Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.652994

This beloved Newbery Honor-winning story about a feisty heroine is sure to enchant readers new and old.

At her birth, Ella of Frell receives a foolish fairy's gift—the “gift” of obedience. Ella must obey any order, whether it's to hop on one foot for a day and a half, or to chop off her own head! But strong-willed Ella does not accept her fate...

Against a bold backdrop of princes, ogres, giants, wicked stepsisters, and fairy godmothers, Ella goes on a quest to break the curse forever.

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064407055
ISBN-13: 9780064407052
91 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sasscat
    sasscatThursday, January 31, 2019 at 8:34 am55 stars
    Hey guys I'm in 1st place on the leaderboard of the quiz come beat me
    • sasscat
      sasscatSaturday, January 26, 2019 at 11:04 am55 stars
      Read the book seen the film #totes amaze
      • sashaTuesday, August 15, 2017 at 12:39 pm
        this is the best book ever. it has a different launguage that you can learn.
        • armcginn
          armcginnMonday, June 19, 2017 at 9:16 am55 stars
          Loved this book, it was amazing and enchanting! Characters are magical but seem real.
          • bookqueen1o13
            bookqueen1o13Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6:16 pm55 stars
            BEST BOOK EVER READ IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
            • spaced_out_bassTuesday, January 3, 2017 at 2:49 pm
              One of my all time favorites, and I have read thousands of books! Instagrammer, you MUST read this! It is so awesome!
              • bookqueen1o13
                bookqueen1o13Monday, December 5, 2016 at 6:47 am55 stars
                book amazing i read it many times i love midevil books so thats all of gail carson levine
                • darkswan
                  darkswanMonday, December 5, 2016 at 1:16 am
                  I really like this book
                  • kitten7260
                    kitten7260Friday, December 2, 2016 at 3:49 am55 stars
                    This book is like Cinderella but also different. Ella is a girl who got a "gift" at birth, but really it acts as a big curse around her life. She has to be obedient all the time! Ella soon is upset and takes off on a amazing quest. You should definitely read this book!
                    • oreoisslay
                      oreoisslayTuesday, November 29, 2016 at 2:54 pm
                      I have seen the movie is the book good???
                      • bookqueen1o13
                        bookqueen1o13Monday, December 5, 2016 at 6:50 am55 stars
                        the movie is way not as good as the book book vs. movie ........BOOK !!!!!!!!!! THE BOOK IS BETTER

                      Our Apps and Plugins