Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grade 5n/a5.076968

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on May 30, 2017 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN-10: 0062290134
ISBN-13: 9780062290137
2 Book Reviews
  • bookwookie
    bookwookiealmost 5 years55 stars
    absolutely incredible! i've read it at least three times over
    • meandmymonsters
      meandmymonstersalmost 5 years55 stars
      This book is amazing! The story has really deep meanings, from getting over the death of a loved one to suicide. The art in it is AWESOME I love it!