Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5S4.015304

The top-selling U.K. series for middle-grade readers now crosses the pond!

Meet Tom Gates. When his teachers don’t have their beady eyes on him, he likes to draw pictures and write about stuff, like last summer’s worst camping vacation ever (five merits!), or how much he hates sitting next to nosy Marcus Meldrew, the most annoying boy at school. All Tom really wants is to score tickets to see the best band ever, Dude3, when they come to town, and to impress Amy Porter, who is very nice and smart (but is currently ignoring him). Tom’s teachers think he is easily distracted and "lacks focus," but that’s a bit harsh?—?can he help it if his grumpy big sister, Delia, made him late for school (again), or that last night’s homework had to be sacrificed to stave off a vicious dog attack? Master of excuses, creative storyteller, and middle-school comedian extraordinaire, Tom Gates is guaranteed to get kids turning the pages?—?and keep them laughing.

Paperback, 248 pages
Published on October 1, 2011 by Editorial Bruno
ISBN-10: 8421686550
ISBN-13: 9788421686553
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ETuesday, January 21, 2020 at 5:50 am
    Cool 😎😎
    • Busy guyThursday, January 16, 2020 at 2:27 am
      Very funny
      • liberalmingo
        liberalmingoTuesday, December 26, 2017 at 8:52 am55 stars
        This series is my favorite book in the world! It is a comedy with added doodling, sibling problems, doodling, evil twits called Marcus, doodling, teachers with beady eyes and mustatches, doodling, band practice, doodling, dude3, and if i have not mentioned all ready, doodling. Everyone should read this! also DOODLING
        • liberalmingo
          liberalmingoTuesday, December 26, 2017 at 8:52 am55 stars
          This series is my favorite book in the world! It is a comedy with added doodling, sibling problems, doodling, evil twits called Marcus, doodling, teachers with beady eyes and mustatches, doodling, band practice, doodling, dude3, and if i have not mentioned all ready, doodling. Everyone should read this! also DOODLING
          • gusto
            gustoSaturday, November 25, 2017 at 4:51 pm44 stars
            Tom Gates is a nice,funny book!
            • Bob MarleySaturday, November 25, 2017 at 10:41 am
              The book was okay.
              • mattokenken
                mattokenkenMonday, April 3, 2017 at 5:07 pm55 starsFeatured
                The Brilliant World Of Tom Gates is a fantastic book for children 6 - 12 in my opinion because the humour still holds up well with kids and tweens. Kids can relate to the things that Tom and his best mate Dereck do and don't do and the struggles of getting through those senior years of Primary School and 6 - 9-year-olds would like it because they can relate to Tom with his caramel wafers. I wouldn't recommend this book to teens and above because they would be focusing on college and getting into Uni (If they want to) so they want to relate to Tom because they have moved passed that stage of life. Overall I think The Brilliant World of Tom Gates deserves an A (A+ being the highest and F- being the lowest)
                • igskred
                  igskredWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 12:51 pm44 stars
                  dude 3 rocks my friends reading it
                  • igsocean
                    igsoceanWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 12:42 pm
                    I've read this its so cool
                    • belizey
                      belizeyMonday, September 19, 2016 at 7:33 pm55 stars
                      this book seems very interesting because I have read all the other tom gate books and I really want to read this one