people that you trust lie to you for the right reasons. When Grace’s grandfather, brother, and Ms. Chancellor do not tell her who actually killed her mother, Grace could have felt that they are lying to her and can not be trusted, but they only lie to protect her.
                • emmam14
                  emmam14Tuesday, January 10, 2017 at 1:55 pm55 stars
                  Now I Really Want To Read The Book!!!! Thanks For The Comment!!!
                • blazingprincess
                  blazingprincessMonday, August 15, 2016 at 5:35 pm55 stars
                  This book is really emotional, it was really interesting how the author wrote the finale of the book, as she finds out something completely shocking.
                  • destinyg2223
                    destinyg2223Monday, August 8, 2016 at 1:08 pm
                    This novel left me on the edge of my seat the whole time.
                    • strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234Thursday, July 28, 2016 at 6:13 pm55 stars
                      When i read this book i cried i cried and cried. I REALLY PRAY FOR HER I FEEL SO BAD IF I COULD TURN the clock the back to give her mom back.