This beloved Newbery Honor-winning story about a feisty heroine is sure to enchant readers new and old.

At her birth, Ella of Frell receives a foolish fairy's gift—the “gift” of obedience. Ella must obey any order, whether it's to hop on one foot for a day and a half, or to chop off her own head! But strong-willed Ella does not accept her fate...

Against a bold backdrop of princes, ogres, giants, wicked stepsisters, and fairy godmothers, Ella goes on a quest to break the curse forever.

Paperback, 240 pages
Published on May 2, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0064407055
ISBN-13: 9780064407052
89 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • sashaTuesday, August 15, 2017 at 12:39 pm
    this is the best book ever. it has a different launguage that you can learn.
    • armcginn
      armcginnMonday, June 19, 2017 at 9:16 am55 stars
      Loved this book, it was amazing and enchanting! Characters are magical but seem real.
      • bookqueen1o13
        bookqueen1o13Thursday, May 4, 2017 at 6:16 pm55 stars
        BEST BOOK EVER READ IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
        • spaced_out_bassTuesday, January 3, 2017 at 2:49 pm
          One of my all time favorites, and I have read thousands of books! Instagrammer, you MUST read this! It is so awesome!
          • bookqueen1o13
            bookqueen1o13Monday, December 5, 2016 at 6:47 am55 stars
            book amazing i read it many times i love midevil books so thats all of gail carson levine
            • darkswan
              darkswanMonday, December 5, 2016 at 1:16 am
              I really like this book
              • kitten7260
                kitten7260Friday, December 2, 2016 at 3:49 am55 stars
                This book is like Cinderella but also different. Ella is a girl who got a "gift" at birth, but really it acts as a big curse around her life. She has to be obedient all the time! Ella soon is upset and takes off on a amazing quest. You should definitely read this book!
                • oreoisslay
                  oreoisslayTuesday, November 29, 2016 at 2:54 pm
                  I have seen the movie is the book good???
                  • bookqueen1o13
                    bookqueen1o13Monday, December 5, 2016 at 6:50 am55 stars
                    the movie is way not as good as the book book vs. movie ........BOOK !!!!!!!!!! THE BOOK IS BETTER
                  • dictionary
                    dictionaryTuesday, November 29, 2016 at 1:38 pm55 starsFeatured
                    Based on Cinderella, this story has a big difference. More twists and turns! Ella never wanted to be cursed. Cursed to be obedient, that is. You're probably wanting to know how it started. Well, this gift-giver-lover fairy, Lucinda, gave her it when she was first born. Lucinda didn't know how bad the curse would be. The curse effected the way she acted to Prince Charmont. It gets worse when her mother dies. I totally do not like this part. When I read it, I freaked out. It gets even worse when her father marries Dame Olga. Hattie and Olive, two bossy sisters, become Ella's sister. But at the ball, when Hattie reveals who Ella is, Ella takes off. She was suppose to be ''Lela''. That's because Char was not suppose to know her identity. Suddenly, Char demands to see her, so he lines everyone outside. When he finds Ella, the ordering is extreme. Gail Carson Levine made this book more magical then the original Cinderella. This book totally deserved to win a Newbery Honer.
                    • 907smit4
                      907smit4Monday, August 29, 2016 at 3:04 pm
                      Wayyyyy different from the movie

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Lilly wrote:

                      I love the books by Raina telini...
                      Smile

                      mirsoftball8

                      This book is my favorite book! T...
                      Wonder

                      mirsoftball8

                      Another great book in the 'Diary...
                      Dog Days (Diary of a Wimpy Kid)

                      callie_b
                      callie_b wrote:

                      11-year-old Morrigan Crow has al...
                      Nevermoor: The Trials of Morriga...