Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.143811

Starting with her birthday in March, every chapter brings a new month and a new event in Winnie's life. From surviving her teenage sister's grumpy mood swings in April to dealing with prissy new rival Gail Grayson in September, there's a calendar full of ups and downs of being eleven years old. Especially hard for Winnie is the growing distance between herself and her best friend, Amanda, as both girls grow into different social circles. The big and little moments of Winnie's year are captured with honesty and warmth, and her sharp observations and infectious enthusiasm make for hilarious storytelling. Eleven-year-olds of all ages will discover themselves in this winning young heroine on the brink of adolescence.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on February 9, 2004 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525471650
ISBN-13: 9780525471653
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • foreverbadwolf
    foreverbadwolfThursday, January 29, 2015 at 5:13 pm
    I'm reading this book because it looked very interesting and it is!!!!!!!!!! I absolutely recommend this book it is hilarious so far!!!!
    • nikukyu
      nikukyuMonday, September 29, 2014 at 5:37 am55 stars
      It is one of the Winne Perry birthday series. It is filled with Winne's funny, and imaginative perceptive of the world. Winne's best friend, Amanda, slowly breaks away from her, because she wanted to be more popular. Why try to be popular, when you can be one of a kind,fabulously your self! Even though it is sometimes is hard to do so...
      • DoogsTuesday, March 11, 2014 at 4:49 pm
        Absolutely READ THIS SERIES! OMGOMGOMG! Amazing! Ten, eleven, twelve, thirteen, thirteen plus 1!
        • schultzmk
          schultzmkSaturday, October 26, 2013 at 8:08 am
          I really want to read this book because it sounds really good, so does the summary. I also want to read the sequals, Twelve, Thirteen, and Thirteen+1
          • lizbug123
            lizbug123Friday, April 26, 2013 at 8:19 am
            It is an awesome book.And the cooll thing about the book is that it has a series
            • cherrystar
              cherrystarSaturday, April 20, 2013 at 5:07 pm55 stars
              I love this entire series!!! Its amazing!!! Now you can have a partner to grow up with. Don't think of that as cheesy thought! lol :)!!!
              • warinSunday, July 15, 2012 at 6:18 pm
                is it true that it was boring. i never read it before the fist time i will buy the book but i see another book so...
                • hey
                  heySunday, July 15, 2012 at 1:10 pm
                  This is a great book!!! It's full of suspense and uncovering mystery. You should read this book. Iit's amazing and you'll enjoy it alot!!
                  • orange367
                    orange367Thursday, April 12, 2012 at 8:12 pm
                    A wonderful start to the beginning of the Winnie Years series! I really enjoyed watching (okay fine, reading as) Winnie grows up from a "child" to be a teenager. Lauren Myracle has done a marvelous job with this set! :)