Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 5 - 10n/a7.0213516
Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Darkness falls…despair abounds…evil reigns…

Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have just saved the rebel state from destruction by the mighty forces of King Galbatorix, cruel ruler of the Empire. Now Eragon must travel to Ellesmera, land of the elves, for further training in the skills of the Dragon Rider: magic and swordsmanship. Soon he is on the journey of a lifetime, his eyes open to awe-inspring new places and people, his days filled with fresh adventure. But chaos and betrayal plague him at every turn, and nothing is what it seems. Before long, Eragon doesn’t know whom he can trust.

Meanwhile, his cousin Roran must fight a new battle–one that might put Eragon in even graver danger.

Will the king’s dark hand strangle all resistance? Eragon may not escape with even his life. . . .


Praise for Eragon:
“Unusual, powerful . . . fresh and fluid. An impressive start to a writing career that’s sure to flourish.” –Booklist, Starred
“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.” –People
“The new ‘It’ book of children’s lit.” –U.S. News & World Report
“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” –Publishers Weekly

A #1 New York Times Bestseller
A #1 Publishers Weekly Bestseller
A USA Today Bestseller
A Wall Street Journal Bestseller
A Book Sense Book of the Year
A #1 Book Sense Selection
Hardcover, 704 pages
Published on August 23, 2005 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 037582670X
ISBN-13: 9780375826702
28 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderFriday, June 12, 2020 at 3:09 pm55 stars
    I loved this book probably even more than the first. I finished it super fast because it was so good! This second book in the Inheritance cycle is about the aftermath of the previous battle, and Eragon, who decides to learn more about magic and training, goes on a quest to find the cripple who is whole. I hope you like this book!
    • ccswishingstar
      ccswishingstarFriday, May 22, 2020 at 1:23 pm55 stars
      This time in the second book of the Inheritance series, Eragon has just defeated the shade Durza, Nasuada becomes the new leader of the Varden, and Eragon and Saphira leaves the Farthen Dur in search of the realm of the elves, the forest of Du Weldenvarden, where he will train with The Cripple Who Is Whole. Meanwhile, Eragon's cousin, Roran, convinces most of the villagers of Carvahall to leave the ravaged village in search of protection by joining the Varden. Eragon then becomes powerful Rider and during a ritual celebrating the ancient Riders, a mysterious dragon alters his form so that he takes the appearance and strength of an elf. Later on, Eragon battles his former friend Murtagh, who reveals that they were brothers and that Eragon's once mysterious father was the treacherous leader of the Forsworn, Morzan. Again, I really enjoyed this book because of the all the fantastical elements of the story. I really recommend this book for anyone who has read Eragon! (If you want to read this book, but haven't read Eragon, READ ERAGON FIRST!!!!)
      • nac
        nacTuesday, May 5, 2020 at 8:15 am55 stars
        Eragon has won a victory for the Dwarves andd rebels at Farthen Dur, killing the shade Durza and earning the name Eragon Shadeslayer. But Ahijad, leader of the rebels, has fallen, passing on leadership to his daughter, Nasuada, who is considered by many to be inexperienced. Nasuada leads a campaign to battle at the Fringe of Galbatorix's land. Eragon, however has gone off to the Elves for training, but leaves abrubtly to assist with the war. Once there, Eragon is reunited with his cousin, Roran, and faced by a brother he never new he had......
        • nac
          nacTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 4:53 pm55 stars
          This is the second book in the inheritance series. A boy named Eragon must join with the varden and battle evil in attempt to destroy the evil ruler Galbatorix. During one of the battles he discovers that one of their own has turned against them, though not of his own choice. He also discovers that he might be related to one of the worst villians of all time.......... a henchman to Galbatorix himself.......... suggested for fans of Lord of the Rings.
          • nac
            nacThursday, May 9, 2019 at 1:54 pm55 stars
            5 stars for real.
            • nac
              nacThursday, May 9, 2019 at 1:53 pm55 stars
              This book was so good, I couldn't put it down.
              • jamilton
                jamiltonFriday, June 8, 2018 at 3:13 pm
                I decided to read this because I've read the first book, "Eragon". "Eragon" is so well written, with plot twists and a subtle charm that kept me cheering the entire way. I haven't read "Eldest" yet, but I'm positive that it will be as vibrant as its prequel.
                • thatonebookworm
                  thatonebookwormWednesday, February 14, 2018 at 7:05 pm55 stars
                  loved it, read it a million times.
                  • ladyirene
                    ladyireneThursday, September 7, 2017 at 4:44 pm55 stars
                    Eldest is awesome, i read this in about 2-4 days. It is so weird to find out that earagon and Murtaghe are half Brothers!!!
                    • shadowstabber
                      shadowstabberThursday, August 25, 2016 at 7:31 am55 stars
                      not quite as good as the first