Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.652994

This beloved Newbery Honor-winning story about a feisty heroine is sure to enchant readers new and old.

At her birth, Ella of Frell receives a foolish fairy's gift—the “gift” of obedience. Ella must obey any order, whether it's to hop on one foot for a day and a half, or to chop off her own head! But strong-willed Ella does not accept her fate...

Against a bold backdrop of princes, ogres, giants, wicked stepsisters, and fairy godmothers, Ella goes on a quest to break the curse forever.

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064407055
ISBN-13: 9780064407052
93 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • janamh
    janamhSunday, February 16, 2020 at 3:08 pm55 stars
    This is awesome!
    • reader_red
      reader_redFriday, July 19, 2019 at 8:33 am44 stars
      At birth, Ella is given the gift of Obedience, or more like the curse of Obedience. Now Elly has to obey every order she is given.
      • 26hnbennett
        26hnbennettThursday, May 16, 2019 at 7:05 pm44 stars
        I think you should read this book because it has heart and it is really sentimental. No wonder this book was nominated for a New Berry.
        • sasscat
          sasscatThursday, January 31, 2019 at 8:34 am55 stars
          Hey guys I'm in 1st place on the leaderboard of the quiz come beat me
          • sasscat
            sasscatSaturday, January 26, 2019 at 11:04 am55 stars
            Read the book seen the film #totes amaze
            • sashaTuesday, August 15, 2017 at 12:39 pm
              this is the best book ever. it has a different launguage that you can learn.
              • armcginn
                armcginnMonday, June 19, 2017 at 9:16 am55 stars
                Loved this book, it was amazing and enchanting! Characters are magical but seem real.
                • bookqueen1o13
                  bookqueen1o13Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6:16 pm55 stars
                  BEST BOOK EVER READ IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
                  • spaced_out_bassTuesday, January 3, 2017 at 2:49 pm
                    One of my all time favorites, and I have read thousands of books! Instagrammer, you MUST read this! It is so awesome!
                    • bookqueen1o13
                      bookqueen1o13Monday, December 5, 2016 at 6:47 am55 stars
                      book amazing i read it many times i love midevil books so thats all of gail carson levine