#1 New York Times Best Seller!

"Eleanor & Park reminded me not just what it's like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it's like to be young and in love with a book."-John Green, The New York Times Book Review

Bono met his wife in high school, Park says.
So did Jerry Lee Lewis, Eleanor answers.
I'm not kidding, he says.
You should be, she says, we're 16.
What about Romeo and Juliet?
Shallow, confused, then dead.
I love you, Park says.
Wherefore art thou, Eleanor answers.
I'm not kidding, he says.
You should be.

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is the story of two star-crossed misfits-smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you'll remember your own first love-and just how hard it pulled you under.

A New York Times Best Seller!
A 2014 Michael L. Printz Honor Book for Excellence in Young Adult Literature
Eleanor & Park is the winner of the 2013 Boston Globe Horn Book Award for Best Fiction Book.
A Publishers Weekly Best Children's Book of 2013
A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2013
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of 2013
An NPR Best Book of 2013

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on February 26, 2013 by St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN-10: 1250012570
ISBN-13: 9781250064875
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kkgautamm
    kkgautammWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 1:53 pm55 stars
    i love how good this book is, and it shows that not everything in life is perfect! i absolutely loved it, and even though it makes me cry, i would read it again and again.
    • catpath13
      catpath13Monday, June 3, 2019 at 2:54 pm44 stars
      This book is very well-written and thought provoking, but it contains sexual content and mature themes that may not be appropriate for younger readers.
      • kkgautamm
        kkgautammWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:02 am55 stars
        amazing novel. i have read it multiple times and every time i notice something new , and it makes the story even better. i cried multiple times.
        • popman123
          popman123Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 10:05 am55 stars
          Amazing but a little hard to keep track of who you are reading about.
          • demosthenes
            demosthenesWednesday, October 19, 2016 at 4:40 pm55 stars
            I saw the cover and imeadiatly i was hooked, my friend told me to borrow it and i loved it, Eleanor: comes from a rough home where they have little money and a jerk step dad. Park: comes from a crazy back round and is having identity problems. From the moment they see each other on the bus, it's not exactly "love at first sight." But they begin to hang out anyway, and Parks friends ditch when he starts hanging out with Eleanor. Park introduces Eleanor to cool comics and great music...but Eleanor doesn't want to Park to know much about her an her run down life.the problem with Park is that the more he knows about her the more he starts to like her. Their love grows stronger throughout the book, until the devistating ending that leaves readers sobbing and wanting more of Eleanor and Park. the author does a great job at showing the two perspectives and the reader always falls in love with the characters. Warning: the languge is strong and a few sexual scenes. other than those readers FALL IN LOVE with both of them and i greatly recommend Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell!
            • teresac
              teresacSunday, November 15, 2015 at 5:47 pm
              I thought I am not really like this book, because they’re love became gone in the end, I hate bad ending, the bad ending made people sad. But I like when they become love, it will been very cute and made people been happy to for reading that part , and this book also includes some problems for family. Eleanor’s mom and dad become divorce, and her mother find a new boyfriend, Eleanor didn’t like him, but she need to live with him. But in the end, she can smile for her new father, I thought it made the ending more better, if the author can change the end, it will be better.
              • vickyh
                vickyhTuesday, October 13, 2015 at 5:36 am44 stars
                As you are reading this book, you will feel heartwarming and heartbreaking all at the same time. Rainbow Rowell creates her characters lively and perfectly so that we can all relate to their problems and circumstances. Even both of them knew that they somehow they weren't meant to be to together, they try, and to make it work, and thats why I enjoy reading so much. Rainbow Rowell build the ending as a open ending, it leaves you thinking and imagine what could have happen next. I recommaned this book to anyone who loves teenage love story, cute but breaks people's heart while reading, and you will laugh and cry along with the character.
                • angelay
                  angelayThursday, September 24, 2015 at 7:08 am44 stars
                  One word to describe the book - brilliant. Rainbow Rowell crafts her characters so that they are relatable but still funny and wise. It's a romantic tragedy though, just like Romeo and Shakespeare. Eleanor and Park know that their relationship might not even work out, but they still try no matter how hard it is. They are not perfect, and they know that, and that's what makes them so relatable. Both of them are misfits. Both of them are insecure. Both of them want their relationship to work out. I really like this book aside from the romantic tragedy, because I'm just a sucker for good happy endings, but the book is really worth the read. Teenagers would really love this book as it's just so relatable. It broke my heart reading the ending, but the jokes that made me laugh were definitely worth it.
                  • cdillon
                    Mr. DillonSunday, August 30, 2015 at 4:21 pm55 stars
                    IF you have an affinity for eighties alternative music and/or comics, and like a great love story, then this one is for you.
                    • maddyrocks13
                      maddyrocks13Wednesday, August 19, 2015 at 11:46 am55 stars
                      Rainbow Rowell is one of my favorite authors of all time, and this book only further proved my love for her writing. This is indisputably a romance novel, but its also so much more. These characters are real, and they have real struggles. I think teenager could enjoy this book, regardless of what they like to read, because of how likeable the characters are. Something interesting about it, also, is that its set in the 80s, and I liked seeing how life was a little different, with out the technology we have now, but also very similar, back then.